We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-key jewel in the heart of Telluride - why I like the Manitou”
Review of Manitou Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manitou Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Telluride B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I was reluctant to write a review until I read the ones already here and realized that the Manitou is no secret. It is all about expectations, and here is why I like this place and stay here a lot to ski, fish, hike, and generally relax and enjoy the outdoors. By way of context, now retired, I own and manage some rental properties of my own and have traveled the world, staying in everything from 5 stars to tents. I can afford any part of that spectrum but prefer casual and friendly. In my review I am talking about the B&B rooms, not the adjacent condos.

The past reviews are factually accurate and highlight why I like the Manitou. You get to it by walking across the prettiest wooden bridge on town (ok, the only one) into the Manitou. A great start. It is in the heart of the town, with everything you want within a few blocks (grocery store, wine and spirits store, the gondola, spas, burger places, sandwich and pie places, and white linen ones too). It is right on - like a few feet away - the river that runs through town and backs onto a slope of trees. You can even fish the river in winter by taking ten steps. So the physical plant is terrific.

The "innkeepers" (?), Bruce, Heather and Pedro, are incredibly friendly, always available (sorry guys) and helpful, and great at what they do. That makes a huge difference to me. The overall managers and owners of the complex the Manitou is in are attentive as well. That's the people side.

The prices are a great value in this extremely pricey town. Breakfast is lots of breads and fruits and cereals and hard-boiled eggs, all tasty. It is not the classic full-scale event that many B&Bs offer (maybe they'll change the name to solve this potential misconception) but that is more than I need anyway. There is no cook but the nearby restaurants take care of the rest. And you can cook on the well-stocked small kitchen if you want to. The outdoors, with-a-skylight-letting-the-snow-or-sunlight-in, old wooden, large hot tub facing the river is huge asset. As the pictures show, the rooms are mid-sized, and rustically decorated, and they are thoughtfully stocked, with strong wifi, humidifiers for the winter, fridges, robes, etc. You can open the windows to listen to the river in the summer while you sleep if you are near enough.

The property is well-maintained and the complex owners tell our group they plan continued improvements in the coming year. The other guests have always been low key and pleasant, and a nice mix of backgrounds from around the country and world. I have never been disturbed by noise. It has a chill vibe all around.

We have never had a problem finding parking, although I can guess that during a festival it could be sporty. We just have to move the car on Wednesdays for the usual trash and cleaning. It is at the end of a street, but Telluride has one main street and Fir Street is a right hand turn off of it and you go four blocks down and you are there. Not complex.

Quiet, low-key, friendly, surrounded by the river and trees, and run by really nice people in the heart of Telluride, that's the Manitou. If that appeals to you, just please don't come when I want to.

Room Tip: No way am I going so far as to tell people my favorite rooms. Not happening. But have never had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellurideBruce, Manager at Manitou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

We very much appreciate your feedback. It is always helpful to hear what guests have to stay. We will continue striving to provide clean, affordable, family-friendly lodging in the heart of Telluride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The lodge has a great atmosphere and is well maintained. The location is great, in town but away from the noise. Beautiful surroundings. Breakfast was good as well. The rooms we saw had a lofty set up, which could work well for a family

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizNFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellurideBruce, Manager at Manitou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Manitou Lodge in Telluride, Colorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Lodging was basic, clean, and in the centre of town. Lifts are nearby as are restaurants and shopping. Breakfast is fix-your-own, but there were some healthy alternatives such as fruit and yogurt. If you are on a budget, then this is a good alternative in a rather expensive town. Check in was easy and the Inn keepers were very pleasant. Book directly through the lodge to same yourself agent fees.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a loft, which is a somewhat separate area, if two are travelling together, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellurideBruce, Manager at Manitou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Manitou Lodge in Telluride. Our goal is to provide clean, affordable, family-friendly lodging in the heart of Telluride. We hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was our first visit to Telluride, and we were delighted that we landed at the Manitou B&B. The room (we were in #5, with a futon in the living area and double bed in the loft) was comfortable, and we really appreciated both the mini-fridge in the room and having the kitchen/common space available. Coming in half-frozen from skiing or seeing the town, it was great to be able to fix a cup of hot tea or cocoa! Best of all, though, was the location -- only steps from the Gondola to Mountain Village, two blocks from the main shopping/restaurants street, and with the Riverside Trail (for walking or nordic skiing) just out the front door. The management was most helpful whenever we had questions and worked hard to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellurideBruce, Manager at Manitou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Manitou Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the charm and comfort of the Manitou Lodge -- especially at such a reasonable price. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was better than we might have expected. The couple managing the facility were extremely personable and solicitous of our satisfaction. We have every intention so staying at the Manitou when we next return to Telluride.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellurideBruce, Manager at Manitou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Thank you for your kind review. The beds are Tempurpedic, and many people find them very comfortable. We look forward to your next visit with us in Telluride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed 2 days and had a wonderful time. Living room with loft bedroom was clean and nice. Nothing fancy. Balconies on both levels right on the river. Short walk to the middle of town and to the Gondola. Parking is a bit difficult. Continental Breakfast was the usual fare, except there was some nice fresh fruit. Bed was comfortable(really important to me). Bathroom was small. Managers were very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globeswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TellurideBruce, Manager at Manitou Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for your nice review of the Manitou Lodge B&B. Most of the rooms are furnished with Tempurpedic mattresses which may have contributed to your good night's sleep. I hope you can stay with us again if you are ever back in Telluride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This was my first time staying at the Manitou B & B....I have stayed at some of the pricier places in the past but needed a room with two beds as I was traveling with my sister. The location was nice....at the end of Fir Street accross the river on the River Trail. Loved it. Breakfast was just fine. I would stay at the Manitou again on an upper floor to get a better view of town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Manitou Lodge B&B in Telluride. Our goal is to provide clean, affordable, family-friendly lodging in the heart of town. Please visit us anytime. You can also keep up on Telluride events on our Facebook page.
Bruce White
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.2 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
675 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Dunton Town House
Dunton Town House
#8 of 11 in Telluride
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#3 of 11 in Telluride
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manitou Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manitou Lodge

Address: 333 South Fir Street, 210 South Oak Street, Telluride, CO 81435
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Telluride
Price Range: £56 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manitou Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the San Miguel River trail, the Manitou Lodge in Telluride is very close to Town Park, the world-renowned venue for the Telluride summer festivals. Guests are within walking distance to ski lifts and the free Telluride gondola, connecting Telluride to Mountain Village for easy access to the slopes at Telluride Ski Resort. Additionally, guests can easily access nearby hiking trails, and the superb restaurants and shops along Telluride's Main Street. This 11 room lodge offers complimentary wireless internet service and a common hot tub. The rooms at Manitou Lodge have recently been remodeled, and the property has plenty of mountain charm. Listen to the sounds of the San Miguel River from this quiet and peaceful Telluride lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manitou Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manitou Hotel Telluride
Manitou Lodge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing