We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole package”
Review of Hongas - CLOSED

Hongas
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Thai, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spruce Street
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The whole package”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Having planned reservations at more expensive, fine dining restaurants, we did not expect as much from Honga's. However, we had a great time. There was an active, fun atmosphere. Our waitress was very casual, extremely knowledgeable about the menu and made for a fun experience. She gave the best recommendations for menu items and the food was delicious. They do state on the menu that they do not "course" the food. We ordered 3 courses at one time, and the food came out almost at the same time. If you don't want the food coming all at the same time here, I would order one course, then when that's delivered, order the next course, etc.
However, we will not be back here because of the unreliable air service into Telluride that we experienced with Great Lakes Airlines.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    48
    17
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Far Asian cuisine with a conscience”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Honga's Lotus Petal is an outstanding restaurant. Not only is it one of the oldest establishments in Telluride,but it is run by one of the most revered women in town. Honga has been in Telluride for 30 years. She started her restaurant in the closet of a local hotel(after having a little cart on Main Street) more than 25 years ago. Although the restaurant has evolved over the years into several different spaces, the food is still awesome. The menu is varied and eclectic....always changing but holding on to the steadfast favorites. Honga is very involved in environmental issues and has brought this consciousness into her business. Although you might not find Unagi on the sushi menu(because of the rapidly developing extinction of eel) she has made creative replacements that taste good and make you feel good about your choice of what to eat. I love the Beandedok patties and the Blackened Tofu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We ate here on the last night of our trip to Telluride and it was a perfect way to end our trip. Our group had gone from 14 to 6 so it was more manageable to eat here. A person in our group had eaten here before and so he ordered the rolls for the group. It was great trying new and different things and the sushi was excellent! We also had a person in our group who doesn't eat sushi but he was able to find something to his taste on the menu.

Our service was great up until we asked for the check which seemed to take quite a long time. Other than that everything was great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Meier622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
383 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food, best shared with friends”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We loved the vegetarian options, including the Blackened Tofu entree, and the Kale & Brussels Sprouts appetizer. Our party of 4 ordered several appetizers & entrees and were able to sample quite a few dishes from the menu. Nice atmosphere; quite an enjoyable evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
“Good vibes + good food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I cannot say more about the awesome staff at Hongas. We really enjoyed the upbeat group having fun together and interacting with their tables. Our waitress was friendly and super helpful about questions we had. Very knowledgable staff.
The food was also delicious. While being a bit apprehensive about sushi at 8750 ft, after having it we were so glad we decided to have the sushi! The fish was fresh and after learning about the sustainable practices Honga believes in we felt great about the choices we made.

I highly suggest Hongas for a good time and good food!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WIlovesCHEESE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hongas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing