We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OK; Jomtien pretty horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Jomtien Beach
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As advertised. We had a family suite, although I would recommend getting 2 or 3 rooms instead. The FS is about 3x the price of a standard room, but they only give you 4x breakfasts, so if you have more people it seems not worth it. The main issue with the FS is that they are located at the very end of the hallways on either end, at the edges of the hotel. The views aren't very good as the other rooms and the wifi doesn't work (even if you pay the extortionate rates for it). So, in all, having the most expensive and largest room on the property gets you the worst of everything. Nice one.

As some reviewers have also said, the check in is a disaster. Our experience was the same as others reported here. Half hour of confusion with inept staff and seemingly nobody in charge. The wifi is indeed an enormous ripoff. Every $2 cafe along the road has it for free, so why is it B100 per hour at my hotel???

Strangely enough, we also experienced a general lack of friendliness in the staff, but also overall in Jomtien. This is sort of the one place I have ever been in Thailand where people aren't smiling or very friendly. Oddly enough.

The clientele here is about 80% Thai and 20% Russian. I could see zero other nationalities except for ourselves, which was curious. The breakfast is steadfastly mass-market low end buffet. There were however enough reasonably cooked Thai dishes to make it interesting over the 4 days.

This is a giant package tour hotel, and a hotel room is about US$50. You get what you pay for (apart from the wifi!). Expect exactly that and you won't be disappointed. Jomtien itself was disappointing though. It is as dirty as Pattaya, but without the circus that at least makes Pattaya interesting. It is also far less properly developed which means that although there are a lot of people, shacks, and trash there is very little proper shopping or food. You sort of end up with the worst of Pattaya but not what good it has to offer either.

If I had to go back, I would stay up in Pattaya itself. Unless you have some very specific reason why you need to be down in Jomtien, it is certainly not worth staying in that area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

All in all, the hotel is a mixed bag. There are positives about this hotel but also negatives.

Let's start with the positives. Room was on the 24th floor with great foreground view of Jomtien beach and central Pattaya and Ko Lan in the distance. Fairly good value for money with decent size room and all amenities included (hairdryer, toiletries, fridge, very comfortable twin bed).

Another positive was the really good rooftop bar on the 38th floor. Staff were friendly enough and amazing great panoramic views. It's a nice place to have a drink, listen to music and relax. There is a decent café on the ground floor too at the front of the hotel.

First negatives was that the reception desk staff seemed confused, with a noticeable lack of organisation and lack of customer services skills (greeting guest, general friendliness and smiling would be an improvement). When we checked in at our scheduled time of 2:00pm, we noticed around fifty people sitting in the lobby waiting to be told when they could go to their room. After a little hesitation and uncertainty, we were told (without any apology) to sit and wait in the lobby (even though we had an reservation for a standard room). After sitting for 10 minutes, my partner approached the reception for an explanation (and to ask them to basically get their act together). We were told that the room we had booked was not available so they would now upgrade us to a superior room at no extra cost. Even though this was a nice bonus, all we wanted was to check-in and get taken immediately to our room, like any other hotel with decent organisation and customer service.

Another negative is the rip-off charging of Wi-Fi to use in the hotel room. For two hours it's a hefty 250 baht. It's actually cheaper going to the nearby café where Wi-Fi is free and you can have a coffee for around a hundred baht.

Finally, the staff could be friendlier and learn a few customer service skills. Very few of them spoke English. The cleaning staff were friendly though and so too were the staff in the rooftop bar. It's just a shame about many of the other staff. There were a lot of Thais and Russians staying there but not so many other nationalities, so the hotel is not really catering for Westerners so much.

Finally, the location is a little far away out from centre of Pattaya, although you can take a taxi for around 200 baht.

It's difficult to say not to try this hotel. But if the negatives are particular issues for you then better to avoid.

Room Tip: For a great view, make sure you get a sea view on an upper floor (38 floors total).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTraveller081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at, booked 4 days but left after 2. The rooms are dirty, staff rude, should be and 1-2 star hotel. They will charges you extra for every think they can. The food in restaurants are terrible. Overall the Hotel is old and dirty. Please don't book this hotel as you will regret it 100% sure

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobias527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel is located in front of sea.we Have stayed in 25 th floor,from there the view from our balcony was a pleasant experience.Very Very nice location.The breakfast also very good.The staff also very friendly.
Stay once again for this pleasant location

Room Tip: Higher floors for nice sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOPI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights at D Varee Jometien Beach, perfect place to get distressed and come close to near serene and pleasant atmosphere. This hotel is located around half an hour Songtel ride from main happening pattaya city... rooms are good with a magnificent beach view of Jomtein beach. .... Breakfast has a wide variety and options... only issue that was faced during the stay there doors have little issue while opening or closing so which gives little insecurity feeling.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneha_shenoy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

spent 3 nights in this hotel...couldnt ask for any better in this price range..excellent location with beautiful seaview rooms...breakfast had lots of options to choose...spa and swimming pool were so lively....
Only negative i want to mention is the in room dull ambience with limited facilities..

Room Tip: ask for room with a sea view as most of the rooms do have it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deveshd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

It was not as bad as many people reviewed. We stayed in a standard room and executive suite. We stayed in many many new hotels before but we just happened to try the renovated Furama. Because it was an old hotel with probably old facilities we didn't expected it to be like the five-star types so everything turned out to be above expectation and we enjoyed our stay.
There was no problem with the water, the recption, the pools or restaurants. There was ample at breakfast. Just 2 comments: the service at the restaurant was unprofessional for the price of food paid (The phad thai noodles was half raw and the waitresses at the beachfront restaurant were lazy ) and there were hardly any slopes for strollers.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Dermatol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jomtien Beach
1.5 mi away
Nirvana Boutique Suites
Nirvana Boutique Suites
#5 of 18 in Jomtien Beach
239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Viman Resort
Le Viman Resort
#2 of 456 in Pattaya
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Jomtien Palace
Grand Jomtien Palace
#112 of 456 in Pattaya
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
#17 of 456 in Pattaya
1,738 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#4 of 456 in Pattaya
1,689 reviews
1.2 mi away
Welcome Jomtien Beach Hotel
Welcome Jomtien Beach Hotel
#6 of 18 in Jomtien Beach
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya

Address: 457 Moo 12, Soi 13-14, Jomtien Beach Road, Jomtien Beach, Pattaya 20150, Thailand (Formerly Furama Jomtien Beach)
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya > Jomtien Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jomtien Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jomtien Beach
Price Range: £30 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya is an elegant 4-star hotel with magnificent 38 storey located right on the beautiful beach, on the eastern shore of the Bay of Siam. This elegant hotel features 500 expansive guestrooms that are decorated with a blend of traditional and contemporary Thai themes for a luxurious yet cosy feel. Every residence is complemented by one or more spacious balconies facing the ocean, allowing you to relax in privacy, enjoying spectacular view of the beach and the bay of Siam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Jomtien Beach Hotel Nong Prue
Nusa Playa Hotel
D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing