We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice substitute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A very nice substitute”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We really like to stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels, but none were located at Trinidad so we stayed at this Holiday Inn, because Holiday Inns are usually similar to their sister brand. And it was. In fact, this is a newer hotel and a little up-scale from most Holiday Inn Express hotels. The lobby was very nice, and the room was large and comfortable. Of course, breakfast was not included, and it is located at the south edge of town. But all in all, this is a very nice hotel, and their customer service is outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida-IaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    78
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
72
72
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
404 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A nice and well maintained property. The restaurant serves a nice breakfast. Service was friendly and our room was very quiet. Note that we were on the back side rather than facing the freeway. The day we were there, it was cloudy and off and on rain. The hotel's computer system is reported to be wireless and Trinidad is not the largest city. This translated into slow WiFi and the complimentary computers in the business center were agonizingly slow and kept turning off. They would likely be more user friendly if they were periodically cleaned up from files and downloads from guest use.

Room Tip: See comments above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan A, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Otto W,
I am pleased to hear that your recent stay at Holiday Inn & Suites in Trinidad, CO was met to your liking. Convenient location, quietness, and service in the hotel and/or restaurant helps make the start of a new travel pleasant when it starts out right! I do however, apologize for the wi-fi not being up to par. We'll look into the matter of providing make better reception. We look forward to your next stay with us on your next adventure.

Nathan A.
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was the first of several Holiday Inn's we visited on our travels. It really is in the middle of nowhere, but just off the highway. Didn't really have great hopes, but was pleasantly surprised. The room had everything you needed except for a safe. It had a great little bar with very good staff, we had a nice 'pub meal' there with good beer.

For an overnight stop it was great. We also had breakfast which was fine.

Room Tip: You can have front or back view, do not expect a 'sea view', it's either highway or car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim-Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan A, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Tim-Jamie,
I would to thank you for your stay at our Holiday Inn & Suites in Trinidad, CO. We're glad to hear we went beyond your expectations in providing a great stay , as well as a "nice pub meal" and good breakfast from our Peaks Restaurant within our hotel. We're glad to always go above and beyond expectations for any stay to be fantastic! We hope to see you again sometime in your future travels.

Nathan A.
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We normally stay at La Quinta when driving back and forth between Denver and Santa Fe, but the La Quinta was full so we headed to the Holiday Inn and Suites. The first thing I noticed when stepping into the lobby was a faint foul smell. To me it smelled of dirty laundry. Otherwise we had no issues. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spazgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear spazgirl,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

You expect a certain level of quality at a low price at the Holiday Inn and this hotel provided that. not fancy of new, but nice and clean and comfortable. Staff was nice and helpful. Food in the restaurant was not the best, but not any less than I expected. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan A, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Rebecca G,
Thank you for your stay with us at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Trinidad, CO. We're glad we can offer a reasonable priced, neat, and clean hotel. Having a restaurant is nice to have when you just want stay in, and relax. I'm sorry the food wasn't to your liking, but glad it wasn't down right awful. When and if you stay with again, if something from the hotel and/or restaurant is not right; please let us know so we can give our best to try and make it better.

Nathan A.
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Arkansas
Level Contributor
264 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience here. The service was top notch and our room was very clean. We were very weary coming in from 14 hours of driving and this place hit the spot. The restaurant was very accommodating and had good food. Definitely a great stopping point on your trip!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lfferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan A, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Lfferg,
Thank you for taking the time to survey your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Trinidad, Colorado. We're glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and liking in the hotel, as well as the on-site Peaks Restaurant. We look forward to your next stay with us, and being that home away from home.

Sincerely,

Nathan A.
Guest Experience Champion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here passing through for a night. It was a typical Holiday Inn, nice and clean. The staff was friendly too. We didn't want to get out so we ate at the restaurant downstairs and it was good. No big deal, but decent. Our room was clean. We did have a problem where someone was smoking in their room next to us and the smell was real strong. The front desk handled it very nicely and took care of it. Also the walls seemed a little thin, as we could here the people above us and beside us, but it is bearable. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor so you don't have to listen to anybody above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emd581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan A, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Emyd123,
I want to express my appreciation for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Trinidad, CO. We're glad it was decent stay for you all in the hotel and restaurant, but sorry you had the one issue come up. I'm glad to hear my staff took care of it right away, and was friendly on the plus side as well. We look forward to your next stay with us, and going from decent to excellent!

Sincerely,

Nathan A.
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#4 of 10 in Trinidad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#6 of 10 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#8 of 10 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
17.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
Address: 3130 Santa Fe Trl, Trinidad, CO 81082-3760
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Hotel & Suites in Beautiful Trinidad, Colorado Ideally situated in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains near Trinidad State Junior College and historic, downtown Trinidad, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad offers deluxe accommodations near popular Trinidad attractions and leading southern Colorado businesses. While lodging in Trinidad, Colorado, hotel guests enjoy visiting the Trinidad History Museum and the historic El Corazon de Trinidad downtown district. Outdoor recreation at Trinidad Lake State Park, the Trinidad Riverwalk and Cougar Canyon Golf Course, designed by Jack Nicklaus, can also be found less than eight miles away. Business travelers appreciate our comfortable Trinidad, CO accommodations near Halliburton, Coca-Cola, Maverick and Comcast. Over 1,700 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access are also available to meet our guests' professional needs. During your stay, we hope you will visit our Trinidad Peaks Restaurant. In the evening, be sure to join us during happy hour in our full-service Trinidad Peaks Lounge. An indoor, heated pool and whirlpool, and a well-equipped fitness center are also provided for your enjoyment. Gorgeous views of the Sangre de Cristos are free. As you plan your trip to southern Colorado, we invite you to explore our excellent Trinidad, CO hotel rates and make your reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Trinidad
Holiday Inn Trinidad
Trinidad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing