We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good place for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domaine De Chatenay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Saturnin
Certificate of Excellence
British Isles
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“very good place for a stopover”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We didn't want to stay at a chain and this was a very pleasant alternative. The house is a little run down but that is its attraction. The patron and his family are charming. It's a 25 euro taxi fare to the old town for dinner which was excellent. The wifi was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristeppus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
30
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I just came across this and realised that my husband and I stayed here for one night a couple of years ago. We went on the recommendation of a friend and were not disappointed.
The building is old, authentic ,comfortable and charming and is steeped in history. Similarly the grounds were also lovely.
Our room was pleasant and we enjoyed a drink before dinner with Benoit and another guest while he shared fascinating stories of his family's past and their home and local history.
We would never have gone to dinner in the old Mill nearby without his recommendation and it was excellent. We dined next to the water wheel which still operates and supplies power.

We also visited the nearby abbey where Benoit grew up as a child before the germans took it over and they had to leave. Beautiful. The next morning we had breakfast by the fire which was delicious and walked the grounds which included a friendly donkey and a lake.

Benoit was a charming and helpful yet unobtrusive host. We would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uptightoutasight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed one night at Domaine de Chatenay on our way up to Calais. We wanted somewhere nice in Le Mans and there didn't seem to be a great choice!

This hotel is very small and authentic, furnished in traditional style but all the rooms are very individual and charming. We took a suite as we had our 2 small boys with us but the one we had wasn't a great choice as the sitting room where our 2 1/2 yr old slept was enormous and the bedroom relatively small (but big enough for our needs). The bathroom was fine - but the usual spartan selection of towels and toiletries as you typically find in these sorts of places in France!

The main disadvantage of this place is that it doesn't serve food( apart from breakfast which was fabulous with a generous selection of fresh croissants and bread etc. ). This meant we had to turn around and drive off again with 2 grumpy children who had already spent all day in the car to find something to eat. I hadn't really understood from the website that they didn't do evening food - so be warned.

Otherwise a very pleasant hotel with lovely grounds to walk and play in but we probably won't revisit on account of the lack of evening catering.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevynevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

It is tough to find a charming hotel in Le Mans. Somehow I found this ancient property about 10 minutes (by car) from Le Mans center.

It is a late 18th century Manor House in the middle of a bush. Filled with antiques. Very comfortable. We were hosted by the owner, M. Benoit Desbans, who even took care of dinner reservations in a cozy restaurant 5 km away and invited us for a glass of wine before dinner. We felt very welcome, as guests at his own house. He and his family actually live in the property. Everything there is of very good taste (check the photos). My conversation with Benoit after dinner, while I smoked a cigar in the terrace, about the history of Le Mans, was very interesting too.

Breakfast was very good. A small buffet with fruits, cereals etc. In short: a wonderful experience for a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — The qualitty of the antiques, the overall good taste and the warm reception by the owner.
  • Disliked — Lack of a restaurant and a bar.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kriox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Saturnin
7.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Le Mans Country Club
4.3 mi away
Hotel Le Charleston
Hotel Le Charleston
#1 of 41 in Le Mans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Le Mans Centre
Mercure Le Mans Centre
#3 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
Hotel Novotel Le Mans
#8 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.1 mi away
Concordia Hotel
Concordia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Pommeraie
La Pommeraie
#7 of 41 in Le Mans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine De Chatenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine De Chatenay

Property: Domaine De Chatenay
Address: 97, Route du Mans | Close to the Highway Exit, 72650 Saint-Saturnin, Le Mans, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Mans > Saint-Saturnin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Saturnin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine De Chatenay 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature lovers and history enthusiasts alike will enjoy a stay at Domaine de Chatenay, midway between Paris and the Atlantic Ocean... This 18th century manor house, a former family residence, now transformed into a hotel full of charm, provides the perfect opportunity to relax and enjoy life in the rolling countryside around the medieval Plantagenet city of Le Mans, an officially listed "City of Art & History". Guests will appreciate the silence of nature, the comfort and refinement of our bedrooms and the charm and elegance of our period reception rooms. However, what you will enjoy most of all is the warmth and hospitality of your hosts. We will welcome you as we would our friends, and over a drink we will be delighted to tell you about the often colourful characters who have lived at Chatenay during the 750 years of its history, and the part they played in the history of the Province of Maine... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Domaine De Chatenay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing