We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!!! Th food, and party were great too!”
Review of The Twin Lakes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Twin Lakes Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Twin Lakes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leadville, Colorado
1 review
“Great place!!! Th food, and party were great too!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at the Twin Lakes Inn for their inclusive NYE party, which included a room, dinner, a bottle of wine, 2 bands, and breakfast. We had an absolute BLAST!! The food was amazing - deer medallions with sweet potatoes, and baked brie for an appetizer. Their bartender was fun and suggested lots of yummy drinks. We danced all night, then walked upstairs to bed. The room was quiet even though the band was still playing. I slept like a rock. I even tore the bed apart in the morning to find out what type of mattress we had slept on. The hotel staff was so friendly and just made you feel at home. We will definitely be staying here many more times.

Room Tip: I think ALL of their rooms are great...the south side rooms oversee the lake, most of their rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    31
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
76
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My extended family and I enjoyed a terrific holiday dinner together on the shores of the Twin Lakes. The ambiance, food, and setting were all great, and completely by chance, we happened upon an evening of live music, free appetizers, and decorating a Christmas tree. The restaurant even provided generous gift bags to patrons, which included a pound of coffee, a breakfast cake, and a CD from local musicians.

Many in our group got the braised ribs, which were amazing and which I will definitely get again the next time we go.

(We did not stay at the inn. We were just there for dinner.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokena
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Took a loop tour from Frisco, Co. Through Glenwood Sorings and Aspen returning over Independence Pass. Twin Lakes Inn was the perfect spot to stop for dinner as the sun set.

We especially enjoyed the large selection of entrees on the menu and of course, the desert.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dor2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Island, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

In late October we celebrated our 15th anniversary with a week-long trip to Colorado. One of the highlights of our trip was the two days we spent in Twin Lakes, which is one of the most beautiful and unspoiled places in the United States. We had a wonderful dinner at the Twin Lakes Inn and can't wait to return. Everything about our dinner was first-rate; our waitperson was lovely and the food was wonderful. We highly recommend the molasses-braised short ribs.

We spent the next evening watching the World Series in the Inn's Malamute Saloon. We had a great time with the bartender and a couple of locals. One of the Inn's owners stopped in and spent some time with us. It was obvious he is committed to providing diners and guests with a memorable experience.

We're already planning our next trip to Twin Lakes, and will definitely return to the Twin Lakes Inn.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I am in a wheelchair. The Twin Lakes Inn has an ADA compliant room on the first floor. Though this information may not be relevant in your world, it is applicable to illustrate how amazing are the new owners/managers of The Twin Lakes Inn.
The room itself was nothing to write home about with regards to decor, but the staff, the chef and the beds are all amazing!
The bed was super comfortable and had a new, very pretty coverlet. The staff went above and beyond. Here are some examples: a ramp was installed so I could access the dining room, patio, and bar; the manager called my husband and I a few days before we arrived to say that the inn and restaurant would be shut down for the winter for three days while we were staying there, but that she would provide us with a list of accessible restaurants in the area; I made three recommendations to make our room even more comfortable for handicapped users and by that afternoon, two of the suggestions had already been implemented!
The restaurant is packed on weekends, and for good reason. My husband is a picky eater. He does not eat beef. However, the molasses braised short ribs melted in his mouth, making him not only a believer, but a pest to return for short ribs. The Scot salmon also was crowned "best ever" by a guy who mostly eats vegetable smoothies. Thursday is currently movie and pasta night at the inn. Call for other special, seasonal events.
There is a high learning curve for these owners who are former high school counselors, but they are pleased to get input and to try new things. If you want to get in on the ground floor of something very special, then come spend several days making new friends at The Twin Lakes Inn.

Room Tip: If you need an ADA compliant room or a room with a roll-in shower and grab bars at toilet, sink and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandyTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Twin Lakes Inn, under new good management (for those who have stopped in over the past couple years). Great chef has put together quite the wonderful, yet still affordable menu. Rooms are a bit small, but clean, comfortable, and cozy! Fall leaves between the end of September and early October are to die for! Too bad Twin Lakes gets somewhat isolated as soon as snow closes Independence Pass from Aspen.

We stayed overnight in order to be closer to the trailhead for Mt Huron, but it's even closer to Elbert and others.

Room Tip: Rooms available with either shared or private bath . . . you choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Went there with friends on a weekend hiking trip. The rooms were very quaint and cozy, and the beds were so comfortable it was hard to get up! We had dinner at the inn as well, and the food was very good. The steak was perfectly cooked and tender. The staff are all very nice and the inn is so close to hiking, very convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncloudyday_in_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Lakes
12.6 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
278 reviews
20.9 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
461 reviews
22.9 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
11.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
306 reviews
13.4 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twin Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twin Lakes Inn

Property: The Twin Lakes Inn
Address: 6435 E State Highway 82, Twin Lakes, CO 81251-9724 (Formerly Twin Lakes Bed & Bistro)
Region: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Twin Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Twin Lakes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of hospitality in Twin Lakes, Colorado, The Twin Lakes Inn, founded in 1879, is a completely renovated historic inn, open from May 25 through late Sept each year. We have 4 rooms with private baths and 8 rooms with Euro-style shared baths. There's also a full-service on-site restaurant and bar. Located at the center of Twin Lakes Village, one of Colorado's most inspiring spots, facing Mt. Elbert, Twin Peaks and other 14,000 foot mountains. Nearby Twin Lakes, Colorado's largest natural glacial lakes, are walking distance from the Inn. On-site massage and healing touch services by Cornelia Patti, RN and certified massage therapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Twin Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Lakes Bed & Bistro Hotel Twin Lakes
Twin Lakes Bed And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing