We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cozy place to stay before and after Mt. Elbert”
Review of The Twin Lakes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Twin Lakes Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Twin Lakes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We booked two nights at Twin Lakes Inn before and after our day hike up Mt. Elbert, the highest point in CO because of its close proximity to the South Elbert Trailhead. We were so pleased with their clean, cozy comfortable accommodations. From our first phone contact with staff, they were welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed for a successful day hike, including providing us take-a-long hiker's breakfasts, coffee, and hot water for tea so we could leave early in the morning. When we returned tired and happy from our hike, after a hot shower we enjoyed a fine glass of wine on their patio near the bar. We were impressed with the offerings of their restaurant and enjoyed every bite! We'll be back with all of our friends who want to hike Mt. Elbert and enjoy luxury in the wilderness at a great price!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DMinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Leadville (or Pb as it's often abbreviated) and surrounding areas has come to exemplify simple kindnesses with exponential impact and a "pay it forward" mentality through my decade of frequent visits. The Leadville race series is a primary draw to this area, but there are a million reasons to visit Twin Lakes outside of August: quick, off the beaten path access to seminal CO 14ers (Elbert, Massive, La Plata, etc.), Independence Pass and Aspen less than an hour away, and great hiking on the CO Trail, among countless others.

People, however, make places. And Chef Matt and his outstanding team have cemented The Twin Lakes Inn in my heart. Fresh off a day that began at 1a and included a race in Aspen at 7a and a trip back over Independence to pace LT100, I found myself at Twin Lakes circa 8p, freezing and calorie deficient. The Inn had a sign clearly stating that dinner was "by reservation only" (read: not for dirty runners and crew members who had trudged over mountains and through swamps for the last 16h). Not really caring, I banged on the door, assessed the reasonably priced $28-32 entrees of NY strip steak, and informed Chef Matt that I would give him $100 for a custom-made burrito that had "simple proteins like rice and beans and some fruit--I just need to get warm and moving again." Within seconds, I had hot chocolate, water, fruits, and the best burrito I have ever tasted. No one mentioned my obscenely short shorts, mud caked legs, or glazed, hollow eyes. Instead, I was given a sofa and prime real estate in the foyer, as much food and fluid as I could handle, gracious kindness and attention by the staff, and bemused looks by those who had reservations:)

Chef Matt refused to accept payment, telling me to "get back out there on the trail and do your job." Little kindnesses like these are impossible to quantify. Chef Matt and his team understand the spirit of those who travel to Twin Lakes and surrounding areas for aesthetic adventure and a shared love of the outdoors. The food was not worth $100--it was worth $1,000--and it rivaled anything I've ever had at an Aspen hot spot. The remote location, attentive staff, gorgeous vistas, and superb service reflect everything right about CO and ensure I'll never take another trip over Independence Pass without stopping off for a bite.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great lunch. Sandwich's and soup was great. Wonderful service. Drove 30 minutes to get here for lunch and it was well worth the trip. Mountain setting is beautiful. If you are driving by, be sure to stop for lunch, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RexA333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I've eaten dinner twice in the restaurant, and hands down, it's the best cuisine within at least an hour's drive. Five star quality! Top-notch dishes created by one of the best chefs in Colorado. I've also spent the night at the inn and it's a cozy alternative to the chain hotels found in Leadville. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ronmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was planing my trip from Denver to Aspen for a long weekend, and since I wanted to hike on the east side of Independence Pass in the morning hours, I booked a one night stay at The Twin Lakes Inn in late July 2014. I had never stayed here before and what a pleasant, unexpected surprise. Only rooms with a shared bath were available; our room was charming with thick robes, water in the room, and lovely linens. Both the room and baths were extremely clean and updated but still maintained their old style charm. We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed an excellent, tasty meal. The entire staff, especially Andy, were enthusiatic and so helpful to make our stay enjoyable. In Aspen we encountered some rude, poorly trained wait staff, and a less than ideal accommodation, and wished we would have stayed longer in Twin Lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Twin Lakes Inn occupies a building that's been host to many businesses in the hundred or more years it's been there. At one time it was a brothel, and the current management makes a nod to their history with some of the room names.

The place is clean and comfortable, and was all one could ask for in affordable lodging. What really surprised us was the incredible kitchen -- or the incredible meals that came out of it. We ate one lunch and one dinner there, and were wowed by the culinary expertise that went into our cuisine.

I definitely recommend this place for either lodging, dining, or both.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a room with a private bath, but the communal baths were spotless too. Our room wasn't huge, but it was comfy and very very nice. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but based on the number of people there, and the comments we heard, the food is very good. The drive to the Inn is beautiful, the views from the front porch of the Inn and our bedroom were fantastic. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Not having a television in our room was actually nice! However, they should consider putting in a clock. :)

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 (and some other I think) have private baths. You pay more for those rooms. But I check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Lakes
20.9 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
507 reviews
12.6 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
288 reviews
13.4 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
320 reviews
21.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twin Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twin Lakes Inn

Address: 6435 E State Highway 82, Twin Lakes, CO 81251-9724 (Formerly Twin Lakes Bed & Bistro)
Region: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Twin Lakes
Price Range: £67 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Twin Lakes Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart of hospitality in Twin Lakes, Colorado, The Twin Lakes Inn, founded in 1879, is a completely renovated historic inn, open from May 25 through late Sept each year. We have 4 rooms with private baths and 8 rooms with Euro-style shared baths. There's also a full-service on-site restaurant and bar. Located at the center of Twin Lakes Village, one of Colorado's most inspiring spots, facing Mt. Elbert, Twin Peaks and other 14,000 foot mountains. Nearby Twin Lakes, Colorado's largest natural glacial lakes, are walking distance from the Inn. On-site massage and healing touch services by Cornelia Patti, RN and certified massage therapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Twin Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Lakes Bed & Bistro Hotel Twin Lakes
Twin Lakes Bed And Bistro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing