We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views, Fantastic Hospitality!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Lakes Roadhouse Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twin Lakes
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Views, Fantastic Hospitality!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

First and foremost, Constance and Steve do an incredible job of making you feel welcome and making sure you have everything you need for a fantastic stay; second, Twin Lakes Roadhouse sits in the perfect spot, giving you a front-door view of the magnificent aspens, pines, lakes and mountains surrounding it.

Just finished a spectacular four-day stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this well-kept, first-class property to anyone looking for a quiet, serene getaway with excellent access to the best hiking, canoeing, and sightseeing in the Rockies (also a plus: Twin Lakes' proximity to Aspen, Leadville, Breckenridge and Buena Vista.)

Room Tip: Stayed in Room #2, which gives you an incredible view of the mountains right from your front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoreyRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This year we planned to stay in Estes Park, but due to the flooding in that area, we decided to try some other places in Colorado. We drove to Leadville, CO and stopped at the National Forest Ranger Station to ask them some questions about climbing the tallest mountain in Colorado, Mt. Elbert. They were giving us information about that area, so that we could go to the trailhead. We also asked them about good places to stay in and around. They gave us the name of about 3 places, and one of them was in Twin Lakes, CO, which was about a 30 minute drive from Leadville. We decided to go out there and look, because the Ranger said that it was a really nice place. We tried to call the lodge to see if they had rooms, but we mistakenly called the Twin Lakes Inn next to the Twin Lakes Roadhouse Lodge. We drove out there and could not figure out which hotel we needed to go to, but there was a name and number posted on the door of the Twin Lakes Roadhouse Lodge, and we called Constance to see if she could come and show us a room if one was available. She did just that. She showed us the room and told us about the amenities and we were "sold" on this place.

Our room was nice and large. There was a wonderful Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress and the bed and wonderful down comforters. There was a TV with Satellite TV, and they had more than enough channels, including Sirius XM Radio. It was wonderful being able to listen to great music any time we needed to do so.

Constance told us about breakfast that went with the price of the room every morning and how that they would personally prepare and serve dinner to their guests if reservations were made in time for them to prepare. We did just that. Constance and Steve are the proprietors, and Steve prepared our dinner for us. They had a nice menu to choose from and we chose: Trout, rice, cooked peppers, home grown salad (Steve's garden salad) with beets, kale, spinach, tomatoes and a wonderful dressing. We had hot bread that we could dip in an olive oil mixture that Steve mixed, and it was wonderful. To top it all off, we got to choose dessert...and we choose a delicious chocolate cake. It was great to sit there and talk to Steve while he prepared our dinner. He said that Constance was a wonderful cook and she kept him "stocked" with good food, so that he did not have to prepare everything from scratch. We loved the food and the atmosphere. It was the first time I had ever eaten trout, and I really enjoyed the experience of "skinning" it and flaking the tender meat off the bone.

I highly recommend this place. It is in a beautiful setting near the Twin Lakes, and we were able to drive to Aspen and to the Maroon Bells Mountains and take a beautiful hike. We would like to thank Constance and Steve for their great hospitality. As I have mentioned in other reviews, coffee is a big plus for me to like a hotel. Their coffee was wonderful. It went well with a nice breakfast of fresh fruit and blueberry cake.

We will go back to Twin Lakes Roadhouse Lodge. September was a great time to go, and we will make sure that we go around the same time of the year next time. Thank you, Constance and Steve, for your hospitality and great service.

Room Tip: We had room 2. It was spacious, had a nice long hall, and the view out the windows in front was lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaRK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I were on our way home to California from our road trip to Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, Deadwood, and Mount Rushmore.....we just needed a place for the night. I like to stay in places with history and ambience. I prefer the character and charm they provide and have found them to not usually cost anymore than typical hotels. Twin Lakes Roadhouse did not disappoint. Constance was a perfect hostess from my first contact with her on the phone. We stayed in room #1, right next to the breakfast room, and it was great to be able to walk right outside the door and get a cup of some of the best coffee I've ever had! The homemade cinnamon rolls...a cross between a croissant and a roll, were out of this world. My only regret is that we could not stay longer. Hope to go back one day for a longer visit and do some hiking and biking. Would not think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBanacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed here for five days while hiking and it was great! The food was wonderful and the rooms were very comfortable and cozy! Had great views of the mountains and it is well maintained! I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wls-rdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is just what we needed an incredible view & owners who obviously care and take pride in their workmanship. The place is just fabulous for those who want to enjoy the scenic historic Twin Lakes. We absolutely loved their hospitality, cinnamon rolls and fresh coffee each and every morning. The rooms were immaculate and the hospitality even better. I would highly recommend Twin Lakes Road House Lodge as the perfect getaway to relax or go hiking, fishing, biking and enjoy the infamous Twin Lakes. My favorite, however is the location!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorseyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We love Twin Lakes, though this was our first time staying in the area. The Roadhouse Lodge was the perfect spot for the evening. Our room was warm and cozy, with a nice-sized bathroom with piping hot water for showers. We enjoyed our breakfast out on the deck. We will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldengirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We spent four nights in the carriage house and loved it. Very comfortable and clean. Nice combination of rustic ( old glass, lovely tile, wood) and modern( flat screen TV, Wi-Fi, gas log fireplace with wall switch on/off). Very quiet location day and night. Breakfast was great. The cinnamon rolls are kind of famous, but I also appreciated having oatmeal available. Good service and friendly hosts. Will definitely return and look forward to it all ready.

Room Tip: Carriage house has bedroom, bathroom and living room that includes kitchen as well as nice deck with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gribbleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Lakes
20.8 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
440 reviews
12.6 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
270 reviews
22.8 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
150 reviews
11.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
300 reviews
13.4 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Lakes Roadhouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Lakes Roadhouse Lodge

Property: Twin Lakes Roadhouse Lodge
Address: 6411 Hwy. 82, Twin Lakes, CO 81251
Region: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twin Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing