We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate accommodation”
Review of Vail 21

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vail 21
Ranked #29 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Reviewed 7 February 2011

A great position just a short walk from Lionshead lift and the shuttle to Vail. Not hotel standards but nonetheless it certainly served the purpose.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Vail 21
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2010

Basic room which was warm and tidy and sleeps 8. Vail 21 building is based in Lionshead a short walk from the chair lift and cable car. Our room on the 5th floor next to the US flag pole had not been updated since the 1970's so there's no double qlazing which can be noisey early in the morning when the bins are being emptyed. Liked the real fire and plenty of wood and the fact you're in the centre of things. Expected a better room for the money, we spent £900 per couple between 6 of us for the 7 days but this is an expensive resort. The owner needs to show little love to the place before the wooden windows fall out. For the same money you can stay just outside the resort in a dream condo but if you're here to ski wasting 10 mins getting to the resort and 10mins back on the bus each day might change your mind. We rented Ski's from the shop below Vail 21 which allowed us to drop them off each day and store them. Had problems on arrival at 12am as the keys could not be collected and the phone number had not been transfered to put us through to someone to sort it out. The holiday Inn down the road had 1 room left that slept 6 so we managed to a least get a room at 2am and a great breakfast in the morning. Been offered $300 refund for the extra cost of the Holiday Inn which seems fair but the father and son from New York in the same boat decided to sleep on the floor of the reception room rather than waste money so not sure now they felt the next morning as they had left when we arrived. I'd like to thank the coach driver from New Zealand who waited around for an hour and droped us off at the holiday inn when we could not get in. Being on the road for 26 hours with 2 kids and then not being able to get in the room was not one of my better moments. Glad the Kiwi's have a sense of humour at that tme of the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevie2ticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed in a 2-bedroom-condo (Unit 401) of Vail 21 in Lionshead Village (Vail, CO) with our grown-up children in January 2010.

Vail 21 has a central location. It is about 100 yards from the base of the Eagle Bahn Gondola, and a 2-minute-walk from the heart of Lionshead Village. The village has numerous restaurants, coffee and ice-cream places, various shops, ski rental and sport stores, a general store, an ice-skating rink, etc. The free "Intown" shuttle bus stop is right at the building. That bus runs in every 10 minutes or so and takes people to Vail Village within a few minutes. The hospital, ice skating/hockey arena and the public library are also along the bus route.

The condo comes with a covered parking space which is right behind the building. The buiding has 6 floors with an elevator, and a hot tub on the top.

Condo 401 is a moderate, not recently updated, but comfortable and clean unit with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It has contemporary furniture and design with mostly black and white colors. Its minimal decor contains mirrors, and a photo-picture. The master bedroom is small with only a full-size bed and a full bathroom. The other bedroom is larger with 2 full-size beds and a bathroom with a shower. The small living room is in one space with the kitchen and the dining area so it looks more spacious. It has a wood burning fireplace with plenty of firewood in the balcony. From the balcony and dining room window there is a gorgeous full view of the ski slopes of the montain. The living area has two full size couches and coffee table. The dining area has a glass table with six chairs. The kitchen is small, but well equipped. We bought groceries for the week in the Safeway in West Wail (along N. Frontage Road), and cooked most of the days in the condo.

There are 3 TV sets, and a stereo for entertainment, and also free wireless internet access.

We needed to check-in at the Landmark Tower which is a few buildings away. The staff was very effective and polite, and supplied us with all the information we needed. There is a daily housekeeping service to clean the dishes, and remove the trash.

This is a moderate (not a luxury), but clean and convenient place to stay for 6 people. We reserved our stay via vail.com back in early September, and we got a 33% dicount so I feel we made agreat deal. We would go back to this place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penguin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We booked our stay at Vail 21 condo through the vail.com web site for last week of March in 2008.

We've rented many condos in ski resorts in the US, have stayed in apartments in Europe and this was the worst place we have ever stayed. When we arrived , the condo was really dirty and lacking amenties. This included stained furniture, dirty rugs, glued on cutting boards, etc. In addition. many of the walls were covered with fabric which was really dusty. Finally, the parking lot was covered in about 3 inches of ice which made walking, especially with our luggage, actually dangerous.

I called Colorado properties, the property management group for this property several times, for assistance and I was told they couldn't move me because the owner had been guaranteed this income, that the staff was really busy so they couldn't clean (it was Easter weel so I'm sure they were).

When I mentioned that on the web site that daily maid service was included, they said I went to the wrong web site - they only cleaned weekly, had no change of linens and they charged for extra towels!

I then called vail.com for help, but they told me the I had to deal with Colorado properties. Basically, I was told this way my fault because I had booked this property - all this for over $5,200 for the week.

We had no choice to make the best of things, but this entire experience was not anything like high standards for customer service that is on Vail's web site. Next year, we'll go back to Utah where we've always had great places to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank woodzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck12660, I own another unit in Vail 21 at Vail 21, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2008

Sorry for your bad experience. I own a unit in Vail 21 and we keep it in top-notch condition. It's rented through Destination Resorts -- they have high standards for condo owners and an on-site cleaning staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Lionshead Arcade
Lionshead Arcade
#26 of 30 in Vail
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enzian Condominiums
Enzian Condominiums
#37 of 41 in Vail
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westwind at Vail
Westwind at Vail
#8 of 41 in Vail
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vantage Point
Vantage Point
#27 of 41 in Vail
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lift House Lodge
Lift House Lodge
#6 of 41 in Vail
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landmark Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail 21

Address: 521 E Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range: £139 - £823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for affordable Vail condo rentals, incredible mountain views and a great location, Vail 21 is the ideal destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vail 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail 21 Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing