We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel! Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, Good Location and Reasonably Priced” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel! Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, Good Location and Reasonably Priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayed at the Mountain Haus for a sort weekend trip to Vail. The staff was very friendly and helped us with restaurant recommendations and local activities. They also had cookies and hot beverages everyday at 4pm which was a plus. The room was clean. The bed was comfy. We had a great view of the Christmas tree in front of the Village. The location was perfect. Right at the entrance of the Village and the bus stops right in front of the lodge for quick trips to Lionshead. The Mountain Haus was also several hundred dollars cheaper per night than most of the other places to stay in the village. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMDietrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    75
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
158
64
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed 4 nights in a studio apt facing the highway. Great hotel. Very nice breakfast. We are planning on coming back here next year!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

Overall a great place to stay, with a good location and great staff.

Free breakfast, close to the ski lift (150m), bar in the basement, free bus stops outside, and the transport center is across the road.

The spa and pool were a god send for sore muscles, and the free cookies at the end of the day rocked!

From what we could gather, some if not all of the rooms are privately owned, so the condition and décor MAY differ from room to room. Our was recently renovated (just not our style =).

Things (small) that they could improve on:
* Turn down the heating coz its warmer than Florida! We had our heater OFF the whole time and would still open the window each day for a bit to cool it down more. It was near impossible to put your ski gear on and get outside without working up a sweat.
* The free breakfast. Served on disposable plates and utensils. Very rare to see staff in case something ran out. If you are a hot breakfast person you will be disappointed (only oatmeal/porridge and waffles here)
* Storage in the room. This maybe a room specific thing, but the furniture in our room was tiny, so we essentially had to live out of our suitcases as the drawers were a joke.

Tip:
I don’t think the margaritas in town have any alcohol in them, so go to the Tap Room bar and you may get a free shot of tequila that you can add to your margy.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groundrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

this is a well kept nicly maintained hotel / condo hotel. each unit is owned so the the sleeping arrangments and the "style" differs from room to room. our group of four men arrived to find a a queen and a king in each of the two rooms...wow. the roll away we was terrible so we ended up....yes, sleep together. make sure you review the arrangments before you book here.

the heat was an issue as well as we could not get it below 85 degrees the first night. it was later fixed and i must say the manager was exellent in making sure we were taken care of. the went out of there way to make us happy.

the breakfast was OK and was included in the room fee. a real hot young bar crowd hangs out in the George after skiing and late at night.

nice location..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lplage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

We had a three double bedroom condo for a week over New Year. Great fun, big lounge, fire etc. Excellent location, staff very good, especially concierges - nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We were greeted by experienced, helpful and gracious staff. The spacious 2Br 2Ba second floor, end unit, upgraded condo on Gore Creek and the covered bridge could not have been better. The intown bus stop is right out the front door of the condo and walk under the covered bridge you are right in Vail Village. Walking distance on a scenic path to Betty Ford Alpine Gardens was quite enjoyable. We also enjoyed the Philadelphia Orchestra at the Gerald Ford Amphitheater. Surf(King crab,excellent) and Turf(top sirloin, not so much) for $15.00 at George, the Condo's restaurant was great. Relaxing Spa with two hot tubs, steam room, sauna and showers. Overall a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bktlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

I stayed at the Mountain Haus with my wife and 13 year old son over Father's day weekend (June) 2009. I travel to Vail each Father's day to play in the King of the Mountain Volleyball tournament. I've stayed at several places in Vail but decided to give Vail Mountain Haus a try this year. I wanted to try a place closer to the town center, restaurants, etc. Based on descriptions and photos, I booked what VMH called a "Lodge Room". This room was smaller that the smallest of motel rooms you have ever seen. Two sub-queen beds we crammed into the small room leaving virtually no room to walk around the beds. I went on-line again to see I had perhaps mis-booked the room. I soon realized that due to the layout of the web site and the organization of descriptions, I had been duped into thinking a Lodge Room was much more that it was actually cracked up to be. I called the manager who offered to talk about upgrading to a 1 bedroom for a nominal feel. The next morning we did that and I could not have been more impressed with the 1BR. Sparking decor, great views, 1st rate modern kitchen and rich granite and stone decor.

In the winter, I would recommend this place but in the summer there is a serious flaw. The rooms have no air conditioning. This makes sense because even in the summer, the high elevation results in cool, comfortable and dry conditions that are quite comfortable. But, to cool the room you open windows or sliding doors to the outside. The problem comes at 11:30PM when the first of the bars start closing and goes through about 2:45 when the last of the bars close. Hordes of highly intoxicated patrons flock to the parking garage across the street screaming and shouting as loudly as possible. Waves of them pour out of Vail Village every 15 minutes over the covered bridge and wait at the bus stop right outside the hotel carrying on with foul language and loud drunker banter starting you out of a sound sleep and making it impossible to fall back asleep. This happened each of the three evenings I stayed there without fail and I got no sleep from midnight to about 2:45AM. Presumably, this isn't a problem in the winter since you would not need to cool the room by opening windows.

On the last night, a drunken man climbed into a decorative tree just outside the hotel and began shaking it back and forth while his drunken escort screamed at the top of her lungs "Shake it Monkey, Shake it Monkey" for ten non-stop minutes.

If you are visiting in the summer and value a good night sleep, I would recommend avoiding The Vail Mountain House (Valley View Rooms) and seek accommodations at one of the many quieter locations along Vail Valley Drive

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank pastvne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#7 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge

Property: Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Address: 292 E. Meadow Dr., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along Gore Creek at the Covered Bridge in the heart of Vail Village, Vail's Mountain Haus offer luxury condominium and hotel accommodations only steps from World-class skiing, dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail`s Mountain Haus At The Covered Bridge Hotel Vail
Mountain Haus Vail
Mountain Haus Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing