We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with fantastic foods”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with fantastic foods”
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

We arrived there in a drizzingly autumn day but the next day morning it was magically snowing! Room is nicely touched, clean and cosy. The bar and restaurant are in very warm setting and the foods are excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My family stayed at Vail Cascade for a fun weekend sponsered by husband's company. It was for all employees and their families. Wow what a great time. The staff was extremely professional and the service was some of the best I've ever had. The activities for the kids and adults were unique and fun. The kids had fun roasting smores over the outdoor fire-pit while the adults enjoyed a dessert bar and cocktails! Our room was very nice and large with a balcony and a great view of the mountain. The food and atmosphere were lovely and we especially enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We also took advantage of the tennis courts, pools and spa. A very enjoyable weekend. My only complaint would be that they allow dogs. I think that for this reason we will not be back. We prefer to stay at a pet free lodge.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a view of the creek and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl80004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie J, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear TravelGirl80004,
Thank you for your excellent review! We really do appreciate hearing from our guests. It sounds like you took advantage of many of the things that make Vail Cascade so unique. From our amenities to our kid’s activities and our award-winning fitness facility and dining options, there’s really something for everyone. If you’re looking for another winter getaway, please let me know. We also offer condominiums and private homes, which are perfect for family gatherings – but still offer the ski in, ski out convenience and Four Diamond hospitality. Happy holidays!
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Nice beatiful hotel, great location, I would describe it as a very cozy and warm mountain hotel, I love the bar area, fire place, high ceilings. I loved the views, the back of the hotel is stunning with a big wooded deck and swimming pool and hot tubs, trees and a beautiful creek. Loved the surroundings, and the hotel in general but the bedroom I got was small and not as nice as the rest of the hotel in my opinion. Good in general but the food and the service in the hotel restaurant was very poor when I ate there one night but the restaurant ambience was superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hada5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie J, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Hada5,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. From what it sounds like, you discovered our best attribute – our setting on Gore Creek. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our warm, cozy mountain ambiance as well. We do appreciate your feedback regarding our guest rooms and are pleased to announce that we recently started a room redesign, which will be completed before spring. The multi-million dollar renewal will capture the natural beauty of our surroundings and will bring the genuine Colorado mountain experience indoors. We hope you return and experience them for yourself! And if you do, please let me know so I can ensure your stay is even more memorable.

Brett Schoenfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Need a place to allow the kids and dog to run? Here is the spot! We didn't have any children with us, but we did have our dog and it was easy to have her in our room and the hotel. Although you can't leave your pet in the room alone, it was easy to find "potty" spots outside and it was easy to move throughout the hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie J, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Beth,
We’re thrilled to hear that you recommend Vail Cascade for families and their four-legged friends! We want all our guests (including those who potty outside) to have a great experience. Thanks for coming up to stay with us from Denver! It’s been snowing like crazy in Vail so we hope you come back and take advantage of our onsite chairlift (and our path for Fido)! Happy Holidays!

Brett Schoenfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The staff is beyond helpful and friendly. I had never experienced the level of customer service with a hotel when making my reservation and was so grateful and impressed. Had a wonderful stay here for a business trip and would definitely come back for personal stay. The room was lovely, bed was comfortable, fitness center was awesome!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Danica,
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! It’s great to hear you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We take great pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations and your review is a testament to our devotion to providing unique, memorable experiences. Vail is truly an amazing place and we hope you come back for some winter fun! To commemorate Vail’s 50th winter, we’re rolling out the white carpet with new guest rooms and hosting memory-making celebrations with après ski events, brewmaster’s weekends, and KidVenture; plus our 15th annual Cascade Christmas that boasts family activities, games, performances and a special visit from Santa.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and thanks for the great review!

Thanks, Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Our family just checked out today and I must say the service was fabulous! Every person we came in contact with from the moment we arrived went above and beyond to provide top notch service! We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Meagan4567,
We were thrilled to read your 4-star review of our hotel and are delighted to hear that the service you received was top notch. We do hope you return soon and enjoy all the great things that make Vail so special in winter! With our own chairlift, ski valet and rental shop on property, we make it easy to get the most of Vail Mountain. Thank you for choosing Vail Cascade – we hope to welcome you back soon!
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Pros: good front desk customer service, parking was free and plentiful (instead of charging the $18 stated in the fine print), rooms were nice and clean, bed and pillows comfortable, food was competitively priced in restaurant and bar (50% off of entrees and pizzas.) Shuttle was usually on time to take you to Vail Village and Lionshead Village and back.

Cons: Upon arrival, the bellman delivered our bags to the door, but only knocked once before walking right in, without waiting to make sure it was ok. It would be nice to have longer than a few second window to answer the door before someone welcomes themselves into your suite.
Our TV was unplugged and then was not working and needed to be "re-set." Called front desk who apologized and said they would be sending maintenance right up. After 45 minutes, no maintenance man. We called again, to which they replied that he would be right there. He arrived within 5 min (but at least waited until we had a chance to open the door before entering) He fiddled with the equipment for a while, left again, came back with something, and voila, working TV.
While getting ready for dinner, we noticed that the hot water was off in one of the bathroom sinks. I thought they were supposed to check these things before your arrival?
The next morning we were almost walked in on again, this time by the maid... but we had thwarted her attempt at entering by sliding that little lock at the top of the door before we went to sleep the night before. She tapped 3 times with her key card and just opened the door. This was 2 hours before checkout at 9AM.

I was able to negotiate an upgrade cost because of the 2 walk-ins, and would probably stay again, particularly if I get the same good deal. I heard from the other guests that the spa facility was very nice, but never got down that far to check it out for myself. Ahhh, perhaps next time.

Room Tip: Creekside is very lovely... we woke up to a fine dusting of snow on the trees outside. No fireplaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear tabers00,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review on TripAdvisor. We value feedback from all our guests and appreciate your opinion. As a AAA Four Diamond resort, we strive to provide a great experience and appreciate your thoroughness on every aspect of your experience. We take feedback from our guests seriously and have therefore shared your review with our team. We’re always striving to make improvements in an effort to ensure every guest has a positive experience. We do hope you come back soon and take time to visit Aria Spa & Club, which was recently ranked 24th on Condé Nast’s list of “Top 100 Resort Spas.

Thanks again,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#10 of 30 in Vail
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing