We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff, just all a bit tired.”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for skiing with our 11 and 14 year olds.
Room was poor for 4. Very little storage, tiny sofa bed. Ended up with an air bed got one of the kids.
Location is amazing. Lift at the hotel and a great run home right to the hotel.
Good ski shop in the hotel. All really easy.
Great free shuttle bus onto town.
Lovely pool/jacuzzi although very crowded.
Communal areas very tired. Bar in particular just not a place you want to hang out. Tired and a bit uninspiring.
Breakfast excellent.

Just spend some money modernising please. Great Location and staff just let down a bit by lack of investment.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear emb01,
Thank you for your recent review and sharing your experience. We’re glad to hear you and your family enjoyed our resort’s location, ski shop and shuttle service. As a AAA Four Diamond resort, we strive to provide a great experience and appreciate you expressing your feedback regarding our property. We are excited to announce that we’re in the process of refreshing our rooms to include new pillows, bedding, lighting, carpet, furniture and more. In addition to our guest rooms, we are continuously making improvements and investing in our property to provide a genuine, welcoming environment.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review, we appreciate your business and hope to have you back again soon.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our first winter trip to Vail. We stayed here for a conference and had a great time. The staff was very nice and very helpful. Initially, I was worried about the hotel not being in one of the major villages but it actually worked out very well because the hotel essentially has its own lift. The ski concierge was also an awesome surprise! The hot tub and pool were great following a day on the slopes. The only negative was paying for parking but this seems to be the trend with many of these hotels nowadays. While the valet guys were great I would park the car myself and save the few dollars/day. The lot is very close to the hotel and you dont really even have to walk outside to get to your room/car because the lot is connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolverineSell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear WolverineSell,
We are so delighted you enjoyed your first visit to Vail and had a great time. Vail is such a unique mountain town and we’re fortunate to be the only true AAA Four Diamond ski-in, ski-out resort in Vail. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we invite you to return to take advantage of all the wonderful events, activities and experiences in summer.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I had a terrific time staying at the Vail Cascade. The staff was very friendly, timely, courteous, and somewhat personable. The spa was especially nice, my massage was thoroughly enjoyable. Great hot-tub outside for after a long day of skiing. Food is too expensive though...welcome to Vail.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JadeSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear JadeSage,
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of so many of our great amenities, including our spa. Did you know that Aria recently ranked number 2 on Condé Nast’s list of “Top Spas”? We take great pride in providing genuine service from the heart and are pleased that you enjoy your visit to Colorado. We hope to see you again soon.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Location, location, location. Only hotel in Vail with its own lift. Great staff, great food, stay here every year. Walk through the warm hotel to the boot room, put on your boots 50ft from the lift while the ski valet places your skis on the rack outside. Kick your boots off when done, what's not to love about this?

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Davidells,
Thank you for your 5-star review! What a privilege to read about your experience. It sounds like you took advantage of our unique amenities and enjoyed our convenient ski-in, ski-out location. If you decide to return this winter (or summer), please let me know how I can make your next Vail Cascade stay even more memorable.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We've typically visit Beaver Creek each year during ski season but stayed at the Vail Cascade Resort this year because friends had already booked there. The entire staff starting with the valet that took our bags and parked the car, the front desk staff and maids were absolutely wonderful. They're on par with what we experience at a Ritz.

Yes, the property is a little tired but it is a ski resort and undoubtedly takes a lot of hard use. The ski valet enables you to suit up in your room and your skis are sitting next to the lift about 50 feet behind the property. We had a rental car but never used it during our stay because the free shuttle was so easy to use to get around the Vail Village. You're not in the heart of the Village but it didn't really matter.

I'm not sure when we will make it back but it was a good value for the price with super service. We used the American Express Platinum program so we had free breakfast for two each day, a $100 food credit, an upgraded room with a fireplace and a late check out.

With regard to the review that was very negative regarding the staff, its probably a big dose of karma coming back your way. A smile, a sincere please and thank you to someone working hard goes a long way.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank rjolley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Hello rjolley01,
Thank you for your recent review! We’re glad you took advantage of our American Express rewards and enjoyed the amenities that make Vail Cascade so unique. We appreciate your business and hope you return soon.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stay at Cascade for the ski season and love that the Cascade is actually ski in and ski out. Some other hotels say they are but are not. The rooms are the only thing to me that seem a tad out dated. They have a great spa and fitness area. the outdoor heated pool is great, our kids love swimming after a day of skiing. The hot tub needs to be larger, The main hot tub by the pool is always crowded. The hotel has a lot of different things for the kids also, smores at 5pm, great kids menus, Wii in the lobby and a cute little marketplace to grab snacks. Our kids love this place, so that means we'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grtmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear grtmemories,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. As a family-orientated resort, we take great pride in catering to children and from what it sounds like, we made a lasting impression with your children. It will be my privilege to share this review with our staff. I also appreciate your constructive feedback on some of the items you mentioned that could help to improve guest satisfaction.

As you know, we’ve been getting a lot of snow and we would love to see you and your family again this winter.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

resort was better than I expected. Good service, nice rooms. would stay here again if I came to vail. Ski concierge was lovely as well. Pedicure was great and lounge food very tasty. good wine selection and great to be right at the lift.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quiet but a balcony would be great if you can get it. Bottom floors may be convien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear Sarah,
Glad to hear you took advantage of Vail Cascade’s unique amenities. Time and time again, guests compliment our ski concierge and access to Vail Mountain. It can’t be beat. If you think winter is great, you should come back for spring skiing. The snow has been falling the last several weeks and we’re getting a big dump this weekend. We love this time of year and hope you return.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#7 of 31 in Vail
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £245 - £885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Talisa, Vail’s newest luxury hotel, following a $60M + renovation, offers the epitome of elevation with 285 new guestrooms and suites with sophisticated décor, luxuriously appointed bathrooms and delightful turn down traditions – the perfect home base for year-round adventure and escape. Savor enchanting global culinary creations and breathtaking views within, Gessner, the new restaurant and lounge, an inventive après scene, blissful spa treatments, a premiere skiing offering including an on-property ski lift, ski concierge, rentals and ticket office, and experiences for all ages inspired by our beloved mountainside setting and culture. All just a mere 5-minute drive from Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing