We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Warm and welcoming staff!”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent! Warm and welcoming staff!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Loved the hotel! Beautiful...fun things like "smores by the fire"! Friendly staff, clean rooms, great location. Stayed twice...will stay again! Also, great, complimentary transportation to ski areas and shopping!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryLynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear MaryLynn,
What a privilege to read about your recent family getaway to Colorado! It sounds like you took advantage of our unique amenities and our complimentary children’s activities. If you decide to return this winter (or summer), please let me know how I can make your next Vail Cascade stay even more memorable.

Thank you for your 5-star review! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for skiing with our 11 and 14 year olds.
Room was poor for 4. Very little storage, tiny sofa bed. Ended up with an air bed got one of the kids.
Location is amazing. Lift at the hotel and a great run home right to the hotel.
Good ski shop in the hotel. All really easy.
Great free shuttle bus onto town.
Lovely pool/jacuzzi although very crowded.
Communal areas very tired. Bar in particular just not a place you want to hang out. Tired and a bit uninspiring.
Breakfast excellent.

Just spend some money modernising please. Great Location and staff just let down a bit by lack of investment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear emb01,
Thank you for your recent review and sharing your experience. We’re glad to hear you and your family enjoyed our resort’s location, ski shop and shuttle service. As a AAA Four Diamond resort, we strive to provide a great experience and appreciate you expressing your feedback regarding our property. We are excited to announce that we’re in the process of refreshing our rooms to include new pillows, bedding, lighting, carpet, furniture and more. In addition to our guest rooms, we are continuously making improvements and investing in our property to provide a genuine, welcoming environment.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review, we appreciate your business and hope to have you back again soon.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our first winter trip to Vail. We stayed here for a conference and had a great time. The staff was very nice and very helpful. Initially, I was worried about the hotel not being in one of the major villages but it actually worked out very well because the hotel essentially has its own lift. The ski concierge was also an awesome surprise! The hot tub and pool were great following a day on the slopes. The only negative was paying for parking but this seems to be the trend with many of these hotels nowadays. While the valet guys were great I would park the car myself and save the few dollars/day. The lot is very close to the hotel and you dont really even have to walk outside to get to your room/car because the lot is connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolverineSell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear WolverineSell,
We are so delighted you enjoyed your first visit to Vail and had a great time. Vail is such a unique mountain town and we’re fortunate to be the only true AAA Four Diamond ski-in, ski-out resort in Vail. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we invite you to return to take advantage of all the wonderful events, activities and experiences in summer.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I had a terrific time staying at the Vail Cascade. The staff was very friendly, timely, courteous, and somewhat personable. The spa was especially nice, my massage was thoroughly enjoyable. Great hot-tub outside for after a long day of skiing. Food is too expensive though...welcome to Vail.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadeSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear JadeSage,
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of so many of our great amenities, including our spa. Did you know that Aria recently ranked number 2 on Condé Nast’s list of “Top Spas”? We take great pride in providing genuine service from the heart and are pleased that you enjoy your visit to Colorado. We hope to see you again soon.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Location, location, location. Only hotel in Vail with its own lift. Great staff, great food, stay here every year. Walk through the warm hotel to the boot room, put on your boots 50ft from the lift while the ski valet places your skis on the rack outside. Kick your boots off when done, what's not to love about this?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Davidells,
Thank you for your 5-star review! What a privilege to read about your experience. It sounds like you took advantage of our unique amenities and enjoyed our convenient ski-in, ski-out location. If you decide to return this winter (or summer), please let me know how I can make your next Vail Cascade stay even more memorable.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

We've typically visit Beaver Creek each year during ski season but stayed at the Vail Cascade Resort this year because friends had already booked there. The entire staff starting with the valet that took our bags and parked the car, the front desk staff and maids were absolutely wonderful. They're on par with what we experience at a Ritz.

Yes, the property is a little tired but it is a ski resort and undoubtedly takes a lot of hard use. The ski valet enables you to suit up in your room and your skis are sitting next to the lift about 50 feet behind the property. We had a rental car but never used it during our stay because the free shuttle was so easy to use to get around the Vail Village. You're not in the heart of the Village but it didn't really matter.

I'm not sure when we will make it back but it was a good value for the price with super service. We used the American Express Platinum program so we had free breakfast for two each day, a $100 food credit, an upgraded room with a fireplace and a late check out.

With regard to the review that was very negative regarding the staff, its probably a big dose of karma coming back your way. A smile, a sincere please and thank you to someone working hard goes a long way.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank rjolley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Hello rjolley01,
Thank you for your recent review! We’re glad you took advantage of our American Express rewards and enjoyed the amenities that make Vail Cascade so unique. We appreciate your business and hope you return soon.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stay at Cascade for the ski season and love that the Cascade is actually ski in and ski out. Some other hotels say they are but are not. The rooms are the only thing to me that seem a tad out dated. They have a great spa and fitness area. the outdoor heated pool is great, our kids love swimming after a day of skiing. The hot tub needs to be larger, The main hot tub by the pool is always crowded. The hotel has a lot of different things for the kids also, smores at 5pm, great kids menus, Wii in the lobby and a cute little marketplace to grab snacks. Our kids love this place, so that means we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grtmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear grtmemories,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. As a family-orientated resort, we take great pride in catering to children and from what it sounds like, we made a lasting impression with your children. It will be my privilege to share this review with our staff. I also appreciate your constructive feedback on some of the items you mentioned that could help to improve guest satisfaction.

As you know, we’ve been getting a lot of snow and we would love to see you and your family again this winter.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing