We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“snow overnight”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“snow overnight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

A friend and I spent two nights here in October and were delighted to find snow when we woke up! it's a beautiful hotel/resort with excellent service and it's in a beautiful setting. Dinner at the restaurant (the 3 selections for $33) was delicious and wayyy too much food. Lots of families with children were there so maybe not the best choice for a friend's trip or romance. The pool and hot tub near the pool were overrun with kids at night so we went to the other hot tub and met a super nice couple.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room looking West and it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martham2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The Cascade is a great resort to stay at in Vail.

Location- One of the unique things about the Cascade is that it stands on its own. It sits on Gore Creek west of Vail. The Cascade is located about a 4-5 min drive from Vail Village, and only 2-3 minutes from Lionshead Village. In the summer it's a nice 3/4 mile stroll up the Gore Creek path to Lionshead, the closest area with lots of shopping and restaurants. Year round you can take advantage of their shuttle that runs back and forth. In the winter there is a chairlift right at the resort that you can use to access the slopes, and a catwalk that will return you there.

Rooms- the rooms are very clean and modern. Some offer views of Gore Creek and mountains. Came with a mini fridge, flat screen TV, desk, and spacious bathroom.

Dining- the Cascade offers a simple market with grab and go sandwiches drinks etc (food was ok), a bar/pub, and a higher end restaurant called Atwaters on Gore Creek (excellent service and food).

Amenities-
The Spa is world class. Gigantic fitness center. Basketball court. Racquetball courts. Fitness classes like yoga are available but are expensive.

Several small pools throughout the resort. One next to the fitness center, one beautiful but modest size pool on Gore Creek with a jacuzzi nearby.

Service- the staff is friendly, helpful and very professional. We were taken great care of during our stay in the fall.

Overall thoughts- A great resort to stay at in Vail. Not in the heart of the village, but a welcome retreat with very nice facilities and good staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverAC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear DenverAC22
Comprehensive reviews are so valuable for my staff and for future guests. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. From what it sounds like, you took advantage of all the amenities that make Vail Cascade so special. We’re glad that you noticed even the small things that we do to make our guests feel welcome. If you should return to Vail, I would kindly ask that you reach out to me directly and let me know if there’s anything I can do to make your next stay even more memorable.
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My youngest daughter, Aristea, was married on September 28th in Vail, and the Cascade Resort served as weekend headquarters for our prodigious Big, Fat, Greek Wedding. This was no small undertaking, as 220 people attended the rehearsal dinner on Friday evening at the Eagle-Vail Pavilion adjacent to the golf course, and 327 attended the wedding at the Vail Interfaith Chapel, with reception following at the Donovan Pavilion, a short walk down the trail from the Cascade.

Almost everyone stayed at the Cascade, which served our needs beautifully, as the central, open area bar and foyer were conducive to huge gatherings before and after the ceremonies. Fourteen months of meticulous, detailed planning by our family (read: principally my wife, Helen), and the cooperation of the Cascade staff, allowed our weekend to proceed flawlessly, without one glitch or hiccup. Rather marvelous considering the huge number of events, people, variables and assorted moving parts, and thanks to the countless hours Helen devoted to the success of each component piece. From moving all the shuttles on time with adequate capacity, to each chicken picatta, lamb and vegan dinner served hot, to the abbreviated lengths of the hilarious rehearsal dinner roast and the heartfelt wedding speeches of nine participants, limited and managed expertly by our skilled wedding planner. The delicious Sunday morning buffet brunch for 190 of our guests who remained overnight, served in the Atwater Grill on premises, was the perfect way to cap-off our weekend festivities. I also had a mean char-grilled pork shank with a cherry glaze on our first evening at the hotel here, which portion I easily shared with two other family menbers. Divine.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention the "Matchmaker" band from Austin, TX, who was simply spectacular, and played for 5 hours total with minimal 20 minute breaks to listen to Greek dancing tapes for our well-schooled, folk dancing, wedding guests. I even got to sing lead on Wilson Pickett's classic, "Mustang Sally," with the audience doing the chorus, "ride, Sally, ride." ;-)

We loved the Cascade, where myself and our family have stayed many times before, and heartily recommend them for a large wedding or big event. Several attorney groups with whom I have been associated had selected this venue for even larger annual meetings and conventions which we have attended. I did not hesitate to select the Cascade as a result of those stellar experiences. The discounted off-season rates, and the change of season, Aspen colors on the Vail Valley mountains, beautifully supplemented our weekend enjoyment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbradyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear bbradyesq,
First of all, let me take a minute to congratulate you on your daughter’s wedding! We are truly honored to have been a part of this special occasion. It is a privilege to hear the event was awesome and that you would recommend Vail Cascade. That’s music to our ears! Thank you for choosing Vail Cascade for such a memorable event – we would love to see you, your family and your daughter return again for another memory-making experience!
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have stayed several times in Vail, but this was our first visit to Vail Cascade, which is about a half mile from Lionshead and a mile from Vail itself. The hotel is on its own but we enjoyed how remote it was and the walk along Gore Creek to get to restaurants and shopping. There is also a complimentary shuttle available to take you there. The food at the bar was good (the food is the same at the bar as it is at the Atwater restaurant, is what we were told by the bartender) and the beer flight samplers were fun.
I don't know if there was an event going on the weekend we were there, but there were children everywhere- probably about 50% of the occupants. Strollers everywhere and kids running through the hallway, diving over furniture, etc. It would have been fine if we had brought kids and were not looking more for a relaxing resort/spa feel. I have never seen anything like it, but have also heard of other people staying here without the same experience so maybe it was a special occasion.
I booked our room through a Living Social deal and paid the higher amount for an "Alpine room". Then I called up to see if I could face Gore Creek and they said for $10 more per night we could so I agreed. It's unclear what a basic room would have been if I had not bought all the upgrades, because we ended up with a top floor room with no balcony, and all of the rooms have balconies except the top floor. It was completely acceptable in size, but I can't imagine what could be smaller than that. It felt a bit deceptive that we upgraded twice and still ended up in a small room with no balcony. Upon check out I asked the woman what I paid the extra $10 for (on top of paying extra for the Alpine room to begin with) and she said it was for the better view. Hmm.. ok. The view was beautiful but the whole back faces Gore Creek - we just smiled and left but were confused.
I would have been annoyed if we had to pay a resort fee to stay here, because the pool was full of kids the entire time to the point where we had to keep our windows closed from the screaming. It was actually better in the end that we didn't have a balcony lower down because it really was noticeable and started early in the morning.
The hotel itself was very nice and cozy, although I'd give the marketplace a pass- It's about $3 a coffee and a small yogurt parfait was $6... These are resort/spa prices and the rest of the place just doesn't meet that standard. We ordered a $6 breakfast sandwich and the woman took it out of a warmer it had been sitting in for who knows how long. Not exactly top notch.
I went to the spa for a pedicure and while it was a nice spa with a very cozy sanctuary room, the pedicure was rough and not what I am used to at spas.
Over all we loved the beauty of the location but there are so many other options in Vail/Lionshead at the same price point in the off season. We walked past those on the Gore Creek trail and they all seemed peaceful and tranquil, which is what we had been looking for.

Room Tip: Facing creek but not directly over the pool because it gets very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mnree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Hawk, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed 10/11-13. The first night our sink was plugged. Maintenance plunged it, pulled out hair and a sewing kit, but couldn't fix it so we moved to another room, with a better view. Manager gave us free breakfast at the buffet which is located in the Atwater. We ate breakfast and two dinner meals there and the food is amazing from the steaks, to the burgers, to the salmon skewers, delicious. Free shuttle to Lionshead and Vail Village is nice. The kids loved the pool.
Upon arrival I asked if an upgrade to a suite was available, but was denied. Oh well.
At dinner, we had a water glass shatter across our table. My daughter sliced her finger and a bandaid was brought and applied by the staff. In hindsight, we should have moved tables to get away from the shrapnel, but the waitress didn't think on her feet. I'm sure she has rarely seen an incident like that, but to bring our plates, place them on shattered glass, ask if we needed anything else, was somewhat oblivious to her surroundings.
Kudos to Josh and Aron in the Atwater for making us feel welcomed and relaxed and Stephanie for getting our room problem figured out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with great athletic amenities. It is at the west edge of Vail so night life is not as accessible as other hotels, but with a dedicated ski lift access to the mountain is good.
We've stayed here three times and been very happy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Nice front desk staff. Good off-season rates. $5 voucher for each night not using house-keeping. Nice rooms with views overlooking river (upgrade from desk). Fridge. Coffee maker. Fantastic gym, hot tubs, steam room, indoor basketball, etc. Shuttle every 15 minutes to Vail Village. Great place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarinaRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear MarinaRon,
We truly appreciate the 5-star recognition and hearing about your excellent experience at Vail Cascade. With the changing of the season, we’d love to see you again for winter when the resort turns into a winter wonderland of fun. With ski-in, ski-out convenience combined with Four Diamond service and award-winning amenities, there’s truly no other place like Vail Cascade. If there’s anything I can do to make your next stay even more extraordinary, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing