We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Mountain Resort”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have been going to this property for years and love it. We've stayed in a variety of room types, including suites and a condo. We love the rooms on the creekside with balconies, and the condos are a great deal and provide the means to cook meals in and save money from not needing to dine out. We always make a point of eating the breakfast buffet, which is delicious and a decent value. This property is outside the Vail Village, which is a plus to us. We love the beautiful walk by the river into Vail, or free shuttles are also available. Mostly we love the friendly, welcoming and unpretentious atmosphere of this resort.

Room Tip: The creekside rooms with balconies are great, and for families, the larger rooms with separate sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear TravellingFriend,
It is great to hear that you recognize the amenities that Vail Cascade has and that many hotels don’t come close to offering. From the largest and most comprehensive fitness facility in Vail (rated as “Best Luxury Hotel Gym” by Men’s Health magazine) to our spacious rooms and variety of accommodation offerings (hotel rooms, townhomes, condos and homes) to our pools and hot tubs, there’s no better place to stay in Vail. We really appreciate your comprehensive review (as do others reading it) and hope to see you again.
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Really enjoyed the resort, wonderful location by the river; the most enjoyed food at the restaurant, especially smoked pheasant soup was out of this world, all natural ingredients came from local farmers according to Chef.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jburke345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear jburke345,
Thank you for your 5-star review! We’re thrilled to hear about your Cascade experience and that you enjoyed Atwater. The pheasant soup is a favorite among many and we’re glad you enjoyed it as well. Atwater just rolled out their new menu and it’s amazing! We hope you return soon!
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

While the valet guy was adequate at best, everyone else we met were warm, friendly, and welcoming. Our room was slightly upgraded to a balcony view room and we loved it. The bed, furnishings and room size easily met expectations but while the bathroom was nice (and had two sinks) it was more 3 star hotel looking while the rest of the room was more like 4+ stars.

The outdoor pool and hot tubs were welcoming, interestingly shaped and located, and had towels at each. The shuttle bus was on demand that day so no waiting to get into central Vail. Finally the complimentary athletic club was excellent (wish they had a lap pool) and my girl said the spa was WORLD CLASS! -best facial she ever had!

Problem-
well two of them: 1) The hotel's known for their spa yet a sign at the pool says "SPA" with an arrow that points to the exact opposite end of the hotel. Why? Because it's the incorrectly labeled hot tub. If you're known for your spa then don't use the word so haphazardly especially if it sends you the the farthest opposite end of the hotel from the spa.
2) IF staying inside the hotel there are signs for the spa. -take the specific elevators to 2, turn right, go down the hallway, turn right again, down a much longer hallway, through some doors and alas you're there. BUT NO- once I walked 80% of the way there (at the far other end of the hotel's grounds) there's a construction sign saying to go all the way back and start again trying one's own different path. Duh- the sign goes in the lobby and again at the elevator, not at the end saying basically to go back to the beginning and you figure it out from there. We couldn't believe it was a current sign and went straight- right into paint buckets and construction materials. -still had to double back. That's so JERKY and made my girl tense and angry as she finally walked into the spa appointment that I gave her as a gift.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear denverroadtrip,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review on TripAdvisor. We value feedback from all our guests and appreciate your opinion. As a AAA Four Diamond resort, we strive to provide a great experience and appreciate your thoroughness on every aspect of your experience. We take feedback from our guests seriously and have therefore shared your review with our team. We’re always striving to make improvements in an effort to ensure every guest has a positive experience.
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel rooms are very nice, and the hallways are quiet. The pool is beautiful, it overlooks the creek and is a peaceful setting. The Fireside Bar is a great place to hang out with friends. The bell staff are very helpful with loading and unloading vehicles, which was great for us as we were there for a hockey tournament.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at Vail Cascade in early/mid November of 2013 for three days. From the time we arrived till we left the staff was outstanding. Everyone was friendly a made us feel very welcomed. We were there to have a intimate wedding(just us and the minister:) ) and when staff found out they upgraded our room for free!!! Everyone was very helpful and made our stay memorable.
We plan to come back in the summer with my kids and bikes :) and don't plan look anywhere else to stay than the cascade's again!
If your in the area and looking to for a great place to stay, we would highly recommend Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Rob,
First let me take a moment to say congratulations on your recent wedding and send you best wishes for a lifetime of happiness! We are truly honored that you selected Vail Cascade as your destination to celebrate. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience and from what it sounds like, you had a memorable time, which is great to hear. We’re glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and romantic setting on Gore Creek. When you decide to return with your family, please let me know if there’s anything I can do to make your next visit (maybe an anniversary trip?) even more memorable.
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We got a heck of a deal for early October through Living Social. On top of the deal, we also got a 20% off because Living Social was running a special. I'll be honest, we felt like we were getting away with something!
Off-season all amenities weren't available, but we were pretty aware our stay would be that way.
From check-in to check-out, the entire staff was fabulous. They all treated us like a million bucks, and made sure we were happy the entire stay.
Absolutely loved the lounge with the big fireplace-so great on a chilly night.
Would absolutely stay again even if we didn't get such a discount.
Never got a chance to check out the gym or pools, but maybe next time!

Room Tip: Mountain view is great, but even our front-facing room was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmsrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Must go see Anne at the restaurant by the bar. She was a great waitress and very knowledgable about food and wines! Great environment and great people. Did not even matter the slopes were not open yet...

Must visit the hot tubs and heated pool while it's snowing. Amazing experience

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ldfbjordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Ldfbjordie,
Thank you for your business and your endorsement! We take great pride in providing superior service and are thrilled to hear about your stay. We hope to see you again soon. The lift is running and the ski conditions are great!
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,291 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £222 - £1,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing