We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski in Ski out--Best treatment ever by Charter Sports”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ski in Ski out--Best treatment ever by Charter Sports”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Vail Cascade is a wonderful resort both winter and summer. But I have to say that the attention you receive from the Charter Sports staff in the rental/retail shop makes the stay exceptional. They even help you put your boots on and off. This is the most convenient way to ski. We have gone back 4 years in a row!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cratto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Cratto,
As a loyal guest of Vail Cascade, we would like to thank you for choosing the Vail Cascade Resort for your recent visit from California. We are truly honored by your review and appreciate your feedback, especially since you are a returning guest. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our ski-in/ski-out location, ski concierge services and the treatment provided by Charter Sports (we agree- they’re great!). We will pass along your comments so that everyone can enjoy them.

We do hope you do return again - the snow continues to fall and this winter is quickly becoming one for the record books.
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This resort is a gem and I highly recommend it. It's not located in Vail Village, but do NOT let that influence you - the shuttle is quick and the resort has its own chair lift, lift ticket counter and ski storage. At the end of the day you can ski through the woods and over Gore Creek right back to the resort. The views of Gore Creek and the woods from the restaurant, outdoor pool and hot tub are amazing. Rooms are large, quiet, clean and nicely decorated. Above all....the staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Well worth the money and we will definitely be staying here when we return to Vail.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Brian C,
Thank you for your business and your recommendation of Vail Cascade Resort on TripAdvisor. We agree – our location, amenities, and of course our staff can’t be beat! Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your experience at Vail Cascade. If you decide to replay your stay, we would love to have you again. Please feel free to contact me if there’s anything I can do to make your next visit even more wonderful.
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We love the beautiful Vail Cascades Resort and deliberately chose to stay there on our return to Vail. We booked our trip through Travelocity in December and were counting the days until we would arrive. We sent our skis and boots by Fedex to the ski concierge at Vail Cascades and were happily packing on Saturday. That morning, one day before our flight scheduled for Sunday 2/16/14, we were informed by our airline that our flight was cancelled. We immediately called the airline for rebooking. It is a vacation week in the East, our area is also recovering from a severe winter storm on Thursday, the 13th. There were absolutely no flights into Colorado available until much later in the week. The agent tried everything, she just could not get us on a flight to Colorado and promptly refunded our ticket money. I contacted Travelocity immediately. We know from past experience that you can't be a "no show," that you have to cancel the hotel reservation 24 hours before arrival. Travelocity confirmed what happened with the airline and then set out to contact Vail Cascades. From 2/15-2/17, Travelocity called the hotel two or more times daily to be told the manager was "not available" and no refunds were allowed without manager approval. We called on our own and were told "no refunds, have Travelocity speak to the manager."
Now, I understand, hotels have to have some kind of protection against cancellations, but we are not at fault here. We feel completely swindled. I think this is a very bad business practice. As returning customers, they should have and could have done a better job of trying to help make things right. We certainly did not expect to lose the entire $2,400, the cost for four nights... Yes, we had Travel Insurance and we are pursuing this now, but if you've ever gone through travel insurance, it is not for the faint of heart. Be very careful making a vacation package reservation to Vail Cascades Resort and Spa. Perhaps the hotel should add ABSOLUTELY NO REFUNDS to their Travelocity website information in bolded capital letters. I do want to point out, that every other reservation made for this trip, Colorado Mountain Express and lift tickets with Vail Peaks Pass was immediately refunded to us. What a disappointment!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bindiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Bindiboo,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. My name is John Garth and I am the Managing Director at the hotel. We take great care in reading through all of the reviews posted and we were disheartened to read about your experience. With all the winter storms back east, it has caused quite a bit of travel issues this season, which unfortunately has affected many travelers across the nation. We are always willing to help our guests to the best of our abilities as we take great pride in providing superior service to everyone. We hope you give us another chance to earn back your loyalty and I personally invite you to call me directly if I can assist in any manner.
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just wanted a place to rest between skiing and fun. What we got was so much more!! It's not the newest place but I sort of like the older style that gives a sense of time passed. It was spotless and well cleaned every day. Everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. They'd help you pick places to go or best times to go. They had the 411 of how to get where and best roughs.
They gave us a room on the bottom floor, thinking we'd love being near the fire pits and Jacuzzi (it was an anniversary trip for us) but for me being from NY I don't like being that close to the central hub of things or on a ground floor with people passing by our room. I asked (expecting a hard time) to be moved but it was no problem and I was placed in a new room with an amazing view and awesome balcony!! The tub was so deep you could drown and the shower pressure was very good!!! Our sheets, pillows and bed itself felt great. They even have a humidifier in the room which we used each night and really helped us!
The resort has everything you want/need small store, ski shop right on sight (OMG they were AMAZING IN THERE!!! So helpful!!) restaurant and bar. It also, had heated pool ...LOVED IT, rocking chairs at two fire pits with someone who came out with the making of smores...more excited then we were about it too!! You couldn't help but have fun. The least loved was the bar as the wait staff left me feeling like they were doing me a favor by being their...but the wine and drinks were still good...not the best of the trip but when you're tired it will do for a night cap. They even have live music each night. You were no more than a 4 min. drive to the center of Vail. I looked into some of the other hotels during my stay, as I wanted to know if I was really missing out on anything...in my opinion all I missed out on was the bigger bill!!! I'd book it again in a second!!!

Room Tip: I got a room in the center above the fire pit and loved the veiw and location to night roaming of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We intended to visit just one night. My husband and teen sons loved the convenient skiing -- equipment rentals, ski concierge and ticket booth on site, chair lift right outside the door. I loved the huge fitness center and spa -- great place to relax the day away. Resort shuttle to Vail Village was incredibly convenient. Breakfast buffet at the restaurant had enough variety that it seemed like a great value. Room was large enough, comfortable and updated; double sinks outside the bathroom are great. Live music in the packed bar area. All this right on site. We checked out after one night but spent the day and then planned to head home after dinner. When the highway was closed due to weather, the front desk was very gracious -- a great deal on a second night. We are Coloradans, and Vail Cascade is now our go-to spot in Vail.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Juja80301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Juja80301,
Thank you for your business and your endorsement of Vail Cascade Resort. We would be honored to be your ‘go-to spot in Vail’! We take great pride in providing superior service and are thrilled to hear about your stay. With Vail’s largest fitness center and spa, Aria Athletic Club is an amazing experience and we’re thrilled that you enjoy it. We hope to see you and your family again soon. The snow continues to fall and the skiing conditions can't be beat!
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was very nice Xmas weekend, we rent a car from Denver and drove to Vail, booked the hotel through their website, cheaper from Expedia and similar sites.
Place is great, they have their own shuttle, and its very fast every 1/2h if I remember correctly. We had only one time breakfast at the hotel, and it was great, but the most of the time we dine in town.
Would definitely go again if we decide to go back to Vail.

Room Tip: Restaurants in hotel are closing early and hotel store doesn't offer a lot if you like your wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celsolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear celsolph,
Thank you for your 5-star review; we are humbled by your generous comments. The holidays in Vail are truly a special place and we’re glad to hear that your stay was memorable. The snow continues to fall and we’re having a great winter – we’d love to see you again! If you do decide to return, I’d ask that you reach out to me so I can ensure your next visit is even more special.
Thanks again,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I have been all over the world and I have to say this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. We had our wedding in Vail and had about 100 guests all staying at the Vail Cascade. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to fulfill all of our needs all week. Great bar, great pool, great rooms, excellent food. I really cant say enough good things about this hotel. They even remembered us when we came back the next year for our anniversary! They truly make you feel like a VIP. I look forward to going back every year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Jason,
First let me take a moment to say congratulations on your recent wedding and send you best wishes for a lifetime of happiness! We are truly honored that you selected Vail Cascade as your host hotel for your special celebration. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience and from what it sounds like, you had a memorable time, which is great to hear. We hope you make your anniversary a tradition by coming back to Vail Cascade year-after-year. We will go above and beyond to ensure your stays exceed your expectations.

John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing