We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price! Great location!”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great price! Great location!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for two nights at Vail Cascade... and we loved it! Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The towels were great and the bed was AMAZING! The hotel is removed from the busy downtown area of Vail, however we loved the quiet location and the shuttle. The shuttle runs about every 10 minutes from 8am-Midnight. The concierge was helpful and the front desk staff were very friendly and inviting. We had to ask for bathrobes and they were delivered within five minutes! We were very lucky to find a discounted rate on Expedia that was part of a rental car package. Our only complaint was the location of our room... It had a great mountainside view but was a long walk from the bar, front desk, shuttle. We typically wouldnt mind this, however it was hard to lug ski gear after a long day on the mountain. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to couples or families! It is very romantic (the hottub and pool are amazing!) but also inviting to familes and groups. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The mountainside view room (without a balcony) was very spacious and comfortable. We didnt feel the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Erin,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent trip to Vail. As alpine guides to the very best experiences in Colorado, we agree that our location and access to Vail Mountain can’t be beat. If you think winter is amazing, you should come back and check out the summer. Should your travels bring you back to Colorado, we’d love to welcome you again to Vail Cascade.
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I love staying here! Beautiful setting and love the free shuttle to town. Always clean and great service. The pool area with the hot tubs along the creek is beautiful and relaxing. Seems to be the best price in Vail. Can't wait to stay here again..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjen12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Jen,
Thank you for choosing Vail Cascade for your romantic Valentine’s Day weekend. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just came back from 4 nights staying at the Vail Cascade. We had a 2 bedroom condo plus den which was a perfect size for a family of 5. The living area on the first floor was very spacious. While the decor was a bit 80s, the bathrooms and the kitchen were both updated. Everything was neat and tidy and housekeeping came daily. While we had a bit of a walk to the main hotel, the shuttle was always easy to use should we decide not to walk. The ski concierge was hectic at times but easy to use and convenient to the Cascade chairlift. The pool and hot tub were very nice and my kids LOVED the indoor basketball court. The staff throughout the Cascade was always very friendly and helpful and I woul def stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Robin,
Glad to hear your family enjoyed their trip to Vail. As the ideal Colorado base camp, we take great honor in providing experiences as unique and memorable as our mountain setting. Should your travels bring you back to Colorado or if you would like to return to the Vail Cascade specifically, please let me know. Forecasters are predicting one of the best winter seasons and we’d love for you and your family to experience the most exciting time of the year in the Rocky Mountains.
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

we just stayed at the Cascade for a medical conference. While it is not the most luxurious or new hotel, it was a fantastic place to stay. The service is unbelievable. everyone is so friendly and goes out of their way to help particularly Geoff and Alex.. There is a convenient shuttle to the various villages. The ski rental is on location and the chair lift is literally steps from the hotel. There is live music in the lobby constantly. The concierge is great. There is a great hot tub and pool that is well heated and fantastic even in the winter. My wife used the spa (massage, yoga etc) and said it was great.
I cant really comment on pricing since we paid the "conference" rate.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: higher is better (only four floors) as there is live music in the lobby. Though music is fairly mell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear almiami,
Thank you for sharing your recommendations and feedback on TripAdvisor. We enjoy hearing from our guests and are delighted you enjoyed your time in Vail during your conference. Should your travels bring you back to Colorado, we’d love to welcome you again to Vail Cascade.
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Concierge, Bus Staff, Valet guys and Front Desk staff are amazing! Nice, helpful and courteous! If your travel plans work perfectly, you are happy with a slightly "tired" room, you didn't pay more than $300 a night and your ok with pre-paying, you will be happy! If however, you have any issues, or are traveling on business….beware! Its all about money and the more money the better. They would be happy to change rooms if you would like to pay for both, they will say anything and do anything to get your money up front (and that does including a little bit of false information to get your commitment) and of course no refunds. If you are one of the unlucky who have travel issues (aka: weather in the middle of winter) you will find no help or service from the Vail Cascade. The front line staff are on their own and there is no one available to help, no one who will know the answer, and no one who can get an answer to any questions or issues unless you are willing to pay for it…. again!

If you are attending a conference, the hotel meeting staff knows you are locked in to staying there so don't expect any customer service. If your staying in a condo they are privately owned and in varying states of decor… could be great for a vacation, horrible for a conference, the streets and sidewalks are not shoveled so leave the dress shoes at home or plan to hit the ground hard…..several times…..everyone in our party did at least once! Shuttle service MAY be available if you aren't on a schedule. Our condo, the one that I was promised was "onsite" before booking, was ok. I would recommend the Eagle Point Resort, its also not really walking distance but the condos are similar quality and the cost is much more appropriate! The cleaning folks decided to show up to the condo about half the time but when we called we did get clean towels!

Lastly, don't waste your time at the Atwater Restaurant the food is marginal and the you can expect to wait and wait and wait for any food or even drinks (at least that has been our experience over the past several years and nothing changed this trip) after a two hour wait and two trays of bread the food came and was marginal. Save the Atwater for room service if your desperate one night! As for the group meals at the meeting, bring some extra food or visit the grocery store nearby… you will be happier!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear travelwlp,

First of all, thank you for being honest and sharing your experience. From what it sounds like, your stay did not meet your expectations, as well as ours. I appreciate you providing us with detailed feedback on some of the issues you encountered and I can promise you that we have addressed your feedback with our team. Your review is invaluable as we strive to continuously improve our processes and service standards as a AAA Four Diamond resort.

It is unfortunate to hear some of your feedback as a valued customer. We work extremely hard to cater to all types of guests – whether on a business trip or leisure vacation – and from what it sounds like, you didn’t experience that level of service. We do hope you give us another chance to earn back your loyalty and I personally invite you to call me directly if I can make your next visit more enjoyable.

Again, my apologies for the uncommon yet frustrating experience.

John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Cascade Village Resort is top notch - impeccable service, beautiful surroundings, scrumptious beds, and ski in ski out! And how can you beat having a s'mores concierge by the outside pool orchestrating marshmallow toasting over the fireplace whilst guest enjoy après ski hot-tubing! Classic................

Room Tip: We had a basic king, and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Karen,
We love hearing feedback on our guest’s experience and are pleased to hear you think Vail Cascade is top notch! Glad to hear you enjoyed all the amenities that make our resort so special. The snow continues to fall and the season is turning out to be one for the record books. Hope to see you again soon!
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We went out on a limb, and decided not to stay in Vail Village on our annual ski trip in an effort to save a little money on accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised at the resort and accommodations. The room was generous in size and able to house a family of three for several days. The spa and fitness center is top notch. I injured myself and was able to use the facilities to begin physical therapy prior to reaching home. The staff was very friendly, but a little disappointed that there was no microwave in our room. Also, knowing that we had three people in our room, linens and drinkware were set-up to accommodate two people. Having a Vail resort lift and ticket counter right outside the resort door was extremely convenient. We were staying over a holiday weekend, and it was great that we did not have to wait in lines at the main lifts. The hotel shuttle was very convenient to get to and from Lionshead and Vail Village.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close in the wing close to Charter Sports and Lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear A T,
Glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay, but sorry to hear you were injured. Hopefully it’s a quick recovery for you. Thank you for sharing your experience – we’re glad to hear you took advantage of our amenities, and specifically Aria Athletic Club & Spa! We agree that our location is something that guests truly enjoy –it’s quiet, secluded, and easily accessible to Vail Mountain. A skier’s dream! Thank you for your business – we hope you return soon.
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,261 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing