We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, confusing maze of rooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
AURORA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place, confusing maze of rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nice ski-in/ski-out location with really close lift to Vail mountain. Will try it another time, as we are here for conference, not play. While an older place, the rooms are mostly clean and cozy with outstanding linens and bedding. The luxury robes provided along with a room humidifier are nice touches. Our bed is wonderful for a great night's sleep. There are French doors opening onto a quaint balcony with two chairs to sit upon. It being April with snow still everywhere, it's a little too cold to enjoy the outside amenities. The one nasty thing was the black mold in the shower, chips in the tub and a musty shower curtain that I had to have replaced.
The on-site restaurant is excellent but pricey. Healthy portions prepared amazingly well with enthusiasm of locally sourced foods. Highly recommend it as a nice treat.
The one thing I did not like at all was the awkward accessibility of the rooms and the spa. We were in the east wing and had to maneuver several turns in hallways and one elevator and more turns and twists until we got to our room. And the spa? It's across the street! Either access it by crossing outside sidewalks and walking up stairs and going through hallways, or go through the hotel hallways, past peoples rooms taking elevators and stairs and through doorways ad nauseum into a darkened entry that is not very refreshing nor serene. Not Feng Shui either. Oh, and the dark parking garage is crammed with very small stalls, also located across the street and not just below the hotel. Just inconvenient for this expensive place.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room on the riverside as they are south facing and the water running through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peetieswie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear peetieswie,
Comprehensive reviews such as yours are not only beneficial for us, but for other guests as well. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed our location on Gore Creek, our spacious and comfortable guest rooms and Atwater’s locally-inspired cuisine. We also appreciate your honesty pertaining to our resort layout. We are in the process of improving the wayfinding and signage so that it’s easier to get from one part of the resort to the other. If you do decide to return to Vail Cascade (this time for fun), we’d love to welcome you back. Summer is around the corner and offers a playground of adventure, activities and events.
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I LOVE Vail Cascade! This is the second time we have stayed, but the first time in the winter. We were having a bad experience at another hotel and called to see if they had anything available for that night. They not only had a room available but beat the best advertised price I could find and had it ready at 10:00 am! They saved my vacation and I am very grateful! We ate at the Fireside bar and at Atwaters and had three fantastic meals. The breakfast at Atwaters is the best, especially the Lox. I love the atmosphere, the facilities, the pool and hot tubs and the ski concierge. Customer service is exemplary - which is almost impossible to find anymore!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly_0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Kimberly,
As a loyal Vail Cascade guest, we appreciate your 5-star review! We are grateful to hear that you had a wonderful stay, especially since this was your first time visiting in the winter. We strive to provide each of our guests with a genuine and authentic experience that is customized, convenient, and comfortable. We hope you return again soon – the summer is around the corner amd we'd love to welcome you back.
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Vail Cascade Resort is REALLY the best ski/ski out lodging in Vail. None of the millionaires have it this good. The lift is 10' from your skis. Your boots are stored overnight, given to warm and dry each morning. Skis are put by the lift when you put on your boots. If you need anything -- just ask -- the guys are awesome!
We had a double queen room facing Beaver Creek (sun bathe on your private balcony on a spring afternoon).
Vails best kept secret! Download back to the resort and see it from 1500' above. It's just like parachuting.
All of the employees make you feel special.
Food & Drinks are excellent but $$$$$
I'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: Just like any resort it pays to do your home work. Look at satellite photos, floor plans, know the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear dobskier,
Wow, we are truly honored that you feel we are the best ski in/ski out hotel in Vail! And we agree! Glad to hear you enjoyed all our unique amenities, especially our ski concierge services. The days until closing day are quickly approaching, but we’re soaking up every minute of snow-time! Hope you return soon and check out the summer. It’s just as amazing.
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Vail Cascade Resort. We loved the convenience of the private ski lift-- the hotel had everything we needed. Great staff, perfect location. We used the spa often and the gym had it all. We will be back.

Room Tip: The suites were spacious and slept 4, the only negative was one bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Our guests are extremely important to me personally, as well as to all the associates at Vail Cascade. We truly appreciate your business and are grateful for your 5-Star review on your recent stay. We hope you return soon! We just kicked off SpringFest and are enjoying all the fun that comes with springtime.

John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is the place to stay in Vail - a chairlift at the hotel, ski valet and staff that truly care about you and get to know you - why stay anywhere else. My husband and I plan at least 2 trips a winter to ski and last year we came in the summer to golf . You dont need a car with you - there is a hotel shuttle and the concierge can help with arrangements if you want to go to another ski resort - why go anywhere else .......

Room Tip: Rooms with a mountain view are worth the difference in price .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Anna,
Skiers and snowboarders love to stay at Vail Cascade - the only true ski-in/ski-out, AAA Four Diamond hotel destination in Vail, Colorado. As a loyal guest, your feedback is very valuable – not just to us, but to other travelers. We truly appreciate your business and 5-star review. The snow continues to fall and we’d love the opportunity to welcome you back for another ski getaway!
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This resort is world class, and a true ski in/ ski out stay. The facilities are exquisite and the staff is great.

Charter sports was very helpful when fitting my rental skis. Also the ski concierge was easy and worry-free.

My wife and I are already planning for our next trip back to vail cascade resort, we had an amazing and relaxing time.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Honest-rooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Honest-rooster,
We are looking forward to your return visit! We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time with your wife, taking advantage of all the resort amenities and offerings that are unique to Vail Cascade. We agree – the ski concierge services are a very nice perk! If you’re an avid skier, our chairlift and onsite rental shop speed up the process and get guests bed-to-mountain in minutes! Hope to see you again soon – don’t hesitate to reach out to me if I can be of any assistance in your travel planning.

Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have been coming to Vail for about 10 years and generally stay in private condos. Nonetheless, I have always bought the month membership at the gym. Stayed in the hotel last September and rooms are beautiful, and the service from the bar is always friendly. Additionally the shuttles are great and very friendly (and if you are out after midnight, its easy to get West Vail Green bus home for free). The chair lift is a few minutes walk which is perfect. Also, the gym is the best gym in the village and has amazing facilities, including squash and tennis (indoors also) - it way beats the Vail Athletic Club and for sure the Racquet club at East Vail. Sometimes it is nice to be close to Vail but away from the manic village! Additionally Julie in reservations is always helpful and assisting in securing my reservation for the last 10 days of ski season! If you are out in town, I highly recommend popping into the new enlarged Vendettas (and saying hello to Sean) or seeing Phil for Apres in Shakedown and Scott Rednor band later in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikevail09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear bikevail09,
As a loyal club member at Aria Athletic Club, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review of Vail Cascade! We agree that our fitness center cannot be beat! It’s such a great amenity for all our guests and Vail residents. Thanks again for your endorsement – we hope we have the privilege of seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.9 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Spa Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing