We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Vail nicely done”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“West Vail nicely done”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Sense of arrival is impressive, doorman/valet very attentive. Self parking included in $27 resort fee and is convenient.
Reception is in an odd place so you que in a corridor. Would no honor current lower rate posted on their website but then offered comp upgrade to much larger room after check in.
Rooms have recently received new carpet, drapes, fabrics, etc. The furniture and vanity base are pretty old and tired. The room we had on the lower level with patio right out to the walkway on the river was super. Did find the patio door unlocked when we arrived.
Dinner in Atwater was very good. Server was chatty (in a good way), food was extremely good as was the wine list.
Fitness center is huge with all the equipment that could be desired. Do have some maintenance issue with the aerobic pieces that we tried.

Room Tip: Lower level with patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Denver traveler,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Vail and took advantage of the amenities unique to Vail Cascade, specifically our fitness center. Did you know it’s the largest in Vail? As a guest, it’s one amenity that is worth checking out –from fitness classes to basketball, tennis and squash to an outdoor heated pool and spacious locker rooms; it’s a memorable experience within itself. We hope to see you again soon! Summer is upon us and is one of our favorite times of year with so much to do and see!

John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Piedras, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Awesome experience! Visited on December 14th of 2013 and the experience was great. The hotel staff were very welcoming. The room had a balcony with a view to the creek which made the experience felt like a dream. The hotel shuttle was very convenient and we travelled to the villages back and forth as we wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a creek view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Gabriel,
Thank you for your review of your December stay. Coming all the way from Puerto Rico, we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and loved our setting on Gore Creek. We agree - there’s something really unique about our location, not to mention our ski-in/ski-out access to North America's largest ski mountain. We’re very fortunate and are appreciative of your business. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a great family experience two summers ago at the Vail Cascade (2012). We have several small children and the resort was perfect in size feel and activities for the kids (especially the pool/hot tub). Staff was friendly and kind and room was very nicely furnished and clean. Resort is very close to excellent restaurants and shopping. We are returning to the resort in several weeks (first part of June 2014) and are hopeful that we will have same experience. Will update following.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Bart,
We are looking forward to your upcoming summer visit with your family. As loyal guests to Vail Cascade, we truly appreciate your business and your recent review. The temperatures are warm, the grass is green and the flowers are blooming. This time of year is so special! Be sure to take in a dive-in movie or s’mores by the pool on Friday and Saturday nights, starting June 20. The kids (and adults) will enjoy it! If there is anything we can do to make your stay more memorable, please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally or any one of our team members.

Thank you,
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Vail Cascade in late March and had a fabulous time! Not only were the conditions outstanding, but we could not have asked for a better resort experience. As the only ski in-ski out resort in Vail, mountain access is very easy. No need to lug you ski equipment through the hotel, the ski concierge is right there at the base of the lift to assist. While the ammenities at the resort are terrific, it's the staff that makes the difference. Both Sharon G. and Joe M. with Concierge Services, really made our vacation. They could not do enough for us, from making dinner reservations, to assisting with parking when our niece visited us from Denver for a day of skiing during our stay. We look forward to visiting again next year!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room with a view of the stream and mountainside, it's just gorgeous! Plus the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 492lisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Lisa,
We are looking forward to your return visit! We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time with your family, taking advantage of all the resort amenities and offerings that are unique to Vail Cascade. We agree – the ski lift and our concierge services are a very nice perk! But more importantly, our staff is what truly sets Vail Cascade apart. They are passionate advocates and knowledgeable guides to Vail’s very best experiences and LOVE taking care of our guests.

We will share your review with our staff and will thank Sharon and Joe for their assistance in making your vacation so special. We do hope to see you again soon……if you think Vail in the winter is spectacular, you should check out the summer – from culinary events to hiking, biking, fishing and mountain adventures, there’s plenty to do!

John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

You could tell from the very beginning that staff work to accommodate guests. We were going there for a destination wedding and the group code didn't work for the online reservation. I talked with them twice--the second time was to alter my reservation and in that call I asked about a club program. I got signed up for the program which would get me an upgrade if available and late check out. Both of these things proved very important in our stay! We had a way better balcony/view/room than most of the other wedding guests and since we were taking a redeye flight home being able to stay in the room so long was wonderful. The pool/hot tub situation could be improved upon--(a) I'm glad we got explicit directions at the desk because it was somewhat hard to find/access, (b) it was NOT lit at night and actually very scary walking around in the dark on concrete near water!!, (c) it closed at 11pm which meant it was not used as much as we wanted. We did not partake of any meals at the hotel so I can't comment on the restaurants or costs. We had a great off-season group rate so it was very reasonable for us. I also have to say the coffee in the room was not good. The mugs had a thick rim which made drinking difficult and they had a small capacity. The whole coffee set up (cream/sugar, teas, coffee maker, etc.) could be bigger and better. I'm fairly easy to please with my one cup a morning but this coffee was really disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room (these have the good balconies!) on the west side. If you are on the 3rd o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Mandi,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Vail Cascade! Our staff is truly passionate about what they do and it’s exemplified through their interactions with our guests. Thank you for your feedback pertaining to the hot tub, way findings and in-room coffee. We’re always looking for ways to improve guest satisfaction so we appreciate your honest feedback.

If you happen to travel back to Vail from Pennsylvania, please let me know in advance so I can welcome you back personally. Glad to hear you signed up for Destination Delivers, too! There are many great benefits to being a member.

John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Wonderful place to stay and enjoy the mountain and stream view. We had a small deck with two chairs located on the second floor. Great place to have coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. The Resort is walking distance to downtown Vail!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms had balconies and a beautiful view of the mountain and stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebHeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear DebHeller,
Thank you for your recent stay at Vail Cascade and your review. We appreciate your business and hope you return soon. The river is flowing, the birds are singing and the sun is shining – it’s a great time to be in Vail.
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My family of 2 adults, 2 teenagers stayed at the Cascade Resort & Spa for one night. It is located at one end of Vail and has its own ski lift, which was fine for heading UP to ski, but proved difficult at the end of the day if you are not a great skier. We had to lug our skis while walking in the clunky boots to find a bus that would take us back to the resort and it was NOT EASY! The resort is a beautiful place to stay, with a luxurious feel all around and spacious rooms, but it is very expensive. The brunch was $25 per person, so we passed on that and grabbed some oatmeal/yogurt in the small shop. The outdoor pools were not warm enough to enjoy on a cold day and the one (of two) hot tubs was small and crowded--disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Jeannelb,
Thank you for providing your candid feedback on your March stay with your family. We appreciate hearing from all our guests, whether good or not so great, so that we can use the feedback as an opportunity to improve. With Chair 20 onsite, guests love the easy access to getting on the mountain quickly. As for skiing back to Vail Cascade, there are a couple options. You can either take Simba run to Cascade Way, which is a fairly easy run. Or you can always ski to Chair 20 and download to the resort. If you prefer to ski down to Vail Village or Lionshead, you can call our Concierge for pick up or wait at the bus stop for the Cascade shuttle, which runs about every 10-15 minutes in the winter.

As for your feedback pertaining to the cost of the breakfast buffet, we can appreciate that it may be pricey, but we try to provide a range of options that are unique as the restaurant itself and are competitively priced for Vail standards. Recently, Atwater rolled out a 3 for $33 promotion, which is 30% off and runs through the summer. It’s a great deal and definitely worth checking out.

Thank you again for your honest review of Vail Cascade. We appreciate your business and the information you shared as we strive to continuously improve our processes and service standards as a AAA Four Diamond resort.

Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing