We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pork dish ever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atwater on Gore Creek

Atwater on Gore Creek
Ranked #38 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Frontage Road
Transit: Free transportation available through Vail Cascade shuttle service. Shuttle stops in Lionshead and Vail Village.
Description: Take your taste buds on a sensory experience as you savor creative Colorado cuisine paired with an eclectic list of craft beers at Atwater on Gore Creek, Vail Cascade's signature creek-side restaurant. Unique, innovative and inspired by culinary camaraderie, dishes come to life when perfectly paired with the creativity, passion and complexity of ingredients. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Gluten-free and vegetarian menus available.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pork dish ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and had one of their house specialties Crispy Pork Shank which is the one of the best pork dishes I have ever had. It is a multi-day marinading process that really pays off. The other nice thing is that they have simple things like sandwiches and pizza on the same menu as the elaborate and more expensive dishes. Great when traveling when some of your party want a really nice meal and other just want something simple or smaller i.e. our kids.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    80
    46
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AURORA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Passionately prepared food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Totally worth the little extra expense. Everything is wonderfully made and chef Jay really cares about the food. You must sample his spicy chutney called "Gunpowder". See my review in Yelp.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank peetieswie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Atwater on Gore Creek, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear peetieswie,
Thank you for your recent review of Atwater on Gore Creek! We agree that our culinary team, including Jay, truly care about providing a dining experience as unique and memorable as the stunning views that surround the restaurant. We appreciate your business and hope you return soon!
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We ate at Atwater 3 times and had fantastic food and service all three times. The restaurant is gorgeous and the view looking out over the pool is fantastic? Loved it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly_0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Atwater on Gore Creek, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Kimberly,
As the Managing Director of Vail Cascade, I am truly honored to read your review and share it with our team. With so many great restaurants to choose from in Vail, we appreciate that you selected Atwater and Fireside Bar - more than once! The temperatures are getting warmer, which means summer is around the corner and our patio will be welcoming guests for Vail's best al fresco dining (with a unbeatable view!). Thanks again for your review and your business. Hope to see you again soon!
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The restaurant is a little inconvenient to get to from Vail village but it is well-worth the extra effort. The food at Atwater was excellent and the service was great. The restaurant was competitively priced and of great value. I will surely be coming back soon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Atwater on Gore Creek, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear WisconsinTraveler78,
We’re pleased to hear you’ll be returning soon! We greatly appreciate your feedback and your 5-star review. We recently rolled out a new 3 for $33 promotion that highlights all the great flavors of the season – if you liked our winter menu, you’ll love this special! If you do return and if there’s anything I can do to make your next visit more memorable, please don’t hesitate to let me know.
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience All Around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful waiter named Lucas, who really took care of us! We had wonderful mocktails made at the bar, wonderful food, and great dessert. I got the Flat Iron which was grilled to absolute perfection. The sorbet for dessert was a must. We had the blueberry, raspberry, and pineapple coconut, which were amazing. We were treated like royalty and the environment was incredibly inviting and relaxing after a long day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nelson_soph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Atwater on Gore Creek, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Nelson,
Thank you for your great review of Atwater on Gore Creek, Vail Cascade’s signature creekside restaurant! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience while visiting. Recently Atwater was recognized as a ‘Top Restaurant in Vail’ by USA Today and we couldn’t be more proud of our culinary team. We hope you do return soon when your travels bring you back to Vail, Colorado.
John Garth
Managing Director
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Atwater on Gore Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing