We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“March 18-21” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
San Marcos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“March 18-21”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a wonderful time. The room was not spectacular but very nice, well appointed, and clean. We loved the proximity to the village. The ski concierge and on mountain service were wonderful. The lounge and room staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend the Four Seasons in Vail.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSVail, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear steve n,

It is a pleasure to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and would highly recommend Four Seasons, Vail to others. Our location at the entrance of Vail Village lends itself to be within walking distance to everything in the village, and I am glad to hear you enjoyed this. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Mark Herron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    115
    52
    13
    9
See reviews for
269
348
17
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed over Presidents Day weekend with a group of 9. My husband and I had a suite (Gore Suite) for everyone to gather in which was beautiful and provided plenty of space but is pricey. With the lounge and smaller suites, I think that could work just as well. Everyone loved their rooms - plenty of space, fireplaces, nicely appointed. We ate at Flame one evening and the food was fabulous - highly recommend.

Although the resort isn't ski in/ski out, the ski valet solves this by waiting at the bottom of the slopes. Perfect for skiing with kids so you're not lugging gear. The valet lockers are over the top - heat your boots - and the location and space is great.

They gave our boys, ages 10 and 12, a puzzle of the ski runs which they loved, along with chocolate iPhones, popcorn, and stuffed animals. We definitely will come back. Lovely resort, amazing service, good food, and great for ages 10 to 70!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMomOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Well, okay, so if this sounds like a "Dear John" letter, um, well it should. The best thing about this hotel is the location - dead center of Vail Village. Walking distance to everything. For those attributes I give it a 9 on a 10 scale. The rest is, well, complicated. This Four Seasons feels like a lot of other big corporate hotels I stay in on business travel. Lobby is nice, not blow your mind away awesome. Rooms are again, nice, but there's nothing terribly unique about them either (and we had a room with mountain and pool view, thanks to a manager upgrade after we complained about being given a handicapped accessible room that had no doors to the bathroom). Bathrooms are typical non-offensive granite and marble and slate. A cool standalone bathtub that unfortunately was damned near impossible to climb out of without breaking your neck. Nice shower with the typical heavy frameless glass door that looks great but never seals properly so the floor looks like a kiddy pool after a shower. Other than a couple of nice pieces of glass art in the lobby, however, this could have been a Marriott somewhere in Los Angeles for all I knew. The design is uninspired and the décor is very, very "safe" and inoffensive. And again, when I consider the serious coin we dropped on it, it just doesn't do it for me.

The only coffee shop opens at 8AM (far too late for my coffee, but they do have coffee in the lobby for early risers) and closes early, like 3PM, so now mid-afternoon snacks. The ski concierge service is, however, excellent and the ski valets hauled our boots down to their lockers near the base gondola for us. Pool is nice, good view of the mountain. Gym is small for this size facility, really inadequate in my opinion. And why do we have to go all the way back through the spa and sign in (again) just to use the bathroom while working out? Could they not add a bathroom off the gym? Lobby bar is pretty decent, they do a good job keeping your glasses full. Valet parking guys are great, handing out bottles of water like lollipops. Housekeeping is pretty good, but why did they only give us one hot water bottle for our bed when clearly there were two people sleeping in it every night?

But bottom line is that for this kind of coin I really need and expect more. For comparison, check out the Ritz at Bachelor Gulch. For the same price you get a room in a hotel with huge character, just incredible character, huge gym, great service, etc. and it is ski in/ski out. Of course, you're not in the village and have to drive there for dinner, but that's the only negative.

So, dear Four Seasons, it's not you, it's me. I'm sorry, I guess I was looking for something different and more exciting. You're not bad, you're a decent place, you're just not right for me. How about a hug?

Room Tip: Don't let them stick you with a handicapped accessible room (unless you are handicapped of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rossvesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSVail, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear rossvesq,

Thank you for staying with us and for your valuable feedback. We hope we can welcome you back one day to our resort, our staff would be happy to give you a hug upon arrival :)
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Herron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I love the Four Seasons; but not this one. The property was dirty, felt old, and the food was terrible. First I upgraded my room... Essentially a 1300 room a night and it was dirty and old looking. The bedding seemed dirty, wood was coming off furniture, etc. The Four Seasons service quality just wasn't there. The room service food quality was that of a holiday inn; worst in 10 years of staying at properties like a Four Seasons. The only reason I gave it a average rating is due to the young men that work valet and drive you. They were terrific. Also, I appreciate when my son got sick, the hotel drivers did get us to the ER. Hot tubs were cold, the pool area gross and even the water stations around the property were lacking cups and water most days. I love the Four Seasons Brand... This just live up to the brand promise.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucianaramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSVail, Director of Rooms at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Lucianaramsey,

I am sorry for your disappointing experience at our resort. As this is below our levels of service, we would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss your experience and follow up with you. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 970-477-8604.

Warm regards,

Raphael Pazzini - Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Four Seasons Vail is located just in between Vail Village and Lionshead. Close to both, but convenient to neither. They have a ski concierge closer to Gondola One, but you have to take a bus from the hotel and the drop off location is still 2 blocks away. The hotel bus stops at several locations in Vail but is always running late and usually packed with people, thus very unreliable. Staying at the four seasons Vail, you feel trapped and isolated since it is so difficult to get anywhere. The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are large and comfortable. The service was good, but the bus drivers were not polite, sometimes rude when they had an overcrowded bus. We had a fireplace in our room. Our view from the room was of a wall, but if you went out on the balcony, you could see the mountains. This hotel is NOT ski-in ski-out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAReviewer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSVail, Director of Rooms at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear atlantahost,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I'm glad you enjoyed the resort and felt our rooms are large and comfortable.

I am sorry you had a bad experience with our shuttle system and drivers, I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience further. I can be reached directly at 970-477-8604.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Four Seasons was a amazing experience for our family. On arrival they delighted us with a room upgrade in celebration of our daughters birthday and a personalized cupcake dessert with the hotels well wishes. Thanks again! Our room was so clean and spacious, we all thought it was superb. Every morning we would get up well rested to the beautiful view out our window of the mountains, then head down to The Flame's breakfast buffet. Yum. It was exceptional, there were so many options and all of them were delicious. The ski concierge made it so easy to get into our ski's and snowboards. They were right by the mountain and were so helpful with everything. The concierge had so many marvelous recommendations for restaurants and activities, we loved them all. The heated swimming pool was great treat after the mountain activities and the kids enjoyed the complementary hot chocolate and brownies wrapped in heated towels as we gathered around the outdoor fire. The games room was another great feature for the kids so us grownups could relax. The signature hot chocolate, though expensive was worth the experience. Beautifully presented and delicious all in one package! The service was impeccable, we would like to chiefly thank Matt Anderson, Adrian Barton and Crystal (sorry Crystal can't remember your last name but you made our mornings at the buffet a delight).
We immensely enjoyed our stay and would go back in a instant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
224 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The only problem with this place is adjusting back to real life after being so spoiled! The staff here are superb; so personable, helpful, friendly, patient, always going the extra mile. Similarly, the ski concierge is top notch, with snacks, an espresso machine, and best of all help on & off with ski boots (and carrying skis). The shuttle service is great. My room was huge and gorgeous, but it was being treated like royalty that really made the experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSVail, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear L H,

It gives me great pleasure to read a review such as your own and I appreciate you taking the time to write. I am glad to hear you felt like royalty during your stay! You are on vacation and deserve nothing less. I hope we have the pleasure of your company with us in Vail again soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Herron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
0.5 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail

Property: Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Address: 1 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#5 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Vail Village, Four Seasons Resort Vail presents a fresh interpretation of a grand alpine hotel. With 121 guestrooms, 19 Residence Club units and 16 Private Residences, the Resort features amazing mountain views, a signature restaurant, Flame, and full-service Spa with 13 treatment rooms. The heated pool, flanked by a fireplace, is open year-round. In winter, skiing is a breeze with the Four Seasons Ski Concierge at the base of the Vista Bahn chairlift. In summer, families discover dazzling outdoor enjoyment, with an abundance of activities including horseback riding, fly fishing, zip lining, rafting, biking and more. With the largest guestrooms in all of Vail Valley — each with a soaking tub and a stone fireplace — you may not want to leave the room! Yet the Resort is just steps away to Village nightlife, shopping, al fresco dining and the renowned Village "apres" lifestyle Vail is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Vail Hotel Vail
4 Seasons Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing