We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to be in Vail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed there before and once again Mr. Herron has great people to assist the guest and make the stay memorable. The hotel is in a great setting with a beautiful pool on the back side. The bar is hopping and a great place to watch the World Cup games

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wcarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

We visited in Vail at the end of May. Made the reservation months ago on hotel's website.
The whole process of reservation by internet is very heavy and does not give you the possibility to make changes, that forced us to call the hotel ,it was annoying due to the difference in time and also to the fact that in the reservations it seems like you talk but there is nobody home ,they did us a lot of mistakes and every mistake was ending by a credit card charge. So a lot of phone calls on our expense!
Finally arrived at the hotel ,after 20 hours of flight and the drive from Denver. The hotel was empty ,out of season.
At the reception was Annie ,she told us that we got an upgrade to a suite and continued to describe how great is the suite. Now, what do you understand from all this? That you will have to pay for the upgrade? If so, why not to say right from the beginning, pay 100 dollars more per night and you can have a suite. We were so tired and she continued to talk and talk ....It is very unpleasant all this situation, I said "yes" and when I heard about the money I said "no".
The room we were given was a little noisy and we asked to change it, that was a problem as even the hotel was empty, the rooms were clean but the supervisor had to check them....so we had to wait about 20 minutes until we were announced that we finally can go to the room.
I am not a supervisor but in a few seconds I found out that the mosquitos net was detached and almost fell on me when I opened the door. So other calls and then everyone was in our room, engineering and supervising and the front desk manager....finally the problem was solved!
In the evening we went out and when we returned ,Annie from the reception jumped on us asking more than it was necessary...Hello! I do not have to report you!
All other days we just avoided the reception area, we did not want to meet her with all her questionary!
This was a pitty, maybe that way we could hear about the fact that in the summer ,the public parking is free of charge in Vail, we discovered that only after a few days and it was great, this is not far and it is underground so no heating. That made the bell boys very angry and did not want to help us with luggage when we left hotel.
An other issue was with the pool . When we arrived, we entered the pool and the water was heated and it was perfect. End of May in Vail are not that hot, and even if they are, in the nights the temperatures drop down and the water in the pool cools . This is the reason it is necessary to heat the water. But probably the directors in the hotel decided different and this was the reason that we could not enter the pool for the other 5 days. And not only this, we complained and they kept to say is not true and then, to try it on the other day ,that everything will be fixed. This was the situation until the day we left, everybody was lying and making feel us like foolish.
Only in the last day, while checking out, someone approached and said how sorry they are and that next time they hope to see us at the SPA. What make you feel that I will come again? We spent a fortune on flights to get there and what did we have? "I am sorry" means from my point of view "suckers don't die, they just change".

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSVail, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear wlaura,

We take your feedback very seriously, and we are sorry that we failed to provide you with the service standards you should have received. Please accept my personal apology for the disappointments you experienced - I have addressed your concerns with our team.

I would be happy to personally oversee any future reservations to ensure you have a flawless stay. I can be reached at (970) 477-8602 and hope to have the opportunity to make amends for the inconveniences.

Warm Regards,

Mark Herron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I have stayed at other Four Seasons Hotels. This Four Seasons is definitely sub par compared to all the others. From the moment you walk in until you leave the worst service and food around.
The reservation was made through American Express Platinum Travel.
We were booked for 2 nights, decided to stay one. The reception staff is rude and not very accommodating.
Our first room was hot, and we asked for another room we were given a downgraded room with no view.
We arrived late and order in room dining. The menu was limited and when it did finally arrive it was horrible. Terrible presentation, not even salt and pepper.
Management was also rude. When we checked out early we asked to speak with the General Manager. We spoke with Raphael Pizzini (sp)? He did not address any of the concerns and was belligerent.
Best advice-avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bsulfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here for a wedding and it was all that one would expect from a Four Seasons. It was so lovely and the spa and pool were great places to relax. This is a super hotel.
Breakfast was ridiculously expensive. Go into town for that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The best service in town. No doubt. The location is perfect, right in Vail Village so a great selection of restaurants and shops are right out the door. The food is fantastic at the Flame. The pool quiet and relaxing. Wonderful get-away for a couple.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Of course the hotel is beautiful and the amenities are fabulous (in fact, the pillows were the best I've encountered in a hotel), but it is truly the extraordinary staff that makes the difference here. Upon checking in for a wedding weekend, Annie went out of her way to ensure our stay was above and beyond expectations. Her efforts are really what made our experience so enjoyable and ultimately memorable. When staying in a place like Vail, where all of the accommodations are so great, it is the service that takes it the experience up a notch. Annie and the Four Seasons have worked hard to ensure their hotel stands apart - kudos!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level 5 - this is actually where the lobby is and its more convenient. Rooms face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suhaymah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSVail, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Suhaymah,

What great comments! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recognize our most valuable asset - our staff. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with our team.

We hope to see you again soon,

Mark Herron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was charged $12 plus tip, tax for an orange juice should have been less than half of that! Plus was charged a day after my confirmation for the room plus a resort fee usually FS gives you a 10% discount for this payment up front ,also promised a hot chocolate on arrival after a drive in hazardous icy and snowing conditions from Denver which was nowhere to be seen. On arrival in the room opened the mini bar to find the cupboard was bare, what is the point of a mini bar when it is empty? Not the sort of thing you need after a long drive arriving at 7pm.
The steak I ordered from room service was excellent but in a modern trend it came with nothing else plus all the all too familiar add on charges including a charge to bring the meal to the room not a fan of this little number.
Room and bathroom was up to the familiar FS standard but overall could have been and should have been better, checked out 12th of May 2014
FS will retain a lot more of their more than loyal customer based if they put the client and their comforts clearly at the top of their to do list.
Plus could have had a better breakfast choice avaliable

Room Tip: find out when you will be charged
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeffDesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSVail, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear JeffDesmond,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Four Seasons Resort in Vail. We were saddened to hear that you were not completeley satisfied with the services you recieved. We strive to take all commentary we recieve and to learn and improve from it. Given the opportunity I would like to discuss your comments further
and can be reached at (970) 477-8602.

We were also pleased to see you enjoyed the steak you ordered from our In Room Dining. Our culinary team pride themselves with sourcing the best quality meats and dry aging them to perfection in-house.

Warm Regards,

Mark Herron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.5 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#7 of 31 in Vail
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail

Address: 1 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#5 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £347 - £2,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Vail Village, Four Seasons Resort Vail presents a fresh interpretation of a grand alpine hotel. With 121 guestrooms, 19 Residence Club units and 16 Private Residences, the Resort features amazing mountain views, a signature restaurant, Flame, and full-service Spa with 13 treatment rooms. The heated pool, flanked by a fireplace, is open year-round. In winter, skiing is a breeze with the Four Seasons Ski Concierge at the base of the Vista Bahn chairlift. In summer, families discover dazzling outdoor enjoyment, with an abundance of activities including horseback riding, fly fishing, zip lining, rafting, biking and more. With the largest guestrooms in all of Vail Valley — each with a soaking tub and a stone fireplace — you may not want to leave the room! Yet the Resort is just steps away to Village nightlife, shopping, al fresco dining and the renowned Village "apres" lifestyle Vail is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Vail Hotel Vail
4 Seasons Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing