We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - Service / Owner went above and beyond”
Review of Yama

Yama
Reserve with OpenTable
Yama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 122 Restaurants in Vail
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Vail Road
Denver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding - Service / Owner went above and beyond”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Not only was the sushi fantastic, but we accidentally left behind a purse and didn't realize it until the next day. When we visited just prior to opening, the owner looked around, took us to his office and checked the safe, then took our contact information to let us know if he had any updates after more staff arrived.

And what do you know, our kind waitress had it set aside, safe and sound.

A true gem, delicious sushi, and service that was above the call of duty.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DA_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    30
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Amazing Food and service.

Small, quaint, and very good food!

I would highly recommend.

It is one of our favorite restaurants in Vail!

If you like Japanese, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard06840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“If you want to go deaf eating sushi go to Yama”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Have you ever been to a restaurant where you really couldn't taste the food because it was so loud. Magnify that 100 times and you're at Yama. The bpm was so loud I couldn't tell whether they were a nightclub or a sushi restaurant. The garlic soy edemame is very good and unique. The kale salad was average and tasteless. The yellow tail entre was unique but I could't tell if it was good because the music drowned out my taste buds. The spicy tuna was average. One thing that wasn't average was the price. Yama knows how to charge. You pay for the location, the music, and I suppose the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RowerXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best fresh sashimi”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Loved sitting at the bar and watching the action, everything so fresh and tasty and service quick and efficient. Lovely atmosphere, beautifully designed restaurant, small and intimate

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Expensive sushi not worth the fuss”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We eat sushi regularly, everything from the cheap roll places to Nobu, Matsushisa etc. We were excited about trying Yama but really found it lacking. Yes the sushi is nice, the sashimi combinations are interesting. But this is a groovy place to be seen. We took our kids which probably wasn't a great start (they have eaten sashimi since they were less than 2 years old) but the waitress tried to steer us towards a cooked chicken dish for them. The meal was fine, no real complaints until we decided right at the end to indulge and ask for a hand roll. We ordered 5 salmon and avocado hand rolls, which were pretty standard fare. We were charged $14 per hand roll, or an additional $70. I think that is way over the top for what I'd describe as basic sushi.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Griswalds11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yama also viewed

 

Been to Yama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing