We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Lodge at Vail has it all. Great rooms, great service, amazing food, and spa that is top notch. The location is walking distance to Vail Village and tons of amazing shops, restaurants, and places to grab a drink. Would highly recommend and will return!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank e t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Sounds like you did it all while you were in Vail! I am happy we were able to help make it a fun getaway for you. Our spa will be continuing to do specials throughout the shoulder season, so come back ans see us again soon.

Thank you for your review!

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

My fiance and I have stayed at several hotels and condo complexes in the Vail Valley over the years. Since our 3-night stay here last weekend, this has become our all-time favorite. The hotel represents classic Vail -- it's elegant and cozy and makes you feel like you're in a European mountain lodge. It offers luxury without being pretentious. Other hotels in the area are pretty cookie-cutter and don't capture the Old World spirit of this town. From now on, we'll always stay at the Lodge to fully envelop ourselves in the Vail atmosphere.

The rooms, the grand staircase, the layout of the entire hotel makes it feel more like a mansion than a hotel.

Our room had a nice balcony and beautiful view, so time spent in the hotel room didn't feel like wasted time. I loved the wooden beams running across the ceiling in our room. Another touch that made me feel like I was somewhere special, not in just another hotel.

The location is ideal -- everything you want (shops, restaurants, ski slopes) are literally right outside your door. Even with its convenient locations, we decided to stay at the hotel for a few meals because Elways had a fantastic happy hour (the honey bourbon manhattan was delicious!) and the breakfast was really reasonably priced and tasty.

From now on, when we visit Vail we'll always book at the lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lunaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay! I am so pleased that you and your fiance enjoyed our beautiful hotel. You will have to come back and visit us this winter and enjoy the our mountain side fire pit and more of Elway's happy hour! Thank you for choosing the Lodge, we look forward to many wonderful trips to come!

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed here over the weekend and was very pleasantly surprised! The staff was friendly and courteous. However, what I really enjoyed was the room. Very spacious with very nice natural light (big windows) and a super cozy bed.

I live in Colorado and have stayed in just about every ski town around and can easily say that this is the best room I have come across yet.

Highly Recommend!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with us! It sounds like you stayed in our International wing, which is the newest wing of the hotel. Our luxury rooms are beautiful and within a stones throw to the Vail Mountain! Some of these rooms face directly to the mountain so you can watch skiers come down the hill right from your room! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge. Come again soon!

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We just got back from visiting the Vail Lodge as part of a wedding weekend. The staff was gracious and accommodating. Visiting the hotel as part of the wedding, it was clear the staff makes going out of their way an every day event. We had a great time and will gladly make this our Vail retreat going forward.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpencerGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your post! It is starting to feel like winter here in the mountains. I hope to see you for a ski retreat once the mountain opens on November 22nd! We will keep doing our snow dance in hopes of a great season!

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Lodge at Vail has long been my favorite hotel in Vail, and one of my all time favorite places. It has tremendous access to Vail Village and the ski lifts, but it still provides a quiet refuge from the hustle and bustle of tourist season. The hotel design has much more character than just a typical rectangle design.

This is why my wife and I chose it as the hotel for our wedding guests. And the Lodge did not disappoint! The service and the staff could not have been more helpful or courteous; the attention to detail was great. The rooms were spacious and clean with some of the best views of Vail Village or the mountain. All of the ladies loved their pedicures at the Spa.

All of our guests loved it and had nothing but praise for the staff and the hotel. We have not received a single negative comments from our guests which is impressive since we had plenty of guests. Of particular note were the 3-bedroom condos: full kitchen with a dish washer and plenty of space to sit and relax.

Having stayed at the Lodge a number of times and for a number of reasons, I highly recommend the Lodge at Vail for any occasion: wedding/large groups, summer getaway, ski season, or off season.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fritzschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled that we were able to help make it a special wedding weekend for you and all of your guests! We hope to see you for your anniversaries in the years to come. Congratulations!

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at The Lodge at Vail for two nights over our honeymoon and had a wonderful experience. As others have mentioned, the staff is a treasure! Everyone was so warm and welcoming. We loved Trisha who patiently showed us several rooms and allowed us to choose which we liked best. Amazing customer service and always with a smile. The room was clean and comfortable and the location was unbeatable. We got amazing recommendations from the staff with regards to hikes and restaurants and enjoyed our stay immensely. Highly recommended! I know we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for recognizing Tricia! She is an ace! I always love to read a comment that recognizes a specific person or department for going the extra mile for our guests. It gives me another great way to acknowledge and thank my team. So thank you for sharing! Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

While the location, room and amenities make this a great place to stay, it's the staff that really sets it apart. From the valet to the bellmen to the front desk and concierge, everyone was helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and fun. We were celebrating a birthday, and wanted to order pizzas and watch movies. The front desk set up a DVD player in our room, let us borrow some movies from their library and offered to pick up our pizza order for us. We spent the evening in the lovely outdoor pool and we spent the morning sipping coffee on our balcony with views of Vail Mountain. Before check out, we took a stroll around the village. We only had to take the elevator down and walk through a door and we were right in the heart of Vail. We had a great experience and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Wow! This is such a nice comment. Thank you! Our staff is absolutely what makes us stand out from other hotels in the area. The front office team is truly passionate about creating memorable experiences for all of our valued guests. Sounds like they hit the nail on the head with this one. Thank you for sharing! I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and thank them for making your stay so special.

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 31 in Vail
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Business Hotel in Vail
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Spa Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £160 - £795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vail's most iconic hotel. The Lodge at Vail is Vail's first hotel, and remains the cornerstone of Vail Village, located just steps from Gondola One. Revel in the proximity to the slopes, savor exceptional on-property dining at Cucina and Elway's. After a day on the slopes, relax in the lounge at Pool One, peruse the plethora of shopping options along Gore Creek Drive, and enjoy authentic Rocky Mountain hospitality, all at Vail's original hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing