We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All You Can Ask For In A Ski Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Just stayed at The Lodge at Vail for a four day ski vacation. From the second we got there, the staff was friendly, courteous, and attentive. They offer complimentary ski valet. The second our car pulled up to the hotel, they brought our skis to the mountain and they were waiting for us, at the slopes, the next morning. They also had complimentary storage baskets, right next to where the skis were kept, to store our things while we skiied and our ski boots, overnight. The outdoor pool and the four hot tubs got a workout from my buddy and I. They gave us a choice of complimentary newspapers, chocolates every night, and free coffee in the morning. The hotel is around the corner from the ski lift and right in the middle of Vail Village. If you can find a rate that makes you happy -- this is where you want to be. Just be careful about breakfast in the hotel ($36 for the buffet - Ouch).

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2009

For the price, you would expect 5 star service but instead you get a lot of poorly trained young college students who can't, won't and don't give any helpful information.

Everyone acted as if they were doing you a favor if they responded to your question, even if the response was to bump you off to someone else.

The rooms are really terrible. DO NOT get a room that faces the streets! The garbage and delivery trucks come thru at all hours of the night (2am-5am) and it is EXTREMELY noisy. The windows are not double glazed or insulated in any way. The hotel switched our room when we complained about the noise but then the room they switched us to was poorly maintained and the upstairs room's bathroom leaked into our kitchen.

Also, the end of hallway rooms do not get wi-fi and the staff have no clue at all how to help (as a matter of fact, they gave us the wrong login details 4 times). My husband ended up sitting in the lobby all night finishing his work because they don't have a business center either.

Two other small but annoying things - when they moved us from the noisy room to the 2nd room, the staff threw away a steak I had cooked and put in the fridge. Another annoying thing is that when the staff came to clean up the bathroom leak, 2 croissants went missing!!

They do serve champagne and hot chocolate and cider at about 4pm when the lifts close but you better run if you want to get some. Everyday we were there, the server only had 4 glasses of champagne or less and then when she ran out, she didn't get anymore. And the hot chocolate and cider burned in the dispensers and they were never refilled or watched.

Lastly, they have 2 outdoor pools - one is a big rectangular boring thing which is not heated very well. The other is a beautiful pool with waterfall that is well heated on the other side of the spa (you have to walk thru the spa to access it). Don't ask the staff where the pool is because they don't know and we used the cold pool for 2 days before we found out from another guest.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_lee_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at The Lodge 2/8/09-2/12/09. We arrived Sunday night and were given room #214. Unfortunatley this is right next to the bar where there was a loud piano playing. We were told the music goes on till Midnight. We requested a different room and got one near the pool which was much quiter. The only other negative was the plumbing. The sink faucets are a bit strange (the faucets were hard to turn on and off) and the shower broke on our last night. Aside from that it's a good hotel. The location is probably the best in Vail as there is a 2 minute walk to one of the main lifts (the Vista Bahn which services the right side of the mountain). Also the staff was the best I have ever encountered at any hotel ever. They would literally bend over backward for any request you may have. We paid $319 per night before taxes which is probably pretty good for that area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azim31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

We booked our hotel through ski.com for our three night ski trip. The hotel is in an excellent location to the mountain and restaurants. The hotel in general was disappointing. The hotel staff did not explain the amenities of the hotel, or breakfast and other restaurants located in the hotel. Within the first few hours in the hotel, we had to change rooms due to noise heard throughout the halls, and above the room (slamming doors and stomping above). The staff moved us to another room on the end of a hallway, which did decrease a bit of noise, but not entirely. The hotel is not heavily insulated and all noise is heard throughout. The hotel staff comes by the room almost every hour yelling if you need ice. You must put the "do not disturb" sign up to get any peace. The rooms are a bit out-dated with no vent in bathrooms, no fans, balcony doors that come off of hinges and broken curtain rods. Most rooms do not have fireplaces or garden tubs. Overall, we would not stay at this hotel again. Vail is an amazing resort; however, there are many other hotels to choose from.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank TexasTravelers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We just returned tonight from a three night, four day stay at the Lodge at Vail. We went as a getaway, fun, ski trip with another couple -- and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Vail and at The Lodge. Prior to going, we read many reviews on TripAdvisor about where to stay --- and had narrowed our choices down to The Lodge and The Arrabelle (our choice was not ue to price-range but rather location We had dinner the Chophouse at The Arrabelle so were able to see the hotel while we were there. While it was beautifully situated and its own little village unto intself -- we were still very happy with our hotel selection). We are glad we went with The Lodge as it was RIGHT in the heart of Vail Village which made it great to walk around -- and it was so close to the ski lift (for those that are not advid skiiers, trust me, this is HUGE! It means you don't have to walk far with your ski boots on).

We had a 2 bedroom room/condo that had a fireplace, kitchen and heated floors. It was a wonderful room, well furnished, and had a lovely view of Vail Village. The service at The Lodge was good. Whenever we needed something, the concierge were very helpful, as well as others at the hotel.

We had breakfast included in our room rate -- and if you can get this included, DO! It makes a huge difference for two reasons: 1) breakfast is $32 per perosn and 2) a great breakfast before skiing means that you don't need to stop midway thru the day for lunch. We really filled up on breakfast before hitting the slopes in the morning.

Our entire group had massages on our last day there...and would recommend the spa. It was well-appointed and we enjoyed our massages -- which were much needed after a weekend of skiing.

Overall, we had a lovely time and would recommend the hotel to others. Since the hotel is older, it does have its own unique charm. We loved the large 2 bedroom room/condo that allowed us to hang-out and keep food/drink supplies on-hand. And we appreciated the helpfulness of the staff at The Lodge.

We will certainly return.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank Tahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Lodge after a last-minute decision to go away for a nice night in the mountains. We didn't know we'd be staying there, as we made the reservation through Hotwire.

When we arrived and attempted to check in, the hotel didn’t have our reservation; it hadn’t come through from Hotwire. We printed out our reservation code, but even that didn’t pull it up. The assistant helping us talked with her manager and spent a long time trying to solve the mystery. Meanwhile we waited in the lobby, a bit like lost sheep. We weren't treated rudely, but we weren't given 4-star hospitality either.

The assistant finally said the hotel would find a way to put us up, even though our reservation was still missing. Again, she was never rude to us but, in a way, it felt like we were being shunned — like we weren’t worthy of staying there. Her body language and tone of voice communicated a reluctance to do business with us.

When we asked about parking, she told us it would be taken care of, that it was valet. Silly me, I assumed that was included in the rate. Came to find out when I got the final bill that it's $25 a day extra! I would've parked the car myself, thank you very much. It was just in the lot right out front, after all.

The assistant did sort of walk us to our room, but we didn't get any information about restaurants, hotel amenities/facilities, or other activities/attractions nearby. She didn't mention a check out time or ask if we had any questions either.

The room itself was comfortable and well-appointed, though it was small. It had all the niceties one expects when traveling, including a robe and slippers, as well as a flat-screen TV. We were even able to choose the particular newspaper we wanted delivered to us in the morning.

Later that night, however, we discovered a fair bit of noise -- mostly from guests using the hot tubs outside (we were placed next to the pool), but also from the guests upstairs. I was surprised that the rooms weren't better soundproofed.

In the end, our stay was comfortable, but it wasn't special, nor was it worth the money we paid, even considering the Hotwire rate. We've stayed in a lot of hotels, at all different levels of comfort. The biggest disappointment was the lack of service/attentiveness. Perhaps it can be attributed to the junior staff that seemed to be on duty while we were there -- I didn't see anyone in uniform who looked older than 25. Not that age is necessarily a factor, but no one seemed to have the training we expected at a hotel the caliber of the Lodge. Perhaps we were just there on an off weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ljwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We stayed at the Lodge for a 10 day skiing break over the new year. Upon arrival, we were reluctantly greeted by a member of desk staff who pointed in the vague direction of our room. There was no tour of the hotel, or information offered about breakfast & facilities. In general, the hotel is very dated, badly ventilated, and the public areas are not clean. Breakfast was a consistently shambolic disaster, with the staff unable to cope with the volume of guests. Management were noticable only by their absence, and the hotel seemed to be staffed entirely by minimum wage employees brought in for the season with little or no training.

Upon checking out we discovered we had been charged $1200 in addition to our already extremely expensive room rate, and that hundreds of $ in bar bills had been incorrectly added to our bill. Only after discussions with 4 members of staff, which took 2 hours were we able to resolve the situation.

We would not recommend this hotel at all, there are numerous alternatives in Vail Village which offer better service, a nicer environment, and at a lower cost - an opinion which we found endorsed by the many local we spoke to!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GordonDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 31 in Vail
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Business Hotel in Vail
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Spa Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £174 - £901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vail's most iconic hotel. The Lodge at Vail is Vail's first hotel, and remains the cornerstone of Vail Village, located just steps from Gondola One. Revel in the proximity to the slopes, savor exceptional on-property dining at Cucina and Elway's. After a day on the slopes, relax in the lounge at Pool One, peruse the plethora of shopping options along Gore Creek Drive, and enjoy authentic Rocky Mountain hospitality, all at Vail's original hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing