We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst of the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Guatemala
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worst of the worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I have two properties at the Doral in Miami and made the exchange with this property. the experience has been the worst. i planned this vacation well in advance and to begin we were not placed together. One group\ was at the Streamside and we were at the Birch. The room is maybe a 350 sq. ft. unit, with very old furniture, damaged and dirty, the room was a very small maybe 120 sq. ft., we placed our money and jewelry in the safe and then it didn't open. The chief engineer had o come and personally verify that it was non operable. They had to call the manufacurer to solve he problem. The gas fireplace smelled like burned plastic. the space in the kitchen is 6 ft. by 4 ft. The bathroom is so small that only one person can use it.
If you don't ask for a garage, nobody offers it. The front desk staff is no help at all. They know nothing, and their answer is allways is blame it on Interval.
I have stayed in a lot of Marriott properties and this is by far the worst. The whole building should be demolished in order to build something according to the Marriott name brand. i don't recommend and will never come again to this 1 star hotel

Room Tip: Never choose to come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank waterman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor.

First and foremost, I apologize that you had a less than enjoyable stay with us at Marriott’s StreamSide at Vail. We try to provide that Marriott service level that you have come to appreciate over the years for all of our buildings on the StreamSide property. Please feel free to contact the General Manager at 970 476-6000 if you would like to talk about it further.

Thank you again for your time and feedback.

Best regards,

Customer Care
Customer.Care@mvwc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We used "bonus" Marriott Vacation Club points for our 5 night stay. So, I considered these to be "free" nights. The points were going to expire this year.

The interior of the condo is old and seems to be a lot of the original furnishings. The TV's have been upgraded to flat screens.

Like a lot of the condo's in Vail, these are very close to I-70. Very convenient for driving around, but too noisy to keep windows open at night. There is no air conditioning or ceiling fans over the beds. They do provide portable fans but they are rather loud too.

The common areas are good --- nice indoor/outdoor pool with lap lanes. They have a fitness center. The resort is very centrally located right at the West Vail exit.

We like to hike, and we are hiking or playing golf most of the day. We use the condo mainly for breakfast and for sleeping. We were in a one bedroom condo - only 2 people. So, we had plenty of room.

We really like Vail in the summer and would stay here again. However, it is all about relative cost. If you trade your timeshare week for week at Streamside, you will probably feel slighted. The new Marriott VC point system values the property correctly. For my one week, oceanview timeshare in Maui, we could stay about 4 weeks in the summer at Streamside. About right.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I started itching about 4 days into 1 week Vacation. Upon returning home I was scratching Violently. I went to the doctor $100 visit and was diagnosed with bedbugs/scabies. They are little 8 legged creatures/parasites that get under your skin of it's host and bury it's body deep under the skin, then produce larva and the eggs hatch producing more. A very serious condition if not stopped, producing sores and scabes that itch like the devil. You have to use a pesticide cream $90+ to put all over your body from head to toe. Oh by the way the creams ingreidiants is a Nerotoxin to your brain permethrin via google www.sacbies-killer.com. has a more natural product that I also bought. I have used both it's been 1 week and still itching furiously. Scabies from the bug remain under my skin taking weeks/ months to die off and the skin to heal. What a nightmare. Furiously washing all bedsheets and clothes and towels on a daily basis with a bedbug detergent I bought online to kill the bedbugs, it's eggs and larva. If that were'nt bad enough the hotel has curb where you pull your luggage over whereby the luggage cart fell on my head. I suffered a blow to my skull that practically knocked me out and a 2' bump shortly thereafter. I'm glad I'm still alive after these two experiences at this hotel/timeshare. Plus your 4 miles from Vail, you are not in town and have to take a shuttle everywhere unless you drove. The hotel room is dated, small and only had a pullout couch and a Murphey bed, very uncomfortable I might add. Worst hotel and trip I've been on.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goingtwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vail hotels

Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Streamside consists of several buildings and, of course, Birch is one of the further ones. Nevertheless, it's probably about 2-3 min walking to Lobby and Pool area and there is plenty of parking available. It's also on the Hotel shuttle route so you get the same service as people staying in more expensive Douglass building.

The only negative is that you are outside of Vail village so you have to rely on their shuttle service to get you in and out. On the other hand, the service is very reliable and shuttles are right on time.

The room that we good was what the called a 1 bedroom villa. In reality, that's a one bedroom apartment with full kitchen and two full bathrooms. The room is spacious and has everything you'd possibly need. The version that we had - I think they had couple of configurations - had one queen (or King?) sized bed in the bedroom and two pull out sofas in the living room. There were four of us and the living room was large enough to accommodate all of us with our stuff very comfortably.

There were plenty of pillows, blankets and whatever else you'd need to make yourself comfortable at night. There is a ski locker on the ground floor which they give you free key for.

The hotel offers free WiFi to everybody but I don't think they offer any sort of breakfast.

Overall, I would highly recommend Streamside - very good value if you don't mind shuttle service to Vail village.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BorisUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

The 1 bedroom unit we had was spotless and up to date. There is a full kitchen and a gas fireplace in the living room. Our unit also had a balcony. The property is well taken care of with a nice pool and exercise room.

It is well situated and within easy walking distance of a Safeway and several excellent but moderately priced restaurants.

My only complaint is highway noise from Interstate 70 which was about 150 feet from our windows. In the summer the rooms can get warm and you need to open the windows as there is no airconditioning. However, the sound of trucks, etc. driving by is disturbing.

I imagine in the winter it is not a problem as you would probably keep the windows closed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed at the Birch building of Marriott Streamside in August and I was a little concerned after reading the previous reviews but I found that the rooms were newly furnished and updated. Flat screens in every room, kitchen and bathrooms updated and a full line up of cable channels which if you have young children can be important. It is only a few minute drive to Vail Village and in the summer it is free to park at the village. There is a shuttle but we did not use because of the free parking. There is a Safeway about 1 minute away as well as some small eateries. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renmiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

Note that this building is one of five that USED TO BE managed by Marriott. Cedar is no longer managed by Marriott and it is obviously due to the fact that they would not step up to the standards required. We needed to negotiate 75 stairs to our room (over 90 for the higher floor) with ski eq't and large bags. A catwalk from the clubhouse can save half the stairs, but you still need to cross on potential ice, through darkness at night, and open and shut difficult doors.

The rooms have not been upgraded in many many years and the mattresses were pathetic. And the bedding was absolutely intolerable. NO JOKE - BRING YOUR OWN SHEETS!

On the positive side, the personnel were very nice and helpful as possible, the new clubhouse (with fitness center and pool) are excellent, as they were shared with the Marriott buildings. The location and shuttle service to Vail were well-run (again shared services).

In all, if you are young and/or the price is right, this resort building may be fine for you. If you care about staying in a quality resort room and/or your back is not in tip-top shape, I would think twice.

  • Liked — New fitness club and shuttle service.
  • Disliked — Room upkeep, bedding.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dubious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
0.1 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Evergreen at Vail
2.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
2.8 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
2.7 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#7 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail

Property: Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
Address: 2284 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-4389
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail is the perfect Colorado retreat. Tucked neatly in Vail, Colorado, our rooms are accented by the cool breezes throughout our picturesque Vail resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Streamside Birch At Vail Hotel Vail
Marriotts Streamside Birch Vail
Marriott Vail
Marriott Vacation Club Vail
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing