We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and Dessert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 10th Vail Mountain

The 10th Vail Mountain
Reserve with OpenTable
The 10th Vail Mountain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: On Mountain, at the top of Gondola One, out of Vail Village
Transit: The free Vail in-town bus runs from Golden Peak to Vail Village to Lionshead to the Marriott. The closest stop to Gondola One, the lift accessing The 10th, is Vail Village. Proceed across the Covered Bridge and up Bridge Street to load Gondola One (lift ticket required to access Gondola One during daytime hours).
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service and Dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were walking through Mid-Vail and wanted to go up the gondola. The lady told us we can go "check out" the bar area of the 10th if we were interested. I was very impressed by the service. It was winter so we got a ride at the top to the restaurant entrance and the driver catered to my excited four year old by giving us an extra "adventure" ride.

Once inside, we went to the bar area which is more of a comfortable lounge area and we actually ended up ordering desserts (we had eaten dinner less than an hour before going up). They were pricy but very delicious. The biggest problem we had was getting a dessert for my son who has a nut allergy. He ended up eating just a serving of ice cream (and it wasn't cheap).

It was definitely a nice experience and I would definitely recommend it to someone who wants to splurge a little.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DubluZero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    56
    30
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch at Vail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I skied Vail this weekend and made reservations to try this restaurant for lunch. We shared the lamb chili and the Cobb salad both of which were amazing. Also as a bonus they serve Starbucks coffee which I love! Service was great and fast as well. The boot room was very nice they had places to put all your gear and even slippers to wear if you wanted a break from your ski boots! Bathrooms were very fancy as well, they had mouthwash, blow dryers, you name it! Very luxury lunch experience I would go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Booooooooo - worst meal of annual ski trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Save yourself the disappointment and $$$ - ride the Gondola up, get right back on and head to Sweet Basil or Matsuhisa. Truly, you'd be happier if you ordered Gondola Pizza and spent the rest of your dough on a spa appointment or pair of boots.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
282 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, mediocre meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We ate here with high expectations. Visiting relatives who live nearby, we decided to start our vacation with a bang. It's a gorgeous gondola ride to the top of the mountain, the atmosphere is stunning and the menu looked terrific. Unfortunately that was as good as it got. I had halibut that was dry and tasteless. My cousin had duck that was mediocre and salads were small and unimpressive. The food was hugely over priced. I guess you are paying for the view because all four of us said "never again".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great lunch break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a party of 9 for lunch at 12:15. Excellent food, service and loved taking my ski boots off for lunch. Was an excellent spot to stop for lunch without the crush of people in food lines at two elk.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The 10th Vail Mountain also viewed

 

Been to The 10th Vail Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing