We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect romantic honeymoon”
Review of Austria Haus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Haus Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We were there last December over Xmas for our honeymoon... had a wonderful time despite the fact the airline lost our lugagge... very helpful staff... delicious breakfast!

can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed at Austria Haus for a short ski trip get-a-way. The rooms are exceptionally clean and large, the bed was super comfortable, the bathrooms very nice - not cramped at all. The breakfast was fantastic - not sure what the other reviewer meant by "nothing hot" as they had oatmeal & make-your-own waffles every day, sausage and eggs one day and bacon and omelets the next. The breakfast does have a European feel to it; cheeses, lean meats, bread, jams, and fresh fruit.

It's a short walk to the Vista Bahn lift - but if you're like us, we preferred to not make that walk with ski boots, so we grabbed a basket in the ski rental place that was next to the lift and did the walk in tennis shoes. Vail Village has many different restaurants - we were on a budget, so we at at the Red Lion, but there were plenty of very nice restaurants nearby.

The folks working at the hotel went out of their way to be friendly and helpful even though we were visiting courtesy of a groupon and could probably never afford to stay there otherwise. We felt like - at all times - that we were the most important guest they had. Just a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlandhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Austria Haus Hotel is blessed with a great location - a short walk into Vail village, and on the local bus route (though it's close enough to the adjascent village to walk).

Make sure you are not booked into a room ending with '18', as we were in room 318, which gifted us with elevator chimes at all hours on the one side, and a church bell every hour from the outside. If you're a heavy sleeper then you'll no doubt be fine.

My biggest criticism is with their internet speed. Skype call quality was too poor and variable. Upon arrival the wireless connection from our room was 80-90%, every day after it was around 50%. The young guys on the front desk were clueless about most things, incl the wireless internet and were most especially very poor on listening skills. The connection would drop while being online, while my pc showed it was still connected to their internal internet. Their restarting their modem didn't help matters. If ever my pc was left alone for a few hours, their router would not accept my connection without requiring me to reboot. The front desk said that their net person made some changes recently, so this has me thinking that they have ongoing internet problems that they haven't yet resolved.

Breakfast was below par considering the price. Nothing warm. Only eggs option was hard boiled and cold - as if they were boiled the night before and stored in the fridge. Only 2 breakfast cerial options were available, neither of them healthy. Austrian hotels normally offer quality muesli at the very least. Thankfully a fruit salad was available, as was oats and raisins. For $344 plus taxes, I expected better.

Outside heated pool was a little too cold to stay in for long , but the adjoining spa was warm. My partner made use of hotel's adjoining suits spa facilities incl spray tan and hot rock massage - which are paid for separately.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calumc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Stayed here for a 4-night ski getaway with the wife. Hotel is nicely located near the middle of vail village and I thought it would be far enough away from the center of town to be quiet at night; however, our room was close to the free bus depot, so we experienced a lot of noise late into the evening (3:00 a.m.) from the drunken revelers downstairs. Maybe this was an anomaly (it was Spring Break), but for $500+ a night, I was expecting more peaceful sleeping conditions. Probably should have asked for a quieter room, but didn't want to hassle with moving for just a 4-day stay.

Room is nice with lots of windows and fairly spacious (had the Larkspur - room #509) and the heated floors in the bathroom were a nice plus. Bed was a little soft for my tastes.

A decent breakfast is served downstairs each morning. There is a bar there as well, but it doesn't seem to be used (which is odd for a "full service hotel" such as this).

Staff is young and some of them are friendly while others are a little aloof.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie-Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Fireplace in room. Deep bathtub. Refrigerator not stuffed with minibar crap. Ski check on the mountain. Great breakfast (peanut butter on English muffin and half a grapefruit for me, cold cuts and cheese with eggs sandwich for my husband). Valet parking included. Nice hot tub. All in all, a perfect stay. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabyBee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We just returned from a week's stay at the Austria Haus and highly recommend it. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, and the hotel is small and feels very European. It is in a perfect location - right in the heart of Vail Village, so though it doesn't have a restraurant, there are great places to eat within a block. Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a Larkspur room - spacious and very comfortable. Nice bed, great bathroom. Austria Haus offers a great breakfast every morning, and there is a general feeling of conviviality. The hotel has a small pool and a nice, clean outdoor hottub. My only recommendation would be that Austria Haus include passes to their sister hotel's health club in their rates - there is a tiny exercise room at the hotel, though. Overall, though, we had a wonderful stay and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Travelling from Norway to experience Vail, Austria Haus was a great place to stay. Very good location and a fantastic staff !! I travel more than 100 nights a year and have learned to appreciate the good serice and well run hotel in all its details. Very nice rooms with heated bathroom floors !! NIce and heathly breakfast selections.
Definately coming back . Highly recommended !

Jon & Sigurd

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JON1961190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Haus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Haus Hotel

Address: 242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#8 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £184 - £743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austria Haus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Vail's premier boutique hotel in the heart of Vail Village. Inspired by the authentic, family-run ski chalets of the Austrian Alps, the Austria Haus Hotel exhibits warmth and hospitality with a touch of alpine class. After a day on the mountain, relax in the heated pool or Stroll up Meadow Lane and enjoy the essence of Vail Village-Bridge Street and the covered bridge, bowling, movies and events at the Solaris, Vail Farmer's Market, shopping, dining and galleries galore. This exquisite 25-room boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of modern amenities, the ideal location and exceptional guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Austria Haus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Haus Vail
Hotel Austria Haus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing