We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel”
Review of Austria Haus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Austria Haus Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed one night with my 2 teenage children...took a short trip to Vail while visiting Boulder. We were delighted with the Austria Haus. The room we stayed in had 2 double beds as we requested. It wasn't anything fancy, but we got every bit of what we paid for. The staff is congenial, friendly, eager to assist, and very helpful. The place has a lot of character and old world charm. It's by no means the glitziest place in Vail, but we would go back in a heartbeat. We didn't really have enough time to lounge around because our trip was so short, but there is a very lovely pool and hot tub surrounded by beauty. You feel like you're someplace special. Maybe all the places in Vail are like this, but I wouldn't stay anyplace else.. Austria Haus is a find! To boot, the bus stop that takes you up and down the town (about a 15/20 minute walk) is just outside the front door. As others have mentioned, the breakfast is fantastic...you'll feel like you're in Europe. You can't go wrong...especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LASC608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    54
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
85
173
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My good friend and I celebrated a milestone birthday year by going to Vail CO. We started out at The Lodge at Vail. It lacked air conditioning on a hot July weekend and to be honest genuine customer service- with the exception of an excellent employee who helped with luggage, I couldn't really say that the Lodge earned any nos from me. We were shifted to a sister hotel, Austria Haus, a slightly above average " boutique hotel " the day time staff, excellent- from front desk manager to bellman. Their attitude alone worth huge kudos. Cannot say the same of the nighttime shift-they seem to need a refresher course. The rooms were decent, complimentary breakfast was nice. I would recommend this hotel as it was centrally located to walk about the Vail Village. The rooms had lovely overhead fans in addition to some a rather weak air conditioning unit

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimchi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We just got back from spending 3 nights in a Lupine room at Austria Haus. The room was spacious and quiet. Our room overlooked the front entrance of the hotel so we were a bit worried about noise but there was none! Not even from the hallway or upstairs. The bathroom was nice and big with a heated marble floor! The free breakfast was great as well. There was a nice selection of cereal, granola, cold cuts, cheeses, bagels, yogurt and make your own waffles. This was such a good option to have since eating out in Vail is so pricey. The hot tub and pool overlook the Gore Creek. Our only complaint was that on Saturday night we wanted to use the hot tub but there was a large group of young adults already in there with their beers and did not appear to be leaving any time soon. So, maybe the hot tub could be bigger or they could add another one. You have to use valet parking but it is free so that is really a nice touch as well. There is a great farmers market on Sunday morning right across from the hotel entrance. Everything in Vail and Lionshead is just a short walk away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FP54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very good location in the village, very nice staff and friendly, older rooms could use an update but comfortable, nice sized bathrooms, large safe with room for iPads. Location is great and you can walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Summertime, ask for room with air conditioning as it gets warm during the day and early evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel back in 2010 on our anniversary trip. They upgraded us to a larger room, and since then, they have never stopped amazing us. We enjoyed our trip so much, we went back again in 2011. We have now again booked this year (2012), and cannot wait to go.

You can tell this hotel is managed very well, since every employee goes out of their way to ensure your stay is the best that it can be. The breakfast is amazing, the Monday night social is great, and the location is also great.

Definitely a place to go and just relax!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Incredible location and super friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were spotless clean and very comfortable. The beds and bathrooms are comfy and we had wi-fi and breakfast was included. We would definitely stay here every time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at Austria House for 6 Nights, and for what it is, it's not bad at all,excellent Location. The rooms are cosy, clean and spaciouis and the Interior is nice and gives you a Mountain feeling.However the Staff can give you the feeling they bit to laid back but with a bit of a push they do what you ask for. The downside is really that the Hotel dosn't have a Spa, Sauna or Steamroom but they offer you can go to Vail-Lodge (5Min Walk) and you can use the facilitys there but still it's not as nice as in your own Hotel. Further the Breakie is not bad however a choice off Eggs in the morning would be a nice plus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donphilipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Haus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Haus Hotel

Property: Austria Haus Hotel
Address: 242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#8 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austria Haus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Vail's premier boutique hotel in the heart of Vail Village. Inspired by the authentic, family-run ski chalets of the Austrian Alps, the Austria Haus Hotel exhibits warmth and hospitality with a touch of alpine class. After a day on the mountain, relax in the heated pool or Stroll up Meadow Lane and enjoy the essence of Vail Village-Bridge Street and the covered bridge, bowling, movies and events at the Solaris, Vail Farmer's Market, shopping, dining and galleries galore. This exquisite 25-room boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of modern amenities, the ideal location and exceptional guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Haus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Haus Vail
Hotel Austria Haus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing