We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable property but just ok service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Austria Haus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Austria Haus Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable property but just ok service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

If you like smaller, more boutique type properties, then you will probably like Austria Haus. I agree with the other reviewers in terms of the comfort and size of the guest rooms and the great location of the property. Loved walking around Vail Village. However, their rooms are noisy if you face the front of the property as when the bars close down at night, you can hear all the revelers down on the street/sidewalk. As well, I did not feel their guest service was as great as some others have indicated. My husband and I booked a Columbine room (which had to be pre-paid due to peak season) a month before we arrived. However, when we checked into the property, the front desk clerk originally tried to check us into a Lupine room, which was much less expensive than the one we had pre-paid. Then, he asked if we would like an upgrade to a suite (as the hotel was very empty that week-end), but instead of offering it to us on a complimentary basis, he wanted us to pay even more for this "privilege". We travel a lot both for business and pleasure and frequently are upgraded to nicer rooms when we check into hotels, but never for an additional fee. Typically a high quality hotel will do that to engender greater guest loyalty and strong word-of-mouth. It seems that the Austria Haus was simply trying to make more money on a light week-end instead of offering superior guest service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dls515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    53
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
84
169
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

I loved it! Perfect location, great staff (Jared, Mike, and Grant). The room was comfortable with an excellent view, parking was included, great breakfast, and we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub too!

We will for sure be back. Note, the gym is small so use the sister property gym.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I arrived in Vail late Saturday afternoon and the guys at reception (Jared and Dave) were great. Arranged a competitive walk in rate and I was in the room within 10 minutes.
The room was large, well fitted with an extremely comfortable king size bed.
Location is excellent in the middle of Vail Village.
Snow fell on Sunday ....
All in all a great short stop in Vail.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Austria Haus exceeded our expectations. The rooms are cozy (request one with a fireplace) & very nice with good service. The hotel is beautiful & in a great location. The breakfast was delicious. We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berit02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Very nice hotel with a friendly staff. This Hotel has an excellent location it is situated at the edge of Vail Village, and is in walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The room was a decent size and was a unique and cute set up. The bed was very comfy and we had a relaxing nights sleep. Food on the property was not really an option. We wanted a late night snack but there were no food vending machines on the property we had to walk across the street to the bus station to get snacks. Breakfast was not very good everything was left out at room temperature including hard boiled eggs so we decided to have some toast and get an early lunch in the villiage. We will definitely be back, but with snacks. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the village not only will you have a great view of the vail slopes but also th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runninonemt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We recently stayed the night at the Austria Haus, a quick trip to see the leaves changing. Upon arrival, they checked us in early and upgraded our room. The room was small, but comfortable with a nice sitting area and great bathroom with a fantastic soaking tub. Included in our stay was the valet parking and breakfast. Everyone working here was helpful and friendly. The breakfast had a pretty large selection of food, the smoked salmon was delicious. The location was great, it is steps from the covered bridge to Vail Village. The only downside during our stay was that the hot tub was closed for repair.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinandBobinCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My brother and I visited Vail recently and had a lovely stay at Austria Haus. Everyone was just exceptionally professional, helpful, friendly, etc., etc. The room with two queen beds was just beautiful, clean, breakfast was beautifully set and yummy, very close to everything Vail, and very comfortable. I look forward to my next get-a-way to Vail and plan on staying at Austria Haus.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kledgerWestminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Haus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Haus Hotel

Property: Austria Haus Hotel
Address: 242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#8 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austria Haus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Vail's premier boutique hotel in the heart of Vail Village. Inspired by the authentic, family-run ski chalets of the Austrian Alps, Austria Haus exhibits warmth and hospitality with a touch of alpine class. This exquisite 25-room boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of modern amenities, the ideal location and exceptional guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Austria Haus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Haus Vail
Hotel Austria Haus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing