We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reat Hotel!”
Review of Austria Haus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Haus Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Vail
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“reat Hotel!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel is amazingly well located, very clean (with the exception of a few spots on the carpet), and staffed by true professionals who make every effort to make one's stay the best possible. The included breakfast was outstanding. Overall, definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyb935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for the excellent review, we really appreciate you acknowledging our professionalism and bringing the spots on the carpet to our attention. Regarding the carpet our housekeeping staff is now aware of the issue and is thoroughly inspecting each room and hiring a professionals to clean the problematic spots. We hope the next time you're planning a trip to the Vail area you arrange you accommodations with us here at the Austria Haus.
Thank you,
Oliver Segall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    55
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
88
177
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I usually stay in one of the larger Hotels in Vail which have become pretty impersonal.This time we decided to try a more Boutique style hotel and we're extremely glad that we did. From the second that we walked through the front door we were greeted by the resident Manager Oliver who immediately made you feel as if you had been going there for years. We felt like we were one of their best customers. His professional staff, especially Jack the valet brought you back in time when the customer was a priority not a number.This Old world service, courtesy and politeness continued throughout our stay and certainly didn't fizzle out at any time.The rooms which have that European charm are extremely well maintained by their professional staff. For those that are interested the free European style breakfast served every morning is included and is excellent. Hot coffee and fruit are always available and several newspapers are stacked in the lobby and are available for free.The only food item that is missing is Hot Chocolate and warm cookies which should be served Apres Ski.The location is one of the best with access to the Town of Vail bus right outside the front of the hotel. On top of all that, the gondola is just a short walk from the Hotel. What a location!!! What a Find!!! We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Upon request we have complimentary fresh hot cocoa available at all times. Unfortunately we do not have cookies at this time, however that is a excellent idea and I will be sure bring the suggestion to the discussion table. All of us at the Austria Haus strive to go above and beyond to accommodate our guest, with that said we were extremely happy to read this review again Thank you.
Oliver Segall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights last minute for snow boarding trip. Booked through 3rd party website and the price was excellent. Room was very clean, decor in hotel was pleasant. Complimentary breakfast and wine reception on Monday evening was very nice. Hotel is located right in the village for restaurants and shopping and the gondola is about 3 minutes away. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Did not use pool or hot tub. Hot tub did not look very big but hotel does not have a lot of rooms. It is not a 5 star hotel but it is not $1,000 plus a night. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. All of us here at the Austria Haus encourage our guest to part take in the meet and greet reception that takes place every Monday evening. We were excited to see that you took part and intermingled with the condo owner and other guest, we feel like it’s a great way to share everyone’s excitement and experiences from an amazing day on the mountain. Again thank you for the kind words and please come back and visit.
Thank you,
Oliver Segall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have stayed at the Austria Haus in the past and enjoyed it very much. It is a little boutique hotel with a wonderful European style breakfast, but no dining otherwise. It is an important point, just to know. The staff was very accommodating. I was there during a huge snowstorm and left in a fairly crazy rush, leaving my skis in storage there. They were very helpful in holding them until I return (next weekend) and can pick them up.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
From all of us here at the Austria Haus, thank you for the Kind words. We really appreciate any feedback especially when there are as nice as yours. Due to all the snow that was a variable to you leaving your skis, the mountain is skiing great. So we encourage you to make it back up to enjoy some of the great snow.
Thank you,
Oliver Segall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Ive been coming to Vail for a long time and I decided to try a new hotel. Somehow landed on this gem on my last night in town after my other hotel booked my room on my last night. Wish I would have stayed here the whole timee, not just the last night. Location was perfect and the staff was absolutely amazing. Rooms were lovely, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliedeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
I'm extremely happy to hear that you stumbled upon us and we did not disappoint. I hope next time you consider staying with us for future visits to Vail and if there is anything we can do to make you stay more enjoyable do not hesitate to contact us before your trip.
Thank you,
Oliver Segall
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a small hotel in an excellent location at the center of town. The small size allows for rapid check-in and check-out with minimal waiting and walking. The staff are friendly, very competent and extremely eager to make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms are charming and well maintained. Beds and bedding are extremely comfortable. Many rooms have fireplaces. Free breakfast every morning is included and is excellent. Free wifi is available as well as two computers available for public use. Outdoor heated pool and whirlpool are available. Hot coffee and fruit are always available and several newspapers are always stacked in the lobby and available for free. Location is fantastic with access to free Town of Vail bus right outside the front of the hotel. The gondola is a short three minute walk from the hotel and you can drop off your skis or board with the ski valet next to the gondola, for free, compliments of the hotel, so no carrying your equipment back and forth to the hotel.

Room Tip: Every room in this hotel is a great choice. Try to stay away from the elevators if possible. They ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. All of us at the here at the Austria Haus try to go above and beyond to ensure that all of our guest have an exceptional stay. Next time you are planning a trip to the Vail are please keep us in mind and feel free to contact us so that we can take note of any special request to make you stay even more enjoyable.
Oliver Segall
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were only in Vail for one night and found this little place to be a deal. The rooms were very small, but each seemed to have their own charm.

The only compaints: Our room was the first one off of the main lobby/corridor, so we heard everyone going in and out. And, we were leaving early in the morning to go white water rafting and zip-lining and were happy to have stayed somewhere with breakfast included. Unfortunately, breakfast was not ready when we were leaving at 8. The woman that set everything up for breakfast saw us looking in the dining hall door though and took us in, made us coffee and gave us a selection of the bagels that would be put out. Definitely can't say that they are anything but accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Breakfast does start at seven and goes to ten on the weekdays and eleven on the weekends. Regarding your issue with breakfast not being ready at eight o'clock I will be sure to notify the proper individual to insure this does not happen again. Please feel free to call our reservations department or the Hotel directly when it comes to booking your next visit so that we may be sure to make your stay as comfortable as possible and away from the elevators.
Warm regard,
Oliver Segall
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Haus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Haus Hotel

Property: Austria Haus Hotel
Address: 242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#8 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austria Haus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Vail's premier boutique hotel in the heart of Vail Village. Inspired by the authentic, family-run ski chalets of the Austrian Alps, the Austria Haus Hotel exhibits warmth and hospitality with a touch of alpine class. After a day on the mountain, relax in the heated pool or Stroll up Meadow Lane and enjoy the essence of Vail Village-Bridge Street and the covered bridge, bowling, movies and events at the Solaris, Vail Farmer's Market, shopping, dining and galleries galore. This exquisite 25-room boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of modern amenities, the ideal location and exceptional guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Austria Haus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Haus Vail
Hotel Austria Haus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing