We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Austria Haus hotel in Vail Village”
Review of Austria Haus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Austria Haus Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We had a very pleasant stay at the Austria Haus Hotel. Our 2 double bed room was wide, stylish, comfortable, ultra quiet, fitted with a flat screen TV, a DVD player, a little fridge, warmed marbles floor in the bathroom, and a great gas-fireplace providing elegance and heat!
The staff is very friendly and dedicated to the customers and answered every request.
The continental breakfast, served as a buffet in the living room, was good also, you could make your own waffles every day.
I truly recommend this nice hotel, which last but not least, is located in the pretty Vail Village.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jeanpierre66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2008

There is a room price and then a $30 resort fee so I wouldn't say the parking or breakfast are free! The resort fee is per night. We stayed one night to break up the ride from Denver to Ouray. The room was small and dark. The french doors to the very, very, tiny balcony needed to be washed. The wicker funiture, which was odd for a "austrian" theme, was beat up. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very nice for a continental breakfast, lots of fresh fruit and cold cuts plus you could get a waffle made. The front desk staff were friendly but very young, there didn't seem to be anyone in charge. As usual in Colorado resort areas the staff were mostly foreign students. You can't beat the location for walking around Vail Village.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicolediane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

We stayed one night at this hotel towards the end of our holiday. The location in Vail is excellent and the valet park your car. Everywhere in Vail is walkable and so it is not needed. The room we were given was nice, but quite small and a bit on the dark side. The coffee machine was hidden in the wardrobe because there was nowhere else to put it! On the plus side we had a nice balcony and the bathroom was good. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was better than average, although not fabulous. Small gripes given the great rate that we managed to get.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It was fantastic! The hotel has an old world charm to it. I was skeptical because of some reviews I had read, however, I am glad I didn't listen to them. The hotel was beautiful! The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even offered some great advise on places to have dinner, nightlife, and day activities. They served a great continental breakfast that was perfect before a day of skiing. They also hand out daily snow reports so you know which areas are closed. Our room was gorgeous! The views were priceless. All in all, we have found our new yearly retreat. We are already planning our next trip there next March.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lousea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

We stayed at the Austria Haus Hotel the week before MLK weekend. The Austria Haus is a hotel and ownership property all in the same building. We stayed in the hotel "side".

The hotel is very nice, located within Vail Village - just steps to the covered bridge. Its right near the transportation center with Pazzo's Pizza (very good), and ice cream shop and Starbucks steps away. The closet lift is the Vista Bahn and its about a 3 minute walk up hill through the village to get to the slopes. At least when you are tired at the end of the day it is downhill! We walked in our ski boots each day (stored skis w/ rentskis.com) and had no problem - it was neat to be able to look into stores/grab a (warm!) drink on the way back to the hotel.

The hotel itself is very nice with several fireplaces in the lobby, an outdoor pool & hot tub, two public computers w/ internet, a gym and small bar. The room was very nice with a desk, chair ottoman and great modern bath with heated floors!

For breakfast, every morning from 7-11am they serve breakfast of meats, cheeses, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, breads, pastries, waffle station, juices, coffee, etc.. One morning they had an omelette station which was very yummy. We thought we were going to go out some mornings - but we ate at the hotel every morning and were very satisfied. This was included in our cost for the room - but we were thrown off by a lady coming around with what looks like a bill. This is just for gratuity and you do not have to pay for the breakfasts - its only if you want to leave a tip for them getting you a specialty coffee, etc..

The staff at the hotel staff is very nice and helpful - I'm surprised at some of the other reviews. They recommended restaurants and were helpful with everything we needed. Our room heat wasn't warming very fast and three engineers were up fast to help us fix it. Very quick and great!

I would def. recommend this hotel and would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ltbluek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

Wow, what a poor excuse for a hotel. The room was outdated and the the phone, the humidifier, and the shower did not work. What few employees they had seemed to hate their jobs, and appeared used to the complaints. I would suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Planetguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2007

We went to Vail for a quick weekend of shopping and the Austria Haus was a great, central place to stay within walking distance of everything.

The hotel staff was courteous and accomodating. Vail has some fantastic choices for dining, and all three of the hotel staff at the front desk were extremely helpful in our decision process.

The hotel had a great Old World charm, as did Vail overall, and the breakfast buffet was FANTASTIC! Nothing like a fresh Belgian waffle to get your day started off right!

We didn't think to bring our swimsuits in November, but there was a nice pool deck facing the slopes, just outside a large study/library room with a fireplace, board games and comfy leather chairs.

We stayed in room 411 (the hotel only has 25 rooms), which is one of the regular rooms facing the slopes, versuses the large suites that face the highway. The room was still large and very nice. Check out my photos.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone headed to Vail!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SchultzDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Haus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Haus Hotel

Address: 242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#8 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: £187 - £739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austria Haus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Vail's premier boutique hotel in the heart of Vail Village. Inspired by the authentic, family-run ski chalets of the Austrian Alps, the Austria Haus Hotel exhibits warmth and hospitality with a touch of alpine class. After a day on the mountain, relax in the heated pool or Stroll up Meadow Lane and enjoy the essence of Vail Village-Bridge Street and the covered bridge, bowling, movies and events at the Solaris, Vail Farmer's Market, shopping, dining and galleries galore. This exquisite 25-room boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of modern amenities, the ideal location and exceptional guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Austria Haus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Haus Vail
Hotel Austria Haus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing