We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a stretch to call it a resort...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eagle Point Resort
Ranked #19 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit of a stretch to call it a resort...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Eagle Point is a clean and perfunctory motel-style complex with larger (2br, 2bath, kitchen) accommodation. It has a shared user pays laundry and a pool, and is located near the highway which makes the bedrooms noisy if the windows are left open at night - which you want to do in summer as there is no aircon. There is a bike/walking trail along the river and a nice playground about a ten minute walk away, but you need to drive most places. Overall we were disappointed, although as it was relatively cheap for Vail we probably should have expected it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chakriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    49
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
46
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

As an older couple, we were looking for somewhere to cook a simple supper after a day (and lunch) out. And of course, we appreciate clean comfortable accommodations. We found everything we were looking for at Eagle Point. The pool looked nice too, but it was too cool for swimming, in my view, not shared by the children in residence. There was no raucous behavior after dark, as the families seemed to be enjoying the free videos and games, as well as getting tired on excursions during the daytime. Overall, it was perfect for us and we hope to return next year.

Room Tip: The third floor can be warm in this un-air-conditioned property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Washington State
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

While the exterior of this property does not live up to the on-line pictures (it is a painted, cement block structure), the unit we stayed in was quite adequate and a good value for the area. Comfortable furnishings. Nicely appointed. A well-stocked kitchen. One hint: The units have no air conditioning. We arrived on a very warm weekend and it proved difficult to keep the unit comfortable during the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Double0Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family, my brother's family, and parents for a week. We appreciated all the free extras, ie, free lunch one day, free wine & cheese & veggies one day, free transportation to Vail Pass bike trail one day, free use of Xbox and games and movies, use of grills. Everything was clean, staff were helpful and friendly, rooms had been updated.
Rooms don't have AC, but we didn't miss it much. Temperatures outside weren't much more than 70, and it cooled off substantially at night.
There isn't an elevator, but we are capable of climbing a few stairs. We weren't looking to be pampered at every step. Vail is a place full of physically fit people, and we didn't miss the elevator.
Also, it is a few minutes away from the very busy downtown Vail area. We appreciated being a little away from the noise and activity.
It is only a minute to the excellent bike path that runs through the area, and a nice park is very close, very convenient if you have kids. Our children loved the swimming pool, and we appreciated the laundry facilities as well.
Is it a 5 star resort? No, but it isn't priced like a 5 star resort either. We had a great week there, and do recommend it to those who don't have to have elevators or AC. First floor rooms wouldn't be a problem for those who don't want to climb stairs. We liked the scenery from our third floor rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manitoulin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week in July, and we both decided that we would not stay here on our next trip to Vail. While The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very warm and as they advertise, there is no AC. It was very uncomfortable. The unit is clean but nothing special. The lobby is very small and not a place to hang out. It might be a different experience for winter visitors, but we won't return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mapquest1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for a week in June. We do not own a timeshare here. The resort is not fancy by any means, this is not the Four Seasons but we did have a great stay here. The rooms have been updated with granite in the kitchen and bath. there was relatively new carpet. The rooms are very basic, living area with table, decent sized kitchen (fully stocking with anything you would need for cooking, blending ect.) the bedroom was decent sized with a comfortable king bed. The rooms were very clean. The staff were very helpful and were always asking if we needed more towels (maybe because our child lived in the pool). There were multiple gas grills available to use, a free DVD & game rental and even a free cookout one day. There is no AC in the building but we quickly learned you don't need it . The room came with 2 small fans that moved the cool air in, in the daytime. The location was great. The resort is a short walk away from the bike path (which will take you to Vail Village, Lionshead, ect.) also a short walk to a great playground and beautiful walking trails. I would recommend asking to not be placed in one of the dark corner rooms in the back. We were put there first but were able to move to another room. I would recommend this hotel for a causal family trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richgerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our extended family of 6 adults and 5 kids (ages 8-12) spent a week at the Eagle Point Resort. We had a great time and found it to be a very family friendly place. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and the resort offered many free "little" things: DVDs, Xbox games, free shuttle to the top of Vail Mountain with our bikes, free lunch on Monday, free bike locks to borrow, and more. We found that we got a significant discount on the major activities we wanted to do because we were EP guests. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. We especially liked that it out of town a bit and not in the middle of the crowds, yet close enough to get to local attractions quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#23 of 31 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
6.5 mi away
Falcon Point
Falcon Point
#2 of 12 in Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Simba Run Vail Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vail Run Resort
Vail Run Resort
#15 of 38 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fallridge at Vail
Fallridge at Vail
#27 of 38 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
6.1 mi away
Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Point Resort

Property: Eagle Point Resort
Address: 1500 Matterhorn Cir, Vail, CO 81657-4354
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle Point Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Eagle Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Point Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing