We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and dark”
Review of Eagle Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eagle Point Resort
Ranked #19 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Reviewed 2 July 2014

They tried there best but not good enough trying to renovate an old old motel which we found out was a former residence for 'staff' working in the area.

The first room we had actually looked out at a wall. You thought you were in prison. Yes the space is big but dark brown everywhere. It was clean and the beds fine. Thank heavens school had started because the place would have been more over-run with kids then it was. Very small pool and hot tub which every room (not behind a wall) looked over. There are NO other view - OH YES - did I mention the wall and I think there were some rooms looking over the parking lot. If there were NO cars you saw trees..YAYA better than the wall right!

Definitely NOT for LOVERS unless you kept the brown drapes closed.....because everyone walks right by and looks into your living room....super!

Very surprised that Interval World would have such a property for 'exchange.'

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not facing a wall and your on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Duckmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here during "mud season" - the time between skiing and summer and enjoyed our stay. Most of Vail was empty/closed at this time of year, but it made for a quiet and peaceful stay.

The condo was as pictured. Very clean and well equipped. There were tons of towels and the toiletries were of a generous size. It was very roomy and had a decent sized bathroom with a long counter space and lots of storage. Our unit didn't have a fantastic view from it, but we were near the outdoor hottub and close to the office. Walking down the balcony toward the front stairs got us a nice mountainside view - wish we would have gotten one of the units further down the walkway! We enjoyed the access to free newspapers, movies, and games from the lobby. The 2 TV's, Xbox, and Dvd player were all nice to have on the yucky weather days. We used the outdoor grill and patio tables/chairs on the nice days. Didn't use the pool because it was a bit chilly, but made use of both the indoor and outdoor hot tubs during our stay. There was a sauna too, but we didn't try that out either. The coin laundry was really clean and nicely maintained. The lobby had a nice sitting area with fireplace - coffee, tea, and hot cocoa available all day - and a public use computer available.

The staff was doing a ton of spring cleaning and maintenance work while we were there and seemed to be very thorough. Everyone was friendly and the desk staff was especially nice. We got a midweek towel service. Since this was a timeshare exchange we didn't expect any maid service at all, so that was a nice touch to have them change out the towels.

Vail is a nice place to visit. We walked along the river and around the village shops and did some driving down the valley to nearby towns. During May, most restaurants and many shops are closed so be prepared to do your own cooking if you come then. The two grocery stores in town were close and Walmart is down the valley about a 10 minutes drive. A huge Costco is about a half-hour away too.

Our only criticism is that the parking was tight. It would be really hard to get in and out of a larger vehicle if the lot was full, especially if you were trying to unload ski gear and luggage. The other thing lacking was outdoor ski lockers - there was a rack in the entry way of the condo - but I could picture my teenaged kiddos making a huge mess with wet boots and gear! Also the shuttle stop was a good ways down the street - maybe 2 blocks - and would be a bit of a walk for little ones after a busy ski day! (Parking is free in Vail garages off season so we didn't use the bus - in winter parking is $25/day so I would recommend the free shuttle usage if possible.)

Overall we had a delightful stay and would recommend this as an affordable place to stay in Vail. Not super fancy, but comfortable for families, couples, or friends wanting to enjoy either summer or winter in Vail.

Room Tip: Stairs only - no elevator - so one might prefer floor 1 or floor 2 over the 3rd floor if given a cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMcoloradofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations at Eagle Point, especially given the low cost compared to other hotels at Vail. Our one-bedroom was huge for just two people. We appreciated having a separate living room, which included a dining table and a comfortable couch, along with a DVD player (EP provides free rentals). The free coffee in the mornings in the lobby and the hot cocoa were nice touches. The kitchen was stocked much better than expected (it includes pots and pans, spatulas and the like, plenty of dishes, a dishwasher, a toaster, and even a blender!), so we were able to eat some of our meals at the hotel. The shuttle was efficient, and it's a quick ride over to Lionshead. There was a hot tub right outside our room, which we didn't use. (It looked nice but was always busy, which made our room a little noisy in the early evenings.) Our room appeared to have been refurbished relatively recently--the carpets, furnishings, granite, etc., all looked pretty fresh. Our room had plenty of extra pillows and blankets, great towels, a decent shower with good water pressure, and a place to hang skis. On our last day, we asked for a later checkout (checkout time is 10 a.m.) and were told that 12 was the limit, but they did offer to hold onto our stuff and let us change in the lobby restrooms after skiing a half-day (this was great, but it would have been better if they had locked up our bags instead of leaving then sitting in the lobby..). All in all, I would definitely return here if we went back to Vail--it really is a great deal with lots of space!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TravellingAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just finished a one week stay at the Eagle Point Resort. The place is not fancy but it is very functional. The room was comfortable and very convenient to Vail. The free shuttle to the mountain drops you off very near the Eagle Bahn gondola and it runs every 15 minutes. My son enjoyed the free movie and x-box games that the resort provides. All and all, we had a very nice time and would go back any time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank mhirschfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We recently spent a week in Vail at Eagle Point. It was convenient for skiing, but if you do not ski (which I do not) this may not be the place for you. The pool is very small, the hot tub even smaller. There is no restaurant within walking distance. The resort is two stories and there is no elevator. On the positive side, the staff is fantastic! There are also several gatherings each week, i.e. wine and cheese on Saturday, beer and pretzels on Monday and continental breakfast on Wednesday. There were also a couple of activities for children.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked one-bedroom unit for a week of skiing in December 2013. The high point of the resort is very friendly and responsive guest service. Shuttle service is also good. The rest is not so good. For me, a skiing resort must have a good sauna. Actually, in all Vail resorts, where I stayed, saunas were good. At the Eagle Point, the sauna is a joke. It is cold, small, with only one low bench, plus someone lacquered the wood. The latter could be a disaster if the temperature would be as high as it supposed to be. There are no lockers for the sauna, the whirlpool, and the pool. There are two one-person bathrooms with showers in the lobby, which is totally insufficient. Also, there is no storage area in the resort. We had to check out Friday morning, but our flight was late in the evening. So we went skiing, then came back to change and leave for Denver. We were advised that we had to keep our staff in the car. Another problem was to maintain a proper temperature in the unit. This was practically impossible. Regardless of the thermostat setting, the temperature had huge swings during nights. To finish on a positive note, the kitchen was well staffed, beds were comfortable, and there were plenty of extra blankets and pillows.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

awesome place - clean and very nice. staff friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Suggested a great place to eat and also great hiking trails that were very convenient. didn't use the pool or work out room as we ran out of time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zeke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 31 in Vail
333 reviews
2 mi away
The Wren
The Wren
#21 of 31 in Vail
95 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 31 in Vail
555 reviews
1 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#17 of 31 in Vail
246 reviews
1 mi away
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Point Resort

Address: 1500 Matterhorn Cir, Vail, CO 81657-4354
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range: £110 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eagle Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Point Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing