We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blu's Restaurant

Blu's Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Racquet Club Drive
Description: Now located at the Vail Racquet Club Mountain Resort in East Vail, offering an eclectic menu at moderate prices. Featuring daily dinner specials and breakfast on weekends.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Traveling for business I stayed at the Racquet Club in East Vail for 7 nights in February. Having always stayed in Vail Village on previous trips I hadn't ventured out to East Vail previously. Arriving late I decided not to venture out and tried Blu's which was a mistake and will not happen on return trips to Vail. For the purposes of my trip I did enjoy the Racquet Club though.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was once a local's staple when in Vail. Perhaps it is because the new location has really slowed things down but the ownership and management really shows now. Between a manager in an unprofessional hawaiian shirt who was brusque to the owner, Tom who had no social skills much less in health code standards of dress, it fell well below expectations.
Our server was a bit unkempt as well. The food wasn't bad, but for the price and to see the circus surrounding the venture makes it a 100% NOT RECOMMENDED.
Based on management I doubt they are really following health code rules and regulations.
There is a nice view if you are staying in East Vail and would like a drink.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcktvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We used to go to Blu's in the village and were disappointed when they closed. Then we heard that they reopened at the Vail Racquet Club in East Vail. We found them one evening when I-70 traffic was at a standstill and we were cold and hungry after a great ski day. What a great location! The building and decor are welcoming and we sat by the fire and watched the snow fall outside the large window. We ordered 2 specials which was a green coconut curry served over rice noodles, and the famous Blu's burger. We all enjoyed our food immensely. The vegetables in the curry were crisp and tasty, the sauce had just enough heat, and we could choose chicken or shrimp, we ordered one of each. The Blu's burger was cooked right and was tasty. This is a find for Vail. The menu is reasonably priced and the food is good. The atmosphere is everything you could expect in a world-class mountain town. There's plenty of on-site, free parking, no traffic or crowds. It's truly a hidden gem in the town of Vail.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Never Again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Vail for an extended visit and while exploring real estate in East Vail thought we would change it up and try Blu's for dinner... Big mistake! We are frequent return visitors of Vail and love eating in the Village in particular. Our meal at Blu's was slightly cheaper then many other Vail spots but still expensive for the sub-par food and experience encountered. Despite being very quiet there (Friday night?) the food arrived it was way below expectations and value for what Vail standards we have encountered elsewhere. Our server was very attentive and good but recommended that we not complain to a gray haired gentleman who was there? We didn't argue, things were adjusted in our favor which we were grateful but will not return as it was very disappointing!

Helpful?
Thank bvail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Vail Without The Glitz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Over the 33 years that we have been coming to Vail, there has been a steady trend toward the opulent and expensive and away from the sporty, outdoorsy vibe that once predominated. Located in East Vail, which is in many ways the last hold-out of a simpler era, Blu's functions as both a neighborhood hang out and a good option for tourists, especially those staying at the Vail Racquet Club. On our most recent visit the soups were excellent and burgers were superb while salads were fresh and well composed. The same menu is served at the upstairs bar, which is the kind of place where complete strangers strike up conversations.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seadog14926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blu's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Blu's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing