We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family fly fishing vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Campo De Fiori

Campo De Fiori
Reserve with OpenTable
Campo De Fiori is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Vail Village in-town bus, Solaris stop
Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family fly fishing vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The food was good. The atmosphere was nice. The staff could of been a little friendlier. It wasn't even crowded! Worth eating there at least once. Our waitress wasn't helpful in choosing wine nor food but we all got by!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    133
    52
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Italian Vail Valley has to offer!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Everything about Campo De Fiori is great! The most authentic Italian food you can get anywhere in the state and luckily they have 3 locations. Will return again, and again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HaxtonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food and first class service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great looking restaurant with a real buzz. It can get very busy but on our visit was less so than on previous visits as it was coming to the end of the season. Good choice of typical Italian starters we had calamari, mussels and the mozzarella pod more all excellent. Mains of penne vodka, gnocchi and orecchiette were top notch and a decent wine list yielded a good fiano and a couple of glasses of Belnero. Special word about our server Loire she was absolutely excellent and her attention and humour were a real boost to the evening. Best service we had during our 11 nights in Vail.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Italian in vail but not the best I've had”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Always a loud happening place. I just wish the food was more creative and tasty. There was nothing I took away that I felt was unique to the preparation. Portions were on the small side.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Overall the entire dining experience at Campo De Fiori was a huge disappointment and we have no intention of ever returning. Let me start with the service and ambiance that claim to be similar to a trattoria you would encounter in Italy. First and foremost you are not rushed through your meal in Italy. At least I did not experience this while dining in Venice, Rome, Naples, and Capri. In Italy you actually have to ask for your bill as it is considered rude to push your customers out the door. It is true that you are seated within very close proximity to your fellow diners in Italy, however, the "three inch space" that was provided to us from the adjoining table at Campo De Fiori would be considered rude, not traditional Italian. On a positive note, our server did address the overcrowded space by assuring us that our "neighbors" would be leaving soon. This seemed to be the overall theme at Campo De Fiori, "take your money and get you out the door so they can turn over the table ASAP". Our entire dining experience at Campo Di Fiori took a total of 40 minutes, which included a bottle of wine, entrees, and of course "the check". Once we received our wine we placed our entree order which arrived at the table exactly 5 minutes later. In regards to the meal, I must admit that I have had much better. The sauces were bland and the meat overcooked. The only authentic Italian that this restaurant had to offer was homemade pasta. Other than that, I am absolutely mystified as to how this establishment is touted as an authentic Italian trattoria; Nothing could be further from the truth.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherS913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campo De Fiori also viewed

 

Been to Campo De Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing