We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure it's on your "must go to" list while in Vail”
Review of Terra Bistro

Terra Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Terra Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 124 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: For more than 23 years Terra Bistro has been an essential dining destination for Vail Valley visitors, as well as a lasting favorite among locals. Chef Shawn Miller's adventurous approach to seasonal ingredients yields imaginative, carefully-crafted dishes and ever-changing menus. With a special focus on lighter fare, but with plenty of opportunity for indulgence, our menus naturally accommodate a variety of tastes and dietary restrictions, including gluten allergies and vegans. Accompanying our menus is our extensive wine list presented by our very talented in-house Sommelier. Additionally, we offer a variety Colorado craft beers and our specialty cocktails, inspired by Colorado spirits, are often a highlight of our guest's experience.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Make sure it's on your "must go to" list while in Vail”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited Vail in the off season (just happened to be passing through) and stumbled upon Terra Bistro, and happy we did! Since it was the off season Terra Bistro was running a 50% entree special, but we would have paid full price for that meal! Everything from the apps to the Dahl dip to the entrees were delightful! I highly recommend ordering a signature cocktail as there is great chemistry going on behind that bar. I would imagine they get very busy so reservations would be a must!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMore6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    161
    61
    35
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“CHARMING”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I had a great dinner. Service was excellent and the selections made by our server could not have been better. Best part of the dinner the main courses were half price since we were out of ski season. I would go back again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank brooklyndodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do not miss this restaurant while in Vail!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Terra Bistro has always been a well known, consistent place to eat. I've been there twice in the last three months and both experiences were some of the best I've ever had, at any restaurant, anywhere in the world. Flawless service, perfectly executed food, relaxed atmosphere. To top things off, now that it's the offseason, they are doing 50% off entrees. Well worth every last penny at full price, it's a steal with the discount! Last night's ribeye was perfectly cooked and seasoned, can't wait to go back yet again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skithebeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alibry
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved the menu - and the home-brewed ginger beer!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Loved the complimentary Dahl spread they serve. The gluten free pappadan was a nice touch - and delicious! Loved the Rocky Mountain Trout and sweet potatoes. Loved the scallops. And most of all, loved the cocktail with in-house brewed ginger ale. The only thing I wish they would do more of is seasonal veggies. I was surprised by the out of season fruit and veggies on the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alibrygotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The "sort of visit" below is not accurate having eaten there a multitude of times in all circumstances. The food is great and healthy. Kevin the chef had a breakfast where all the ingredients had to have been used for food prep for the past 1000 years. No processed anything. Tuna Tar tare is amazing. The warm sweet potato ravioli salad is divine. Great looking dining room and superb management round this gem out. Sit at the bar and let Quagmire serve you. If you are lucky Thrasher will serve you and you will have an amazing evening! Wine list rocks as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher23451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terra Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Terra Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing