We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite contender for "Best in Vail"”
Review of The Left Bank

The Left Bank
Reserve with OpenTable
The Left Bank is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 122 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: International Bridge
Description: Recently remodeled after 44 years, Left Bank has been a place to wine and dine for discerning locals and visitors from around the world since 1970. Specializing in a very traditional French menu with a modern twist, Left Bank brings you a true fine dining experience in an exquisitely classic way. We have cultivated relationships in France and California over the past 44 years in order to bring you selections of the rarest wines available, impeccably stored and aged for your drinking pleasure. With Jean-Michel Chelain as your Chef - it is my pleasure to consistently use only the freshest ingredients of the finest quality and prepare everything from scratch. Our menu features specials such as Gigolette d'Agneau and Bouillabaisse de Crustaces au Fenouil to offer a truly remarkable culinary dream giving your taste buds a treat. Come see what Left Bank has to offer where you don't just come to eat, you come to dine.
Vail, CO
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Definite contender for "Best in Vail"”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had not revisited the Left Bank since its closing was announced by the original owners, Luc and Liz Meyer some years back. The remodeled and updated facility is beautifully done, and the food and service were outstanding. Classic lobster bisque, escargot, steak au poivre, and a perfectly dressed salad. The richness of the sauces still resonates the next day. The only hiccup was a somewhat under cooked piece of meat, but overall a wonderful experience. Clearly one of the finest local meals we've had in the 40 years we've lived in Vail.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank opete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley C, owner at The Left Bank, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
One of the best meals in 40 years? That's an incredible compliment. Thank you so much for this wonderful review, and we hope you've had a chance to come back and see us since last summer! Take care.

All the best,
Kimberly & Jean-Michel, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    50
    15
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This restaurant is AMAZING!!!!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have to start out by saying my wife and I are "Foodies", and we often prefer to cook at home rather than settle for the mediocre, over-priced fare available at most restaurants these days.

Not so at The Left Bank! We dined on a Monday evening, and the atmosphere was comfortable, warm, and relaxed. The experience begins when Kimberly, the owner, greets you at the Maître D's station and makes even the first-time visitor feel like a welcomed old friend (which you will see many of at their regular tables--this has been a Vail favorite for over 45 years!) Her husband, Jean-Michel, is a celebrated French Chef (by birth and training!) and is in the kitchen preparing your first (but never the last) meal at The Left Bank. The service was prompt at all times, and we loved listening to Faustine, our waitress, newly arrived from Grenoble, as she read the evening's specials!

You must start with one of their wonderful cocktails from the extensive Cocktail Menu, many of which pre-date Prohibition. Check out the James-Bond-themed "Vesper", shaken, not stirred! Next, there was the bread basket, filled with warm, fresh French and multi-grain bread, which tasted just like we fell in love with while living in Europe years ago. Next, the salad was well-presented, and the house dressing was a tasty Dijon Vinaigrette. For the main course, we ordered the Filet Au Poivre (White Pepper Steak), which came with the tastiest pepper cream sauce, surrounded by perfectly cooked baby potatoes and vegetables. We ordered ours cooked medium, and they were juicy and flavorful, and the portion was perfectly sized. Kimberly recommended an outstanding Bordeaux for the wine pairing from their extensive cellar. For dessert, we had the Chocolate Soufflé. I thought I had had Chocolate Soufflé before, but I was mistaken! High-altitude cooking takes a special touch, and this soufflé has it--it will re-define your standard for soufflé. It is the lightest, fluffiest, most chocolatey soufflé I have ever enjoyed. Kimberly says the altitude is one of the secret ingredients! We finished the evening with cappuccino and an assortment of lacy, buttery cookies. The evening reminded us so much of dinners we enjoyed at our local "stammtische" table in our little village in Europe, especially the personal interaction at our table with the wonderful owner Kimberly. What an experience! We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucklansford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley C, owner at The Left Bank, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
What a lovely treat to read this review! It's been several months since you reached out, but we can't tell you how much we appreciate this feedback. Hopefully you will have a chance to stop back by for another taste of our chocolate souffle soon! Thank you for the smile you just gave us!

All the best,
Kimberly & Jean-Michel, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Friday meal after a week of skiing”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

After decades of knowing about and going to the "old" Left Bank on the creek, this past Friday we had what was one of the most tasteful meals we have ever experienced. A wonderful interior that relaxes you after a great day of skiing. We were recommended the Sea Bass with Fennel and the Salmon bacon wrap that made you sit back and make you think you were at the best restaurant in Manhattan. Well done chef, well done.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1johnkl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley C, owner at The Left Bank, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
John, reviews honestly don't get better than this -- thank you so much for making us a special part of your ski trip to Vail. It sounds like the sea bass and salmon were a perfect choice. Stay in touch and let us know the next time you're back in the mountains. Take care.

Warm wishes,
Kimberly & Jean-Michel, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great french restaurant with French service”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The food was great, and the charm of this place is just wonderful and you can tell by all the locals that dine there that this review really will not make a difference for this restaurant, because they have a strong local (CO) following. I will say the food was delicious as was the wine, but the wait was absurd! 45 minutes after our reservation and to get our food and wine another wait - it just put us in a bad mood. Luckily the food was good. Our poor waiter was great, he was just overloaded and on Valentine's day I would have expected that the restaurant call on extra staff to help with their fully booked evening. Front was a little arrogant, but I got the vibe that they went the extra mile for the locals not the drop-in tourist. That said, if we visit Vail again, I will want to go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pcaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF bay area
Level Contributor
126 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overpriced traditional French cuisine”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The food is average, and combined with expensive pricing results in a "poor" rating.

We enjoyed the french onion soup (vegetarian) which was also prepared gluten-free. The gluten-free rolls were excellent. The regular bread was unimpressive. The portion size was small for the price, but appropriate for an appetizer (think cup instead of bowl). We also had the 2 salads and the steak tartare. Compared with the main courses, the steak tartare was reasonably priced. It came pre-mixed and was tasty (medium spice level was a too hot for my friends' tastes). The salads were fine, nothing special.

We were able to combine our Valhrona souffle order with another table to meet the minimum order of 4 (they are individual souffles). The souffles were very, very light and nice a crispy on the edges (crusty sugar). We thought they were very good.

The bathroom was a bit odd with very dated decor and no towels or any way to dry your hands, just some kleenex. The noise level was fine. Even though a very large party was in the center of the dining room we could easily hear ourselves.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Left Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing