We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny restaurant, great food”

Osaki's Sushi & Japanese
Ranked #65 of 124 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant, great food”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The food is great...I would venture to say that this may be one of the best Japanese restaurants that we have been to. The space is tiny, however, and it seems like everyone is always close to you and there is an unspoken pressure to finish up and get out. It is always crowded so make sure you get a reservation in early.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KML3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    17
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rude and poor service and bad attitude”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Tiny place with average food, high prices and very bad attitude and rude service from the beginning when trying to make a reservation. You are so rushed thew your meal that you just don't enjoy it. There are so many nice places in Vail for sushi like Yama - where service is outstanding great atmosphere and awesome food.
Management should take a look at their service and put customers first not the $$.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brielle0875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Ga
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great sushi get a reservation”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Wife and I went out for our splurge meal on vacation. Glad we read reviews and got a reservation. This place is tiny. Most places in vail are small but this one is very small. Entire restaraunt kitchen included is about the size of my master bedroom. Maybe 5 tables and a sushi bar that seats six Therefore they only take a few limited reservations. We ordered the ceviche app and about four rolls and a few pieces of nigiri. All were excellent. We are big sushi fans and eat it quite often. Can't say I have ever had any better than this place. With a a couple of beers and tip we were about 150. But as I said we splurged. Would go back for sure

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinsGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Bad Attitude”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I have to say that the food at this place is outstanding. It is really sad that you are rushed through your meal so that the next reservation can sit down. We were seated 15 minutes late but still asked to leave 1:30 hrs later even when we had ordered more food. This is rude an unacceptable!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jlballesteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Date night in Vail!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife and I went out and left the teenagers with the grandparents for an evening and found this small gem tucked away in a corner. We appreciate good sushi and truly enjoyed the experience we had.

We shared four picks from the menu and couldn't believe the quality and flavors of the sushi! We had two of the specials that were excellent and two rolls. One roll had a surprise when we tasted it, the rice was wrapped in mint leaves under the tuna, it was a very nice touch.

We both would recommend this for a date night in Vail as the place probably only holds about 20 people total! Small but excellent!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gobuceyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osaki's Sushi & Japanese also viewed

 

Been to Osaki's Sushi & Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing