We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view and great steaks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell's Restaurant

Russell's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Russell's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Just across the Covered Bridge in Vail Village is Bridge Street's warm, cozy and oldest steak house - Russell's. We have a friendly, relaxing atmosphere with wonderful Creekside dining. Russell's features dry aged Certified Angus beef, along with delightful fish entrees and world-renowned Alaskan King Crab Legs. One side dish that you can't pass up is our scalloped potatoes - baked with onions, bacon and cheese with a golden brown top. A lot of our staff members have been with us for 20 years or more. Come by and see for yourself why the locals and staff love Russell's. We take great pride in serving premier steaks and seafood in the most enjoyable and accommodating restaurant in Vail. Reservations recommended.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely view and great steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very friendly service. Good wine recommendation that was not too expensive and the meal was great. Request a creekside table in summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    84
    29
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adult Atmostphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Food was fabulous, as always. steak medallions, fresh grilled asparagus, and signature chees potatoes (thinly sliced and seasoned just right). We had a table facing Gore Creek and the Covered Bridge. Service was exceptional.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mylifesavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLORADO SPRINGS
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Prime Rib-awesome service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We ate here our last night in Vail after a recommendation from our hotel staff. Our previous nights meals at Sweet Basil and Up a Creek were very good but this meal at Russell's ended up being our favorite. Very nice interior, great service but the best part was the prime rib VERY good, large and yummy.

Would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tguthals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, CO
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Had hoped to be disappointed, but wasn't”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The owner of the restaurant apparently also may own the property. I've avoided going here for years since the property owner booted out the old Ore House Restaurant that was a Vail icon for what seemed like decades and replaced it with his own version of a steak house.

My wife convinced me that we were going to try it last night (her birthday). We arrived shortly after opening and got a nice table overlooking Gore Creek. Had an absolutely outstanding wait person named Fiona. She did everything right. We shared an Oregon Riesling with Sue's app. which was the escargot. She found it fine.

The bread's outstanding. My wife's main course was a small filet with the restaurant's signature scalloped potatoes which really are terrific. A side of fresh broccoli rounded out the meal. Only issue was the cooking of the steak which came out well under done and had to be returned.

My half chicken along with the same two sides was fine too. Our Cesari Valpolicella wine at $35, while maybe not a real bargain was fine with the food.

Overall a very nice experience - and I wasn't disappointed at not being disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank opete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant For A long Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

I've eaten here a lot over the last 10+ years. Russell's has always been a good restaurant, but I think even better the last couple of years. Nice variety of steaks, seafood and chicken on the menu. I like the wine list as well. Service has always been excellent. Great job by the hostess on this visit (I think her name was Suzanne). We had a larger party on a very busy night. We had some additional guests join us after we started our meal and the hostess went out of her way to help us squeeze in a couple people at our table. The tuna appetizer, trout and steak entrees our group had were excellent.

This is my first choice for a nicer place to eat in Vail Village.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ace5220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Russell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing