We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Space City Ski Club group dinner ...”

Up the Creek Bar & Grill
Ranked #6 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Space City Ski Club group dinner ...”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

... was held here during this year's Vail trip. I agree with the reviews that this is a great restaurant, and there aren't that many in Vail, unfortunately. I thought I'd add my two cents because I got a bit of insight into how they handle groups. Frankly, they did a great job. Now, in our group's favor, and in favor of Up The Creek, we were there during the second week in December, which is a quiet week. I wouldn't want to try to set up a large group during the Christmas season. But, at this time, they handled us very well. We had a special menu just for our group. They gave us a choice of two salads and three entrees. Soft drinks and coffee were included but wine, etc., and dessert were not. The price was $50 a head. Service was quick and attentive and friendly. The tables were a bit close, however. Overall, they did a great job for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwardsjbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    141
    38
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Vail!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I'm a frequent diner at Up The Creek, and there's a reason for that! Not only is the food outstanding, (lunch or dinner)... The service is impeccable as well! During the offseason they offer discounts and they do a 10$ chef's special. Can't really beat that in Vail! Peter and his family have pride in their restaurant and it shows. This is a place YOU do not want to miss! Sit on their creekside patio in the summer, or inside where it's nice in cozy during the winter. Tell them I sent you. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were in Vail for 4 nights over the summer and this was my favorite meal. The service was good and the food was excellent - from the seafood (scallops) to the steak to the cocktails (try the Colorado Cucumber - not normally my type of thing but it was super good). The atmosphere was not too fussy for a great meal and the location right on the river was cool.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“My favorite lunch place in Vail!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I love sitting next to the creek and enjoying a delicious cobb salad and a glass of white wine. The service is always friendly and I love that I can bring my kids with me and watch them play outside while we wait for our food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Even better than I hoped it would be”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Using other Trip Advisor reviews, my wife and I choose this restaurant out of several who were offering special deals for the first annual Vail restaurant week. We were somewhat apprehensive because of "bar and grille" in their name. Also, there were only about 10 entrees to choose from, each for only $20.13, because of the special week. Everything turned out great. I had a fish dish and my wife had pasta and both were simply delicious. The service was outstanding as well. This was by far our favorite dinner out during two weeks of sampling several restaurants in the Vail, Breckenridge, Frisco and Dillon area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Up the Creek Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing