We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always enjoy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Up the Creek Bar & Grill

Up the Creek Bar & Grill
Ranked #12 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
201 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Always enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I always enjoy goign here if for nothing else the perfect spot next to the creek. It's especially great in the summer if yous it outside next to the water since you catch a goo 10 degree drop in the temperature off of the water. The food is pretty tasty as well. Excellent Calamri and all of the entrees I've had here have been good. Been a few times simply to sit on the patio and have a cocktail or eight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RAZBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    129
    38
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
422 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Food is better than the surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had a great meal here - including a buffalo tenderloin that was to die for. The food is great, but the surroundings are not so great - I was by a window and it was a little cold - and I don't feel the cold that much.

So - pick you space in the restaurant - the food is worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
“Treated like royalty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

As a concierge here in the valley I get to try some of the best restaurants in town. With that being said, Up the Creek absolutely blew me away from start to finish! We were seated immediately at a nice intimate table in the back. Our server, Tres, was one of the best I have ever had! He never rushed us, offered wonderful wine recommendations, and knew the menu perfectly. This was hands down the best meal I have had all winter! We were treated like royalty and I will be reccomending Up the Creek to all of my guests.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stopped in for lunch during a day of skiing. Well work the short walk from Gondola one down to the creek to meet up with our family. The atmosphere is lovely, with a bright, beautiful dining room. Nice views of the creek and ice sculptures.
Our lunch was delicious - I enjoyed the roasted turkey and brie sandwich.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgralnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I found this place several years ago and it never ceases to amaze me. It is a small and cozy restaurant by the creek in the heart of Vail Village. The food is simply impeccable. The fish (trout) is superb and the service makes you feel wanting to visit them every day. The manager and wait staff are so very kind.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Up the Creek Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Up the Creek Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing