We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down best meal in Vail!!”

Lord Gore Restaurant at Manor Vail
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Steps away from free Town of Vail Bus system
Description: Manor Vail Lodge is excited to announce that the Fitz Bar & Restaurant (formerly known as the Fitz Lounge) will be taking over the Lord Gore Restaurant. As the hotel celebrates its 50th anniversary, plans of renovating the restaurant and bar space are well underway! The new look will meld together its mountain roots of Colorado with a rustic vibe. The Fitz Bar & Restaurant will be a hip and contemporary bar & dining scene featuring comfort food elevated with locally sourced ingredients, hand-crafted cocktails, and local drafts.
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hands down best meal in Vail!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Words can't express, the chefs here are amazing. The best meal I've ever had in a restaurant in Vail EVER! Highly recommend for all!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HaxtonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    3
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The food and service were excellent. The atmosphere is quite, warm and comfortable. There was a unusual smell to the dining room though. Not unappetizing but not a food smell either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCKKIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family friendly foodie heaven!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We actually ended up at The Lord Gore because we were staying at the Lodge and had a cranky baby on our hands and were all just too pooped to go out. What a fantastic decision! From the moment we arrived everyone from the hostess Bree who sat us to the waiter Chris who took care of us was incredibly gracious and accommodating. The service was bar none the best we had anywhere in Vail. And for a fine dining establishment they really bent over backwards to make sure families with kids also feel welcome.

Now, on to the food! We started with a sundried tomato, goat cheese, and carmalized onion tart, amazing! We then moved on to the bison medallions which were mouthwateringly delicious, and finally the braised short ribs with truffled potatoes. Even the kids meals were fantastic with one having the kids filet and the other opting for the chicken tenders. For desert, the amazing peanut butter bar.

All in all, a really great experience. And I didn't even mention the amazing 2 story view of the mountain! There is no pretension at The Lord Gore whatsoever. Just amazing food, fabulous and truly genuine service, and honestly one of the best nights this family of 5 had in Vail (even with a cranky baby!).

Helpful?
2 Thank psychdoc00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Executive Chef at Lord Gore Restaurant at Manor Vail, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed yourselves at the Lord Gore. Your feedback is very important to our efforts as we strive to do the best job we can in creating a fantastic dining experience for all. We hope that you will come see us again the next time you're in Vail.

Sincerely,
Weston Schroeder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant and Game”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We ordered the elk and the bison and both dishes were excellent (the elk slightly better than the bison). Presentation, flavor, and quality of all ingredients was very good. Service was attentive and solid and they had a nice wine list. Atmosphere was nice as well. All in all a great restaurant. More restaurants in the area should have game on the menu; it's delicious and I like to eat food I can't get at home when I'm on vacation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaBucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A gem hidden away in Vail”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

With the demise of the famous Tyrolean restaurant several years ago, the Lord Gore has become the 'go to' place for those seeking game-inspired cuisine. Some may be put off by the the condo setting of the Manor Vail Lodge, but once you're inside everything feels special.

While the menu has a nice variety capable of satisfying a variety of palates (without trying to do to much), its the game dishes that stand out. The Elk was perfectly prepared, very mild and clearly carefully sourced. The Bison was also excellent. This was all complemented by a nice variety of salads (great pear salad) and appetizers including some surprising crabcakes and a hearty baked brie. Nice, reasonably priced wine list, good service and a great view rounded out a very nice experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lord Gore Restaurant at Manor Vail also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing