We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Season stay - somewhat disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Amarillo, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Off Season stay - somewhat disappointed”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We did a "Short Stay" exchange during off-season and expected it to be low occupancy and fairly quiet. It was VERY low occupancy. But even with that, it did not seem that services were outstanding which you would think they would be when there are not hardly any guests. Also, we have routinely traded for Marriott resorts because we always have been very pleased with the accommodations. When we arrived, I couldn't help but be disappointed because this property is of much lesser quality than the others we have stayed in. I inquired if there was any possibility of changing us to another unit that might be nicer since the occupancy was so low, but was told that we were in one of the more updated units and there wasn't anything nicer. Went so far as to call Interval International and see if there were any other properties in the area that we could trade with that might be more in line with what we were expecting - but they didn't have any options for us other than in Breckenridge on the mountain. After all was said and done, we were comfortable in the unit we were given, the bed was quite comfortable and we enjoyed a quiet week...just in a little less luxurious surroundings than what we thought we would be in! Need to know that this property is in West Vail with not a lot of things around in - nothing within real walking distance. All shopping, including groceries, is across I70. If we go back to the Vail area, we will not trade out for this property again. Would much prefer the Sheraton or Westin in Avon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceHodges1356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    25
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

This was our first winter vacation in Vail and we arrived November 20th expecting our two bedroom villa to be available. Unfortunately, there was a "mistake" and they gave us a one bedroom with a loft (room 4308). We were told the lady who made our reservation was new and typed in the wrong "code." While disappointed we didn't get the room we asked for, we were more than satisfied with what we ended up with. I believe someone else mentioned the villa sleeps eight and since there were only four of us, it worked out well. Our balcony faced a hill and so we didn't have to worry about people looking into our room.

We enjoyed the gym, which was pretty impressive for a hotel/resort. Tons of free weights, the usual cardio machines and weight machines. We also took advantage of the pool and sauna.

The one difference with this Marriott time share was the fact that the room did not have a washer and dryer. The front desk said the washer/dryers are located on the first floor and free of charge. There were only 3 washers and 3 dryers for the entire Douglas wing, but it worked out. If you don't have detergent, they have vending machines. We have used Marriott time shares extensively throughout the US and this was the first one that didn't have a washer/dryer in the room.

One evening, we asked for some extra pots and had to call back when they were not delivered. Another time we called for extra liquid dish soap and it never did arrive. Other than that, the staff was good. Like someone said, some were more friendlier then others, but we did not encounter any rudeness or indifference.

If you are going for a skiing trip, this is a good spot. Their shuttle will drop you off and pick you up. They have a rental shop on the second floor and the equipment was good.

This is Vail - it is a beautiful setting and the hotel seemed ready for ski season. Would we go back? Absolutely.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulm5545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The best thing about Marriott's Streamside is it's location, right off US I-70
The condo's are spacious, well maintained and nicely furnished. We occupied a 3rd floor
Villa with loft and 3 bathrooms , more than adequate for a small family.
The staff was very friendly and knowledgable since it does not have a concierge, Market Place
or other amenities found in other Vacation Club Resorts but shopping is close by and so are
many restaurants. Unfortunately 3 items left behind were never recovered, more careful next time
Vail is a beautiful place to visit and to vacation .

Room Tip: try to get a 3rd floor facing the front which has a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topsCapeCod_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

First of all, this place is a great value. It is definately not luxurious, but has some four star features that compensate for some of its negatives. We booked a one bedroom King fireplace. The room/condo was huge and nicely updated. My wife loved the wood burning fireplace and the hotel provided plenty of logs and a fire starting kit. The kitchen was really nice, and the bed was very comfortable.

The Douglas building is rather old and not particularly well built. If we booked here again, we would only consider the top floor, because we could hear people walking around in the room above us. Its not that other guests were particularly noisy, but whenever someone talked out in the hallway or shut/slammed a door we could hear it quite clearly in our room. The hotel did provide box fans, and we turned ours on high to help block out some of the outside noise.

The staff was hit or miss. We had several staffmembers who were very helpful and engaged (shuttle driver was wonderful), and others who were somewhat indifferent. No big deal.

Our room was $119/night for a Friday, and while we did not particularly love the hotel...it is definately a great value and something to be considered.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyingT-Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Spacious and comfortable rooms, with tasty recent remodel. Everything you would expect from a Marriott Vacation Villa, except I can't figure out why there's no air conditioning, especially after the remodel. Days are hot in the summer but it does cool down at night so you can get by. Still, for a resort of this quality this is the main flaw with the place. Otherwise an excellent facility and has my top recommendation.

Room Tip: The valley facing rooms provide nice view but some traffic noise if windows are open. Hill facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drfumblefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our family of 4 traded a week of time share for a stay at the Streamside by Marriott. We were in the Douglas building. Our villa had a loft in addition to the king master bedroom. The loft, which also had a king bed, was great for our two kids. The resort is right near the main Vail bike trail. They also have free shuttles into the two Vail villages. The indoor outdoor pool is nice, with lots of seating around.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FCCOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

My husband had to go to Denver on business, so we decided to go as a family and take our daughter skiing. We rented a 1 bedroom w/ loft. Some other reviewers said Douglas is old and run down, that is no longer the case. The units have been renovated with flat screen tvs and granite counters in the kitchen and baths, but the bathrooms are still 1980s. There are no luxurious tubs or showers. However, the pool (an indoor/outdoor), though heated, was too cold for us to use. The locker room was cold and one of the two showers was broken. The hot tub, which was just warmer than what I would have expected for the pool, was not for kids. The kids loved the game room.

It is a bit far away from skiing and when an unexpected storm necessitated leaving a day early, we have to pay $.38/minute to use the internet to make a hotel reservation. We are Marriott timeshare owners and were really shocked that Marriott was so cheap as to not provide complimentary internet with a business center or the like.

The manager and staff were great, but the facilities were not quite what I expect from a Marriott Vacation property.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CtCladdagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Evergreen at Vail
0.0 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
2.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
2.7 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#10 of 30 in Vail
284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#18 of 30 in Vail
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail

Property: Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
Address: 2284 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-4389
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alluring Vail, Colorado is renowned for its sensational skiing and year-round diversions. Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail masterfully captures the elegance and European charm of this legendary locale while offering the comforts of home and the amenities of a resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Streamside Douglas At Vail Hotel Vail
Marriotts Streamside Douglas Vail
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing