We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary French cuisine in Vail Village”
Review of La Tour Restaurant

La Tour Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tour Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 122 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Village Center Rd
Transit: If you are riding the Vail Bus, please get off at either the Solaris or Bridge Street stops. If your arriving by Eco Transit or hotel shuttles get off at the top level of the Vail Transportation Center and walk down the steps to your right. We are located directly across the street from the West end of the Vail Transportation Center.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Contemporary French cuisine in Vail Village”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent restaurant! Now I understand why they are known as the restaurant "where the chefs eat"! Their plate presentations are a visual feast and the food is OUTSTANDING! We were also very impressed with the service! Our server, Rieff, was very friendly and helpful with our menu selections. We look forward to dining at LA Tour the next time we visit Vail!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTour_Restaurant, Owner at La Tour Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Cindy,

Thank your for your kind remarks. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed everything and look forward to seeing you the next time you pass through Vail! - PF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    140
    61
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer Lake, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We went for lunch with our two young children and the staff were very accommodating and nice. Lunch prices are much more reasonable but you still get to try some great food. Overall, very nice time in lovely Vail.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esomurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTour_Restaurant, Owner at La Tour Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for your review! We're happy to hear you and your family enjoyed La Tour and hope to see you all again the next time you come through town. - PF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

What a delightful lunch three of us had here! We sat on the patio, which is lovely with the herb filled planter boxers nearby, & plenty of people watching opportunities!
Hubby had the lunch special: Crispy Panko Chicken Paillard Salad, while our pal & I shared the same salad & the La Tour version of Pasta Carbonara. The salad was wonderful, with a generous portion of tender, delicately breaded, chicken breast. The Carbonara was amazing & rich, which made it perfect for sharing. Instead of bacon fragments throughout, there was a large (and delicious) piece of pork belly on top of the pasta. All three of us would've licked our plates clean, but people were watching, so we refrained....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTour_Restaurant, Owner at La Tour Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Jennifer,

Thank you for your kind remarks. We're happy you were able to join us for lunch during your time in Vail. We would not have judged you for licking your plate clean, we've been tempted a few times ourselves ;) - PF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our hotel concierge recommended La Tour as a Sunday brunch spot and we enjoyed the stroll through the Farmers Market to arrive there. But after that it was all downhill. It took a little while to be seated, and even longer for our waiter to get to us, about 15 minutes. When he did he was aloof and seemed bored, looking off in the distance. It took a full 10 minutes for him to return with two glasses of water. This is not a brunch buffet, order off the menu only. The Eggs Benedict was overly rich and under cooked, but our waiter didn't check on us enough to find out that there was a problem. And the mimosas are bottomless but a glass of orange juice is not! We had to ask for our bill and then wait another 15 minutes for him to return to the table with the check. We won't be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Highland23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTour_Restaurant, Owner at La Tour Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is very important to us so we appreciate you brining these issues to our attention. This does not sound like a typical dining experience at La Tour and we sincerely apologize your experience was not what you had expected. We are always striving to improve and truly hope you consider a return visit the next time you are in town. - PF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“used to be our favorite, now we are not sure”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

came on july 4 with a group of 9 , and had reservations, for 8:15pm, and not only our table was not set up, but they were looking for silverware, and plates to try to make a table in the bar area next to the swinging door of the hot kitchen,
i did not accept the table, we waited another 15 minutes then they told me that they would try to set up a table in the patio for us,but they do not usually do it for groups there.
we finally sat down at 9pm, 45 minutes later, drinks were not offered while we waited and we did not receive one thing complimentary for our inconvenience.
our waiter, was not the most accommodating and we overall were not pleased with our meals.
they did not feel like the " LaTour meals we are used to. my favorite salad : the kale salad came incomplete. my main course: salmon was ok.
the rest of our party was not happy either.
we come in november , december and usually come to la tour 5 , 6 times in that period and then february again we come a few more times, until they get their act together i am not returning.
thomas the host has left , and now there is no one with experience handling it.
we actually came back again last week, had the same waiter to my displeasure but the meal was better. still not what it used to be. food is not cheap, so i advise them getting their act together and principally for a large group that waited 45 minutes,
i forgot to mention it was my daughter in law bday the day we waited that long, and it was noted on the open table reservation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTour_Restaurant, Owner at La Tour Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Selma,

Thank you for your review and for brining these issues to our attention. We appreciate your honesty and sincerely apologize for your recent experience. We are working to get these issues resolved so this does not happen again in the future. We truly hope you consider a return visit the next time you are in town so we can make things right. - PF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tour Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Tour Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing