We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vail Run Resort
Ranked #16 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Reviewed 6 January 2010

The location is the only redeeming quality at this timeshare, and I say this because we actually had to walk the 15 minutes to town twice because the shuttle left before it was supposed to – thankfully we are young and in good shape. Another time they just decided not to run the shuttle even though 5 other guests were waiting and we all took the city bus instead. We exchanged with RCI points to this week/location, and we received less service than owners, including having to park in an adjacent parking lot outside (5 min icy walk) while owners parked in a garage under the building with plenty of extra spaces and exchangers have earlier check out times. The rooms are outdated, dark and awkward. The bedroom is not walled in, but instead the unit is all one room with a temporary wall that slides closed. The building is right next to Interstate 70 and the windows are old and not sound proof so it is very difficult to sleep if you are on the highway side. The heat does not work properly and is either way too hot or too cold, or, at times it just had a mind of its own. They do offer boxed wine on the shuttle and a Keg in the pool area every Monday, but for all of these inconveniences I would prefer to buy a bottle of nice wine and enjoy my stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peaksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

The problem being our shuttle does leave on time and does not wait for stragglers. It’s a quick 1 1/2 minute ride to town center with a great schedule designed by years of experience and owner input. Our parking lot is just outside the building, just 25 yards from the front door. Our building is hart to exchange into and they were downgraded by their exchange company, a studio is a studio, and their printout shows them what they were getting. But they were very upset and didn't take the time to read the material prior to their arrival. When people are upset from the start, something we didn’t had to do with; it’s hard to meet their expectations, especially with room size.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2009

The room was VERY CLEAN, full kitchen, DVD player, fireplace, plenty of towels and lots of free samples ie; shampoo, soaps, razors, cold medicine, even granola bars and they even offer you 30 min. free phone access.

Bus stop just steps outside the door, five minutes from Vail Center.

Very helpful staff

Would defiantly stay again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FuninVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Denton, NC
22
Reviewed 18 February 2009

I read the reviews shortly before we left and they were so true! We did an RCI points exchange for this "resort". The showers were terrible....warm and cold water - hardly ever hot. One day, I had to wait an hour and a half to get hot water for a shower! There was also a terrible smell upon entering the room...no one could explain it. When we arrived, we went to our room to discover we had a murphy bed or pull out sofas to sleep on. We did not expect that. We knew it was a studio, but expected a regular bed. When we asked the management about a change they said they could for $100 extra per night. We were there for 7 nights and could not do that, plus, with what we pay for the timeshare and maintence, we didn't feel we should. The shuttle that was provided to get back and forth to the ski area seemed to be run at the resorts convenience, not the guests, much different from other areas we have stayed. I would never go back to this place and will be letting RCI our opinion of this place as well. Also, it was suppoesed to have internet ....I guess it did ....when it worked! Overall it was definitely below standard of what we expected.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

It's hard to get into our Resort, because so many people demand it through the exchange company. They are not Renters! They are downgraded just so they can get in and the exchange company tells them that maybe they can get upgraded, when they arrive. That's not possible. Then we are blamed for everything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Be very careful when staying at these condos. We rented a 1 bedroom that looked huge but had mirrors on one end. It was so small, old and dirty. I had to clean it before we unpacked. I reserved it www.vrbo.com and it didn't have a place to see reviews. That should have told me not to rent it. I know better for next time. I wished I had more pictures to show you but I hated it so bad. A lesson for next time. Ask for interior pictures from ALL ANGLES.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank designerchicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

She did not stay in our Resort! We do not have mirrors, we never used VRBO that time nor did we knew what that was at the time and the picture is not near our property, but not a bad picture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2008

This is one of the more economical options in Vail and it shows. The hotel has a shuttle that has a restricted timetable and then you can request a pick up outside of these hours - well we requested and half an hour later (we could have walked) it still hadnt turned up.
The rooms and furniture are very old and outdated, however the kitchen is modern and well equipped.
The hot water in the shower runs at normal temp for a minute then is scorching followed by freezing, these temperature changes repeat thoughout your ablutions.
The matresses on the sofa bed are awful and are not condusive to a skiing holiday where you need to rest well. The matress on a pull down bed we had was only slightly better.
We booked for 4 nights thursday to monday and friday evening at 10pm were told we would have to move to another room - most inconvenient, the staff did help with moving our things over but the attitude of the manager was terrible. When I went to register my complaint about having to move I was literally told to like it or lump it - honestly it doesnt take much, an upgrade, a bottle of wine with compliments, even an simple apology would do the job. We will not use this resort in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gerencia_LVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail Run Resort B, Vice President at Vail Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

They booked a studio, the smallest unit available. Then, when it's not what they expected everything else is wrong. They were rude to front desk staff and demanding an upgrade. Never ever talked to the General Manager, must have mistaken the identity, thinking the front desk manager was the manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

My mom and I decided to use our timeshare to stay at Vail Run for a week. I didn't find it to be noisy, but we were also facing away from the interstate. Instead, we had a nice, up close view of one of the mountains and several of the beautiful homes of Vail. The rooms themselves were quaint and pleasant. We stayed in a studio-style unit, but there was plenty of room. We had two beds (not much walking space around the beds), a dresser, closet, full living room with TV, DVD, and coffee table, a dinning table with antler lighting fixtures, a full kitchen with everything without a blender, fireplace, and a patio. They ask that you leave the door shut while you shower so the steam won't set off the smoke detector. However, we had problems with the water temperature in our shower. Once I was able to get the water to a comfortable temperature, every now and then the water would get to be either ice cold, or so hot I had to get out of the water. We talked with the front desk and they looked into it, but it didn't really help. The beds were quite hard too. My mom and I just had a very hard time getting comfortable and staying comfortable. There is no A/C, but there is heating through the base panels and the fire place. However, you never need A/C because it is beautiful year round. The front staff was very nice, but they had a difficult time answering out questions (where are some local restaurants where they would hang out - less than $20 per plate - they gave us the name of a restaurant that was $40+ per plate), does the farmer's market sell fruit (they said no, but there was a lot of fruit there), and if you have a cooking question, I would wait for one of the women clerks. :)

I plan on visiting Vail again, but I will be choosing someplace else to stay. If you have never been to Vail, it is a very small town with some shopping, skiing, spas, and dinning. We were very busy though since we made plans to go rafting, horseback riding, on cave tours and a hummer tour. Many of the places will accept reservations, but you could probably call even the day of and be able to do whatever you would like. For most rafting tours, however, they need to have at least four people. The float trips are good for little kids and those who are more interested in enjoying the scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank MKE_IAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

We just spent a week at Vail Run. It was a little dated but very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a great deal of noise from the interstate and since it doesn't have air conditioning you have to have the windows open. It is very loud. The parking garage is convenient. Don't get there early. When they say move in time is 4:00 pm they mean it. Pool and hot tub were nice

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Silkey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#23 of 30 in Vail
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lion Square Lodge
Lion Square Lodge
#19 of 30 in Vail
239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
529 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Run Resort

Address: 1000 Lions Ridge Loop, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range: £108 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Run Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Run Resort is a 54 unit fixed week timeshare property. The Resort offers for rent studios, one/two bedrooms Condominiums, Executive Penthouses and Presidential Suites with fully equipped kitchen, fireplace and a sofa sleeper in the living room (sleeping capacity 2-10).Each unit is unique. The Resort itself offers a Gym with weights and cardio equipment, a heated outdoor swimming pool, a hot tub, sauna, game room, free wireless Internet, free outdoor parking for one vehicle, lounge with complementary coffee, hot chocolate, tea, computers, and local newspapers. During the ski season the Resort has a complimentary shuttle to the ski slopes. Vail Run Resort strictly adheres to the 4:00 PM Saturday Check-in time. No early check-ins are allowed as the time is reserved for realtors and perspective owners to view the property. All owners and guests must checkout by 11:00 AM on Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vail Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Run Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing