We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food but very bland” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelly Liken - CLOSED

Kelly Liken
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: S. Frontage Road
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful food but very bland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

It's hard to say that gourmet food is average, because it is not. This restaurant is clearly a place made for foodies. The food was obviously meticulously prepared and beautifully arranged on the plate but very bland. I was very disappointed. There was nothing in any of our dishes that stood out with flavor. The food, however, was on the healthy side. She seems to like potatoes since it's on many of the plates. I wish there was more spice and herbs on the dishes. The dishes were very plain, and it would have been nice to have more flavor. I don't think we will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luvrockymts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    40
    41
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“come back kelly liken”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Sadly we left Kelly Liken's knowing that we won't come back. Saturday night after a big concert the restaurant was not busy. As local home owners we should have known better. Yes all the food is fresh and high quality. We had a hard time finding anything on the "pre fix" menu that we wanted. We loved our bottle of Kistler Chardonnay and the Valet who had the car waiting for us when we walked out. The food was so "complex" that you couldn't taste the main component. Beautiful presentation doesn't translate to a satisfactory experience for the palate. Come back Kelly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank karie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
222 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“the food was bad and the portions small”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was my first visit to this restaurant and definitely the last also.
The restaurant looks nice, nice arrangements on the tables, in a pretentious way but this is something positive.
Also the waiters are wearing suites, that is nice ,it gives to the whole place a very elegant note.
But then comes the food. I travel a lot and eat in restaurants, sometimes good sometimes bad but I do know to appreciate food. And here, I think that their only concern is to cook as strange as possible and give names as strange as possible. Is hard to understand what exactly you're eating. Tastes are confusing, everything is mixt in some crazy receipt. The most curious was the soup that the chef sent as an amuze bouche,it was so bad, like the juice of the grass....
Even the NY strip they destroyed and all these portions were so small that I suppose people have to come to the restaurant after they have an aperitive somewhere else....
The most hilarious was the waiter that brings you bread, he keeps the holds the basket like he has gold inside and gives you only one tiny slice.
It was a long wait till we seen him and asked him for one more slice!
The whole experience was bad and the food is badly cooked and just presented in an interesting way.
There are better restaurants in Vail.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you are looking for a great meal and want to splurge this is the place to do it!! Very convenient walk from Vail Village.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ahh, Kelly Liken!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

No words can express the amazing meal you will receive when visiting this long time local favorite, from beginning to end this fine dinning restaurant will not disappoint, you can take my word or you can just call and make the reservation, highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HaxtonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing