We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebastian - Vail
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This place is really amazing. Defenitely the best place to stay in Vail. Great location, hot tub after skiing, pefect fine dining in Block 16....No complains...It is pricey, but you get what you are paying for.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    89
    41
    13
    5
See reviews for
221
320
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had a weekend in Vail in February 2012 and on a recomendation stayed at the Sebastian. Well! Letter from Michelle and the girls about what a wonderful time they had. Wish we had have been the first lady (or even the first man) as we might have got better service.

Friendly people but didnt really think that they had to know the answers to your questions or be helpful "just go up into the village and it will all be there" was the answer to our questions about ski and gear hire!

Now the one thing that you want after a day on the slopes is a decent shower (or bath but more about that later). Decent sized room with two queen sized beds (what is with that??). On the first evening I came to have a lovely hot shower - you would think at $400/night that would be the least that you would get - and after waiting for about two or three minutes for the water to get warm I stood until I started shivering through a combination of both lack of water stream and lack of heat. On asking the staff to have a look at this I was told "oh dear I will get someone to look at it". Apparantly they did but there was not a notable difference.

No discount, nothing to be done apparantly!

Room Tip: Another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charleswmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just spent 4 days enjoying myself as an individual , with exceptional service , comfort and professional friendly service. Special thanks to Eric and Audrey and all staff ,for making my stay so enjoyable, & that I will be coming back for this Christmas from Australia.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brady777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

After leaving the family trip in Beaver Creek, I decided to stay an extra few days in Vail to get some good spring skiing time in. The Sebastian had great rates so I took a chance although the property is new..and I was so happy, I ended up staying for a week. I've never experienced a level of service quite this over the top.

Rooms: large, and stocked with amenities! I had a standard room, complete with fridge, espresso machine, regular coffee machine, huge bottles of high end product, flat screen TV, DVD player with free rental downstairs, free WIFI, and really comfortable beds. Every day bottles of water and freshly baked cookies appear by your bedside, and super soft towels and robes around around for ultimate comfort.

Base Camp: Your skis, boots, etc are biked over and stored in a charming coffee/pastry/internet shop just steps from the main lift. A short walk through town in your regular kicks and a mention of your last name..and the full staff supplies you with all of your gear. I mean, exceptional service all the way around. Tip them - they deserve it, and the pastries are amazing to boot. Joe and all the kids down there took care of me. One even offered me free breakfast because of a mistake I MADE in transferring the gear! They had it in my hands from the hotel in under 6 minutes.

Frost Bar: I really really loved this place, if you know what I mean. :) I collect bartenders (these are my people) during my travels. There is no comparison to MARISHA. She was so generous and made us all feel like we were at home, introducing patrons to each other every night and making sure everyone was having an exceptional time. I miss her already.

Bloom Spa: Kathleen fixed me - after four days of the slopes my legs decided they no longer cared to ski. 90 minutes of deep tissue therapy later and everything was reset and healed - it really was one of the top massages I've ever had in my life. The gym and spa facilities like the steam room and sauna are small but beautifully appointed, with little bonuses everywhere. Ditto on the pool and hot tubs (three tubs, complete with magic drink-bringing waiters ;)

All of the staff really went above and beyond - Gary the Resort Manager (who is very laid back and super proud of the property, as he should be), Eric the manager who arranged for me to stay a few extra days at a great rate, Doug who delivers killer room service, Audrey, Kelly the front desk staff and concierge desks got me absolutely anything I wanted, from a high end bowling lane to impossible dinner reservations at Elway's and Sweet Basil - even the drafting tools I needed to work remotely for a day - isn't that amazing?

The decor of the hotel is swank, slick and just really thoughtful in detail. Suffice to say I was completely blown away. They would do well to work on the Market's breakfast and staff - not sure why I associate skiing with an overwhelmingly great breakfast spread - but again, the hotel is new so it's a minor thing. I didn't get a chance to eat at Bistro16 but the menu was on par with the more famous restaurants in Vail that I love. Room service was great..and also - you're right next to Vail's two main liquor stores and all the upscale shopping you'd want.

All in all - I was just so happy with the experience and I cannot wait to go back in the summer to escape the Dallas heat. Stay here - it's really a gem in the heart of Vail Village. Thanks guys - you made my vacation a wonderful memory.

Room Tip: You really can't go wrong - I was happy with a standard room so anything else must be killer. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichelleInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I just came from a 5 night stay at The Sebastian in Vail. The location is perfect, very near from The Solaris Complex, in Vail Village, and there is a Bus Stop just outside. You can choose to keep your skis at the hotel or at The Sebastian Basecamp in front of the Vista Bahn Gondola. If you ski from Golden Peak or Lionshead it's better to keep it at the Hotel, and if you return through Vail Village at the end of the day, you can leave it at the Basecamp anyway, and they will send them to the Hotel, it is very convenient. They also have an SUV service on a first come basis to take you to the mountain whenever you're ready. The hotel is beautiful, Lobby, Library, Restaurants, full of interesting art pieces, in our first night we enjoy the opening of a Mexican Art exhibition with the presence of the Mexican Consul in Denver. The accommodations are excellent, they have In-room Nespresso Machines (I'm a Fan), Wi-Fi at no extra charge, water bottles everyday, the Spa services awesome, the pool area with four Hot Tubs is very reconfortant after a Ski day. Breakfast at the Market Restaurant is also excellent. I really recommend The Sebastian to anyone who wants to have a very nice stay in Vail.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LudwigMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My 13-year old son (Cameron) and I stayed at The Sebastian for 6 nights (3/10-16) for a "boys week." Generally, with our family (i.e., 3 kids) we stay at The Westin (Beavercreek)--but wanted to ski Vail's back-country plus engage in other off-piste activities, so Vail was more centrally located. Accordingly, we took a shot at The Sebastian given its high TripAdvisor rankings. Beyond a couple of days of resort skiing, the main purpose of our trip was to go cat skiing off-piste as well as other high adrenaline activities. Due to a lack of snowfall for 3+ weeks in the Vail/Breckenridge & Keystone areas, we had several cat skiing day outings cancelled. Given our quest for "powder" however, I wanted to single out a member of the Concierge staff (Ms. Kelly Benson) who was very accommodating--i.e., she looked for other resort destinations within a 2 hour radius. Kelly was able to find us an outing up at Steamboat Springs, which was a blast. Additionally, she booked us on a private snow-mobile and Polaris Rzr (4X4) adventure (near Wolcott). I can't say enough about how Kelly's proactivity and follow-up assisted with our trip. We engaged her numerous times and her rolodex/contacts were extensive--thanks again Kelly!

Apart from the Concierge desk, the entire staff at The Sebastian was ultra-friendly. This extended from the valet parking employees to the front desk team, to wait staff at The Market, housekeepers (i.e., turn-down service), as well as the folks at Base Camp. The outdoor pool/hot tub was another highlight. Overall, if you are looking for pampering in a boutique environment, then The Sebastian is worth strong consideration. Kudos again to the team & management! -- Jim W.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_and_Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The staff at the Sebastian Vail makes this property the best property I've stayed at thus far. We stayed at the property for a total of 4 nights and I wish we could have stayed longer it was that good.

Prior to arrival, I called the property to inquire regarding car rentals nearby. Audrey at the concierge set up our car rental and accommodated our arrival and departure schedule. The minute we stepped out of our car, Jeff, greeted and helped us with luggage. Annie at the front desk checked us in and out and gave us the layout of the hotel. Chris Robinson at the concierge was awesome! Each time we came up to the counter he answered alllllllllll of our questions and provided us with great recommendations i.e. show shoeing trail, best green trails. Also, the day we went snow shoeing the Sebastian provided us with a lift to and from West Vail.

The hotel itself is very pleasing to the eye. Walking into the hotel the fireplace and chandelier instantly caught my attention. The rooms are very clean and tidy. The turn down service (with fresh baked cookies), complimentary water bottles and fruit are an added bonus. We also liked the blue time display on the ceiling - which we noticed the second night of our stay. On Friday nights, the hotel offers complimentary sparkling wine mixer in the library, they also serve up their white chocolate covered popcorn (yummy). We ate at the Market - breakfast buffet our first morning and were full and content for the rest of the day. I particularly liked the fresh made granola and oatmeal toppings.

Base Camp, a five minute walk from the hotel, is another great concept and service of the hotel. Jacob fitted me with proper sized ski boots. We were able to leave our gear there every day instead of lugging it back and forth from the hotel. Base Camp is connected to a Beignet Cafe which serves up fresh coffee and warm fresh beignets, I had one everyday. The cafe also had complimentary internet access on their Macs.

Take it from a very very detailed oriented (picky) traveler this is a great property and the staff and added amenities makes for an awesome time and stay in Vail. I am already looking forward to booking my nice stay.

Thank you again :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SKK0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
8.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
0.6 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Property: The Sebastian - Vail
Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#2 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the expierence. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian- Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing