We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury hotel and the nicest staff!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sebastian - Vail
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel and the nicest staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Very beautifull hotel, with large rooms and pretty pool and jacuzzis.. The staff (reception and concierge) were amazing!!! Super thoughtfull to all our concerns.. The location is great... Really close to the middle of the village (300m), but if you are not up to this small walk there is a bus that takes you there for free each 5-7min.. You don't leave your ski gear at the hotel. They have a store (base camp) at the village so you don't have to carry it on your walk...
I certainly recomend it!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeatrizEsberard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    86
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
217
312
24
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We had a business meetup at The Sebastian in October and it was by far the most beautiful place that I have stayed! I enjoyed the hot tubs in the evening and it was wonderful. The staff was very accommodating and jumped at our every request. They took care of everything we needed from the moment we pulled in. Everything about the hotel was wonderful from the rooms to the lobby to the restaurant to the pools. I loved being within walking distance of everything in town and we really enjoyed the scenery in October. The drive from Denver to Vail was amazing and I was thoroughly impressed with the resort. I booked a hot stone massage at the spa and it didn't disappoint. The masseuse was great and I had a very relaxing massage. I definitely recommend The Sebastian for anyone travelling to Vail. Very impressed!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We have just returned from Vail. We stayed at The Sebastian with our friends from the 29th of January during one week. Everything was great - the design, the service, the restaurant, the bar, the outdoor swimming pool, the staff, the atmosphere, the location! We didn't try the Spa but everybody says that the Spa is also great! The first day we asked the front desk if they could help us with the better view from our room and the next day they managed to do it.) I like to stay in boutique hotels all around the world - The Sebastian is one of the best one!))

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariiiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

The Sebastian is a warm, hip and friendly hotel. The lobby and rooms are luxurious and modern, yet cozy. The spa is small, but luxurious and sparkling clean (I had an excellent deep tissue massage). Most of all, the staff is super-friendly and helpful, making it a really fun place to relax and hang out. We also stayed at the Four Seasons, and the two resorts have completely different atmospheres--the Four Seasons has larger rooms, but it's stiff/stuffy and the staff isn't always that helpful. The Sebastian has smaller rooms than the Four Seasons, but they are still roomy and comfortable. What they lack in space, they make up for with excellent service, free water and trail mix in the room, 2 free movies, free WiFi for as many devices as you need (we had to pay for Wifi at the Four Seasons because we had more than one laptop--whaat?!). The pool and hot tub are beautiful and wonderful. Overall, we had an excellent experience at the Sebastian!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcc081608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Overall, Sebastian Vail was a good experience, and I think for Vail Village is one of the better choices if you go the hotel route. I will say next time we plan to stay in Lionshead as there seemed to be much more going on there for us, but not because of the Sebastian.

Upsides - Staff was incredibly friendly and always willing to help. Ski valet was fantastic - perfect space at the base of the mountain where you could relax inside, store boots, skis, etc., have a coffee pre-skiing. Bar was good for apres. Room was clean and nice. Design of hotel itself is pretty interesting and fun. Decent value compared to elsewhere in town that we have stayed.

Downsides - Room was small (deluxe king), one tiny window and no view (other than of the building next door - most of the views from what we could tell were reserved for the residences). No overhead fan, so it was hard to drown out the noise from the hallway and outside to get to sleep. Bed was not especially comfortable (duvet very light and not cozy), bathroom was very small and had some plumbing issues. Turn-down was inconsistent, some nights we got it some nights we didn't, including on nights where we had dinner reservations made through the concierge (in which case I would expect them to know we were gone).

Tip for breakfast - there is no a la carte option at Leonora, so even if you only want a few eggs and some toast, still have to pay $28/person for the buffet. Went across the street to the Four Seasons the next morning and paid far less - never would have expected that!

The one thing that irked my husband the most was the movie/tv situation - there were limited tv stations and movie channels, only the "Redbox-like" (as described to us) free rental station in the lower level for movies. The movie choices were pretty terrible - it was kind of a collection of movies that went straight to DVD. After a long day of skiing and apres, some nights all we wanted to do was lay in bed and watch a good movie and so were a little disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peonyqueen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Loved everything about The Sebastian the hotel staff went out of their way to help us with all of our needs the General Manager even carried our luggage as we came off the elevator. The Sparkle & Pop event in the lobby was so much fun, they served white chocolate popcorn and champagne. We will be back in the summer

Room Tip: Mountain View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravBizNpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orangeville,il
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

At the Sebastian, every staff person treats you like royalty. I have never felt as pampered (and I have stayed at some very nice spa retreats). The food is amazing at Lenora, the services are wonderful at the spa, and the hot tub/pool is soothing after a great day snowboarding. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Vail. Thank you for providing the ultimate retreat from it all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmgirlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#8 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Property: The Sebastian - Vail
Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Spa Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the expierence. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian- Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing