We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay--Amazing Comeback from Last Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebastian - Vail
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay--Amazing Comeback from Last Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have visited Vail every summer for the past 3 years with our toddler. We like upscale resort settings (properties with pool, workout facility, spa, dining and modern decor) and have alternated in the past between the Four Seasons and the Sebastian. We usually drive up to the mountains and stay for a week.

After a less-than-positive experience with the Sebastian last year involving difficulty with housekeeping, getting on the road in a timely manner and having an expensive jacket go missing between the room and the car (I reviewed the stay on Travelocity on July 21, 2012), I left frustrated.

I was contacted by the Director of Operations and we had a long conversation about our challenges. He asked me to come back this year and try the property again, and he and the staff would make sure we had a great experience. As many relationships that start off rocky can be turned around and become great long-term relationships, we agreed to give the Sebastian another chance.

My husband, my 2.5 year old and I revisited the Sebastian this month, and our experience was stellar from the moment we arrived. We were greeted warmly, provided with cool bottled water, and asked upon checkout what our desired daily housekeeping time would be (a pain point last visit.)

We drove in at noon, and although the standard check-in time was 3 pm, our room was ready and our luggage was taken up immediately. That night, we were welcomed with a bottle of champagne, cookies and a personal note, which was very kind.

Throughout the stay, we enjoyed prompt and thorough housekeeping service, ordered from room service, used the dry cleaning service, swam in the pool daily, used the workout facilities, had packages delivered from Amazon, and in general experienced impeccable customer service. We (and our daughter) were greeted by hotel staff warmly, whether in passing in the hallway or elevator, at the front desk, in the restaurant or outside the hotel. All our questions were owned and seen through to resolution flawlessly.

I had called in advance to ask the concierge about recommendations for a daytrip to Aspen and costs of renting bikes in Vail, and we were provided with a packet on check-in including a trail map, a driving map to Aspen, Aspen restaurant recommendations, and several Vail events and activities that would be fun for our toddler, such as a children's play at the Ford Ampitheatre. Throughout the stay, the concierge service connected us with brunch locations, bike and trailer rentals, and other great and insightful suggestions based on our family needs.

Last time we stayed in a deluxe plaza room (standard room); this time we stayed in a suite with living area and kitchen. The amenities made a HUGE difference in enjoying a longer stay with a toddler; we had a fireplace, balcony, living room, dining table, washer/dryer (which we used several times), dishwasher, stove and oven, microwave/full sized fridge and a fully equipped kitchen--including coffee maker, espresso machine, crock pot, pots and pans, cooking utensils and food storage. Everything you could imagine or need was provided.

We can't imagine another week long trip without a suite; in fact, we checked into suites at the Four Seasons and at the St. Regis in Aspen, and their suites only include living areas and do NOT include dining and cooking areas--although they are roughly the same price. I HIGHLY recommend staying in a suite at Sebastian if you are staying in Vail at a hotel for longer than 3 days. I did not look into the Arabelle, but believe that the Sebastian's suites are unparalleled.

In addition, we rented 2 hybrids and a trailer for 24 hours through Basecamp, which is an outdoor equipment provider associated with the Sebastian. When we were done, we were able to leave the equipment at the hotel entrance and hotel staff returned it to the rental location, which was very convenient.

If you have a child, there is also a Little Tykes playroom on location, as well as events such as crafts that kids can participate in.

The hotel has a beautiful lobby and very modern decor, including an amazing, cozy library. During this visit, we were pleased that the top-notch appearance of the hotel extended into every interaction we had with staff. A hotel's appearance only goes so far; customer service plays a large part in enjoying any stay. And our stay was deeply satisfying.

We will certainly be back to this property again--and hopefully make it a summer tradition!

Room Tip: If you are traveling for longer than 3 days, choose a suite with kitchen. The Classic and Plaza room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    86
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
219
313
24
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I visit Vail often w/friends as well as my husband & 2 year old son. I was very excited to stay at The Sebastian as we have stayed @ The Arrabelle, Four Seasons & Sonnealp & wanted something different. This past weekend was a "girls" weekend and although the hotel was beautiful, trendy & service (when we got it) was good, the entire hotel was taken over by the wedding and all it's guests. It would have been nice to enjoy the hotel & the amenities it offers, however, we had to go elsewhere to enjoy the spa/pool as well as the bar. Our only time spent in the hotel was to sleep. I was told by the front desk "in the future, please call to see what events/conferences are taking place prior to booking) Is one to assume that your hotel can not accommodate guests who would like to leisurely stay while enjoying Vail in the summer or skiing in the winter? I was hoping to book an upcoming weekend with my husband and son in September to enjoy the fall leave change etc.... I felt as though maybe this hotel may not be the right choice for families (my family) based on my personal experience this pat weekend. I am happy that I booked through Jetsetter @ a great rate as I would have been even more disappointed had we paid full price:(

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannonnieb917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alynch84, Director of Sales at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Shannonnieb917 - we were so disappointed to read your review especially with such an alarming title. The Sebastian & other Vail Village hotels are sought after venues for events and meetings. This is especially true weddings. Their prime season is May – October.

The wedding party you refer to had less than 30% of our hotel and the remainders of the guests in the hotel were just like you, a leisure guest. Our hotel was in a sold out status for the time that you were here which in our boutique setting means we sold all 100 hotel rooms.

We are so sorry that you and your guests did not enjoy the stay. Our front desk staff was trying to be helpful and perhaps did not word it as eloquently as they could have when they suggested calling to ask if we had events before you book.

The Sebastian is an incredibly popular hotel because of our location, amenities and service and we were just voted the #1 hotel in Colorado by Travel + Leisure. We would love to host you again and I would ask that you call me directly when you do. I can certainly suggest some time periods when Vail and The Sebastian are not as busy as our prime summer and winter seasons. Thank you again for your comments and your business and if you would like to discuss your stay please call me at 970.477.8017. Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Enjoyed my stay at The Sebastian while in town for business. The Market restaurant service and food was very good. The boutique hotel is cozy and very trendy looking. I did not use the spa services but was given a tour of the spa and it seemed great. Overall the hotel seemed very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mromero_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I loved this unique, charming hotel right in Vail Village. The common rooms are decorated as if you are in a home with interesting artwork, and the hotel is extremely warm and welcoming. Very eclectic decor! We ate a light dinner at Frost and had wonderful service. The margherita flatbread was delicious. Many wonderful complimentary touches: bottled water upon check in, a stocked minibar of water and soft drinks and snacks- the trail mix is amazing- all complimentary! The beds are very comfortable and our room was quiet. The pool and 4 jacuzzis is also a lovely gathering area. The only negative is we were charged $25 at check out for valet parking and were not advised of this charge by valet or at reception at check in. This should be stated clearly up front to guests, As it was pouring the rain when my daughter and I arrived, there really was no other parking option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasStarryNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alynch84, Director of Sales at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your review and we apologize that the online booking engine you used Hotel Tonight did not inform you of the parking charges. We have put a call into them to review their confirmations directly with them as they are fully aware of the applicable charges. Our confirmations from The Sebastian outline these charges clearly. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and found our service and ambiance good. We strive to ensure our guests are well taken care of.

If you would like, you may forward me the confirmation you have been sent from Hotels Tonight and that will help me understand what you received. My email is alynch@thesebastianvail.com. Thank you and we look forward to hosting you and your daughter again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This place shouldnt be called The Sebastian... It should be called Landon & Meagans ! I'm still enjoying this property & they will for sure see us again. Landon hooked it up with a "everybody knows your name" kind of a vibe... And Meagan (front desk & concierge) shot us in the right direction and is a true sweetheart. Both of these rockstars allow you to have the VIP experience !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Vail Village. Shopping and dining abound nearby. The entire staff is very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are quiet and very comfortable with down pillows and comforters. Issues with our in-room coffee maker were handled promptly and efficiently. A fridge in the room is stocked daily with two diet cokes, two regular cokes and two bottles of water. Turndown service includes re-making the bed, refershing towels and a sweet on your pillow. The bathroom amenities provided are in large containers which can make it difficult to use while showering. You will also be charges $20 per bottle if you take them home!
They do need more staff in the very small pool area - there were always empty dishes and wet towels lying around. I never say anyone picking up the pool area during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alynch84, Director of Sales at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for you kind review and are glad you enjoyed the key points of The Sebastian - Vail. Our location, friendly service and our room amenities of water and sodas. We are sorry that we failed in our pool service. We have reviewed the holiday weekend in question and will ensure that we align our staffing to fit the busy 4th of July time frame - we certainly did get caught off guard.

Our bathroom amenities are designed as a 'green initiative' as the small hotel bottles use a lot of plastic and are a drain on resources. We use the large re-fillable bottles to lessen our impact on the environment. We are sorry you found the pump bottles hard to use. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here the last two nights of a biking trip in Colorado. It was nicer than other hotels in Aspen and Glenwood Springs we stayed at. Staff were incrediably helpful, room was neat and clean and the common areas were nice for gathering with friends. I would recommend it without hestiation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.6 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#7 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Property: The Sebastian - Vail
Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#2 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the expierence. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian- Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing